Simply Chili…


With the cooler weather, comes the crock pot!! I love my crock pot. On those days when you just don’t really feel like cooking, it’s nice to be able to throw together some tasty ingredients and still make a delicious dinner when you don’t quite have the time. Yesterday was one of those days… I had a ton of running around to do all afternoon and returned home right at dinner time. So last night it was wonderful to walk into my house and be welcomed by the savory smell of chili! I was quite surprised that it was all there undisturbed after I left my precious chili alone with my husband for several hours. This chili is great because it’s just a simple chili. It can be put together in about 10 minutes… then put that top on the crock pot and viola! Dinner in 8 hours with only barely lifting a finger. Last night I used ground turkey for a healthier spin but you can use ground beef. If you have more time, you can add more vegetables or any other ingredients you may like in your chili. This is a complete chili that’s versatile enough to add your own touches so give it a try!

~K

**…Your Mouth Will Thank You!

2 lbs ground beef or ground turkey

1 onion, diced

4 cloves of garlic, minced or finely chopped

1 tsp salt

1 tsp paprika

1 tsp oregano

3 Tbsp chili powder

1 tsp ground cumin

1/2 tsp cayenne pepper

1/2 c. beef broth

1 (28 oz.) can crushed tomatoes

1 (1 lb.) can kidney beans, drained and rinsed

1/2 a bar of Pepper Jack cheese, cubed

**If desired:

1/2 a bar cheddar cheese, grated

sour cream

diced raw onions

*In a large skillet, saute the onion for about 2 minutes then add the garlic and saute for 1 minute. Add the ground beef or ground turkey and continue to cook until browned and drain.

*Add the beef/turkey mixture to a slow cooker.

*Drain and rinse the kidney beans. Add to the slow cooker.

*Add the cubed pepper jack to the slow cooker.

*Add all the spices to the slow cooker and stir until blended together.

*Cover and cook on low for 8 hours, stirring occasionally.

*Serve with grated cheddar cheese, sour cream or raw onions, if desired.

 

*Enjoy!

About FoodBabbles

I'm just a girl with a passion for good food. Especially the sweet side of life. I love to eat it, make it, read about it... if it has to do with food, it's for me. I'd like to share my food, writing and photos with you. Sometimes they come out great. Other times, well... there are some mishaps but I'll share those with you too. I'm only human! Either way, I enjoy it and hope you will too! So here are sugary, sweet culinary delights from my talented yet dangerously klutzy hands so obviously not bred to work with sharp knives and hot ovens.
This entry was posted in Beef and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Simply Chili…

  1. Husband says:

    It was here but now it’s gone please make more!
    Your Huaband

  2. Pingback: The Secret Recipe Club – Simple Chilli (Chili) from Food Babbles « Lavender and Lovage

  3. I just discovered your blog via Karen from Lavender and Lovage and I wanted to drop by and check out your chili recipe. Simple and comforting – and if it were colder in Virginia right now, I’d be making up a batch of chili myself! Thanks for sharing and I’m now happily subscribed to your blog so I can keep up…

    • FoodBabbles says:

      Hi! Welcome to Food Babbles! I’m so glad you found me 🙂 and I’m glad you like the chili recipe. It’s one of our favorites around here for sure. Enjoy!

Talk To Me!

