Dutch Apple Pie


We’re in the midst of the holiday season and I couldn’t be happier! I love to cook year round and I love to bake year round but there’s just something about this particular time of year that makes me want to shift my mixer into overdrive.

I know I’ve mentioned before about the flavors of fall being my favorite flavors. Well, as fall slides into winter those great flavors continue. Come to think of it, as I type I realize that there are so many great flavors all year… apple being a prominent one. The apple is such a wonderful fruit because it can be made into so many sweet and savory dishes any time you fancy. It’s not limited like the pumpkin (which I could eat all year but sadly, something about pumpkin pie just doesn’t scream summertime to me.)

So let’s talk apple pie! Now, a double crust pie and I just don’t get along. We don’t play nice. I don’t really like working with dough in the first place which is surprising because I love to bake and a great deal of what I do involves dough. But the double crust pie is by far my greatest enemy in the world of baking. It never lays out right for me the first time or bakes up nice and pretty… generally it ends up tasting like heaven but looking like a bumpy, pot-holed road. So any time I can get away with a crumb topping or just dough cutouts to top my pie is a good day indeed. This Dutch apple pie is a big hit whenever I make it and is always requested. It’s mixture of tart and sweet apples combined with cinnamon and a dash of nutmeg all bubbling inside a crumbly brown sugary topping is sure to elicit “Ooo’s” and “Ahh’s” for sure!

~K

**…Your Mouth Will Thank You!

Dough:

1 1/4 c. all-purpose flour, plus more for dusting

1/4 tsp salt

1 stick of butter

1/4 c. ice water

Filling:

6 large apples – peeled, cored and cut into 1″ chunks (I like to use half tart apples and half sweet but you use whatever your taste buds tell ya)

2 Tbsp fresh lemon juice

1 c. sugar

1/2 tsp cinnamon

1/4 tsp nutmeg

1/4 c. flour

1 Tbsp butter, cubed

Topping:

1 c. flour

1/2 c. light brown sugar

1/2 tsp baking soda

1/4 tsp salt

6 Tbsp unsalted butter, softened

1/2 c. finely chopped walnuts

1/2 tsp ground cinnamon

-In a food processor, pulse 1 1/4 cups of the flour and salt. Add the stick of butter and pulse until it is the size of peas. Drizzle on the ice water and pulse until moistened crumbs form.

-Turn the dough out onto a smooth work surface and form into a ball. Flatten it into a disk then wrap it in plastic and refrigerate it until it’s cold.

-Preheat the oven to 375 degrees. Set a baking sheet on the bottom rack.

-In a bowl, toss the apples, lemon juice, sugar,  1/4 cup of flour, cinnamon and nutmeg.

-On a flour surface, roll your dough disk into a 13″ round and then fit it into a deep 10″ glass pie plate. Brush the overhang with water and crimp.

-Spoon the apples into the dish and top with it with the remaining 1 tablespoon of cubed butter.

-Next, whisk together 1 cup of flour, 1/2 cup light brown sugar, 1/2 teaspoon baking soda, 1/4 teaspoon salt and 1/2 tsp cinnamon. Add 6 tablespoons softened butter and rub the mixture until sandy. Add 1/2 cup of chopped walnuts. Press the mixture into clumps and then sprinkle over your pie.

-Bake the pie in the center of the oven for 1 hour and 10 minutes. Cover the pie if it begins to darken too much.

– Remove the pie from the oven to a cooling rack. Let the pie cool at least 4 hours before serving.

-Enjoy!

About FoodBabbles

I'm just a girl with a passion for good food. Especially the sweet side of life. I love to eat it, make it, read about it... if it has to do with food, it's for me. I'd like to share my food, writing and photos with you. Sometimes they come out great. Other times, well... there are some mishaps but I'll share those with you too. I'm only human! Either way, I enjoy it and hope you will too! So here are sugary, sweet culinary delights from my talented yet dangerously klutzy hands so obviously not bred to work with sharp knives and hot ovens.
This entry was posted in Desserts and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Dutch Apple Pie

  1. Pingback: Mason Jar Pies… A Little Bit Of Heaven! | FoodBabbles

  2. Pingback: August Pie | FoodBabbles

Talk To Me!

