The Steak That Wasn’t & Gingered Snow Peas and Carrots


How in the world do you mess up steak? It really can’t be done unless you over cook it, right? Well, that’s what I thought until the other night. You see, I made what was destined to be a simple yet delicious asian type marinade for this beautiful steak. A little soy sauce, a little sesame oil, some garlic, fresh ginger, orange juice… it all came together wonderfully. Let that sit for an hour or so and then onto the grill it was to go.

Then life happened and we weren’t able to have the steak that night. So it sat in that marinade a full 24 hours. Normally, I’ve never had that be a problem with other marinades or a store-bought marinade. Well, believe me in this instance it was a gigantic problem. After that steak came off the grill it was an inedible salty disaster. All you could taste was salt. My father-in-law was in heaven and in fact, took that very steak home with him that evening to enjoy later. However, the rest of us agreed that it was time to call for a pizza.

Fortunately, one good thing came out of that disastrous meal and that was the side dish. I made gingered snow peas and carrots. It was simple, crisp and refreshing. Snow peas and carrots tossed with shallots, minced ginger, a little soy sauce and a splash of orange juice. So delicious! Fortunately, that was hit so I saved it to have the next day. While the steak was the intended star of this post and instead we have a side dish that was way better.  It’s also great because you can change it up a bit also. Maybe use sugar snap peas or add mushrooms or water chestnuts. I also think slivered nuts might be a nice addition. Enjoy!

~K

Gingered Snow Peas & Carrots

Snow Peas (honestly, I have no idea how much I used weight-wise… it was enough for 4 people as a side dish so just wing it)

3 carrots, peeled and sliced

1 large shallot, minced

2 tsp fresh minced ginger root

1 Tbsp soy sauce

2 Tbsp orange juice

– Combine all the ingredients together in a large wok or non-stick skillet. Cook over medium-high heat about 5-8 minutes or just until crisp tender.

– Enjoy!

About FoodBabbles

I'm just a girl with a passion for good food. Especially the sweet side of life. I love to eat it, make it, read about it... if it has to do with food, it's for me. I'd like to share my food, writing and photos with you. Sometimes they come out great. Other times, well... there are some mishaps but I'll share those with you too. I'm only human! Either way, I enjoy it and hope you will too! So here are sugary, sweet culinary delights from my talented yet dangerously klutzy hands so obviously not bred to work with sharp knives and hot ovens.
This entry was posted in Flops & Fails, Sides, Vegetarian and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to The Steak That Wasn’t & Gingered Snow Peas and Carrots

  1. Nana says:

    Love your commentary, Kate. This recipe sounds and looks to be really delicious. Glad Bob came to the rescue for you so the steak wasn’t a total fiasco!

  2. Scott says:

    What no baking?!?!?! I make all of my asian inspired marinades with low-sodium soy (having lived in Hawaii my favorite is Aloha Shoyu which can be hard to find) otherwise you can get a weeks worth of sodium intake in one serving! I was all set to try your veggies tonight…. No ginger, and the thought of going to the store with my monsters was too much to bear to get it.

  3. Mike says:

    Reached your blog through Delicious. You know I am signing up to your rss feed.

  4. Thanks for a Great item; I enjoyed it very much. Glayds Mccastle

Talk To Me!

