HRCT?? Check it out and see…


I remember my very favorite thing that my mother would make when I was growing up… Nothing fancy, just a little bit of comfort food that still to this day brings warm memories of her. Not that she’s gone anywhere except now we’re a few states away. But how the tables have turned because now when I go home, she doesn’t make my favorite meal for me… I make it for her although I’ve added my own touches to her dish. What was once ground beef (H-Hamburger), white rice (R-rice), cheddar cheese (C-Cheese) and tomatoes (T-Tomato) has now become a slightly healthier version of the great original. I choose to use ground turkey and brown rice. I still have to go full-octane cheddar though (I just think it tastes better than the reduced-fat stuff). In addition to the tomatoes, I also put corn in mine… just think it tastes good. So I guess my version would be more appropriately called TRCTC but I just can’t get on board with the new acronym. This dish never even had a real name… she just always said “We’re having Hamburger, Rice, Cheese and Tomato tonight.” Once again enter HB (*she really names a lot of dishes!) who being a text happy teenager feels the need to abbreviate everything (LOL, OMG, BRB… she only speaks in initials) … In all her infinite teenage wisdom she started calling it HRCT. Even though this may sound like a strange mixture, once it all comes together in warm, meaty, cheesy harmony… it’s delicious and we all go back for seconds. This is a dish that always gets requested and always gets devoured.

~K

**…Your Mouth Will Thank You!

1 lb. ground beef or ground turkey (*I prefer ground turkey cause it’s healthier but mom used to use ground beef)

1 small onion, chopped

1 (28 oz.) can whole peeled tomatoes… Do not drain!

1 (14 oz.) can corn, drained

2 c. Minute rice (*I prefer brown rice)

1 c. sharp cheddar cheese, grated

salt and pepper to taste

*In a large skillet, add the onion and cook for about 3 minutes. Add the meat and cook until browned, breaking it up with the spoon as it cooks.

*Add the can of tomatoes with juice and the corn. Break up with tomatoes into pieces. Add 1/2 a cup of water.

*Bring to a boil and add the rice. Stir and cover. Reduce to a simmer. Simmer 10 minutes for white rice or simmer 15 minutes for brown rice.

*Once rice is cooked through, season with salt and pepper to taste. Sprinkle the grated cheese all over and then stir until melted and mixed in.

*Enjoy!

 

About FoodBabbles

I'm just a girl with a passion for good food. Especially the sweet side of life. I love to eat it, make it, read about it... if it has to do with food, it's for me. I'd like to share my food, writing and photos with you. Sometimes they come out great. Other times, well... there are some mishaps but I'll share those with you too. I'm only human! Either way, I enjoy it and hope you will too! So here are sugary, sweet culinary delights from my talented yet dangerously klutzy hands so obviously not bred to work with sharp knives and hot ovens.
This entry was posted in Beef and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to HRCT?? Check it out and see…

  1. Lauren says:

    Yum! Comfort food at its finest.

Talk To Me!

