Cookie Bar NYC & The Illustrious Dorie Greenspan


Friday was the final day of 5 days at Cookie Bar inside Mizu Salon on Park Avenue, a pop-up cookie boutique chock full of phenomenal cookies. I found myself lucky enough to not only possess some of the last few cookies to be had but also, I found myself in the presence of some amazing people.

As I walked toward Mizu Salon on Park Avenue, I felt like the new kid on the first day of school where everyone already knows each other. A few deep breaths, a pep talk from Mike and before I knew it, I was just steps away from Cookie Bar. My heart thudding in my chest so hard I thought for sure it could be heard by people around me, I pulled open the door and started scanning the very loooooong line of people for a familiar face.

The Back of the Loooong Line

As I went to the back of the line, I took in the scene. I started noticing people who I thought might be who I was looking for. Then I spotted Her.

Dorie & Josh and their fabulous cookies!

You see, I was going to get cookies. Why in the world would I be nervous about cookies? Well, first of all I was meeting a few fellow food bloggers for the first time. I’m painfully shy when I first meet new people and my nerves are my own worst enemy. Not to mention these are incredibly talented people who I truly admire. Secondly, these weren’t just any cookies, these were cookies made and personally served by the one and only Dorie Greenspan and her son/business partner, Josh. I was about to have the opportunity to actually speak with Dorie. I didn’t have one clue what we would speak about or what I would say. What does one say to a James Beard award-winning cookbook author? What do I talk about with someone who has worked with many chefs including Julia Child?

As the line shortened and I finally approached the table. My nervousness began to subside. I was greeted by Dorie’s kind, smiling face. She warmly asked what I would like and apologized for only having two (wonderful!) choices left. She told me not to even look at the menu as I would only find disappointment at what had been missed. Dorie spoke to me not as if we were strangers but like we had met before. She was approachable and so easy to talk to. I introduced myself and we chatted briefly about my admiration for her, her excitement at meeting so many people today, the success of Cookie Bar for the second year in a row and then I had the pleasure of leaving the table with Coconut Lime Sables and Blondies with coconut, toasted pecans and Valrhona Jivara milk chocolate. I saved them for later to share with Mike and HB but let me tell you, they were absolute perfection.

Cookies! Glorious cookies!

Next, I made my way through the crowd to be met by Chris of The Peche and Gail of One Tough Cookie. They made a wonderful welcoming committee and organizers of the food blogger (and people who love them) meet up at Cookie Bar.

Chris of The Peche

I also was lucky enough to meet Jessica of Food Mayhem, Jackie Gordon Singing Chef and Janet of Pretty Tasty Cakes. Unfortunately, I missed Ken of Hungry Rabbit (although I did catch a glimpse of him from the back of the line as he headed out the front door, cookies in hand) and Wendy of La Phemme Phoodie (who I later came to find out was right in front of me in line!) Each and every one of them was warm, friendly and welcoming. All those jitters were for nothing because this was a group of very inviting people. I am so glad to have had the opportunity to have met such a group of charismatic and talented people.

Gail interviews the lucky fellow to receive the last 2 cookies of the week!

As I walked back down Park Avenue later that day, I heard the crinkle of that little package of cookies in my purse and I couldn’t wait to get home to give them a try. I found myself at ease as I reflected on the people I had met and the time I had. It was a wonderful afternoon and I look forward to seeing these wonderful people all again as well as meeting others. Lastly, I cannot wait for Dorie and Josh to “pop-up” again!

The Illustrious Dorie Greenspan & I

~K

About FoodBabbles

I'm just a girl with a passion for good food. Especially the sweet side of life. I love to eat it, make it, read about it... if it has to do with food, it's for me. I'd like to share my food, writing and photos with you. Sometimes they come out great. Other times, well... there are some mishaps but I'll share those with you too. I'm only human! Either way, I enjoy it and hope you will too! So here are sugary, sweet culinary delights from my talented yet dangerously klutzy hands so obviously not bred to work with sharp knives and hot ovens.
This entry was posted in Everything Else! and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to Cookie Bar NYC & The Illustrious Dorie Greenspan

  1. It was such a whirlwind, wasn’t it? I looked at your picture of the line and realized that I was in line behind you originally…but then I had to leave to go grab some cash from the ATM. When we returned, my kids and I were one of the last people to get cookies on Friday, finishing off the coconut lime sables with the lady in front of us. 🙂

    I don’t remember if we met or not–it was a bit confusing, especially since I was trying to keep track of my kids, too–but what a cool event. 🙂

    • FoodBabbles says:

      Hi there! I do remember seeing you but no, we didn’t meet. Thanks so much for taking the time to read my post and hopefully we’ll have the opportunity to meet in the future. Take care!

  2. So nice to meet you! It was short, but very, very sweet! Lovely post! You never have to worry about being shy around food people. We all have at least one major thing in common that we can talk about for hours and hours on end. Look forward to seeing you next time. Till then there’s Twitter!

  3. dorie says:

    Thank you so much for coming to CookieBar and more thanks for this lovely post with such great pictures. I’m sorry that we didn’t have a full line-up of cookies when you came — I kept trying to put away cookies for the blogger meet-up, but we didn’t have 2 seconds free to do it.

    And you’re right — the food community is a wonderful community. We’re so lucky to be part of it!

  4. How funny that I thought I recognized you and now we have concrete proof. I was right in front of you! That’s my blond hair sticking out of the blue hat in the pic of the line. We’ll definitely have to get together soon and chat IRL. Very sweet post about the experience.

  5. your mom says:

    you are such a rockstar kate!! party on! I am so proud of you.

  6. How fun! Meeting other food bloggers is always so fun, and I’m glad you had the opportunity. I wish I could have been there that day, but alas…it’s too far of a drive from Florida to NYC. 🙂

  7. Scott says:

    Very nice, you’ve become quite the foodie! When you decide to go meet Giada DeLaurentis you let me know!

  8. Dolores says:

    Kate your site looks wonderful!!! Your pictures and stories are truly glorious!! Makes the food look so yummy!!!! Keep up the great work and you might make a good cook out of me yet!!

  9. Aunt Cheryl says:

    What a great story! Congratulations! You’re awesome!
    Luv you,

  10. Pingback: #BakeTogether with Abby Dodge & Sorbet “My Way” | FoodBabbles

  11. Pingback: Jarlsberg Cheddar Macaroni & Cheese + 1 Other ~ A SideCar Event at Kitchen Play | FoodBabbles

  12. Pingback: Cheddar Walnut Sables ~ #BakeTogether | FoodBabbles

  13. Pingback: Cinnamon Apple Coffee Break Muffins ~ #MuffinMonday | FoodBabbles

  14. Pingback: Chocolate Chip Cherry Swirl Muffins ~ #MuffinMonday | FoodBabbles

Talk To Me!

