Malted Chocolate Tart


Chocolate, glorious chocolate! How I love you so. As you may or may not know, I truly do have a love affair with chocolate. As I’ve mentioned, my sweet tooth has been in overdrive recently so when it started up the other day deep dark chocolate was the only thing that could satisfy it. When I came across this recipe from Bon Appetit, it was a must try.

The chewy, buttery malted milk cookie was just the thing to transport rich dark chocolate to my demanding sweet tooth. The slightly salty and sweet combo was just so decadent. Then it’s finished off with the satisfying little crunch of malted milk balls. I absolutely loved this dessert. Chocolate and malted milk isn’t a new combo for me. It’s one of my favorites but this was such a grown up version.

~K

 

Malted Milk Cookie Tart Adapted from Bon Appetit

 

Ingredients

1 1/2 cups all-purpose flour

1 cup malted milk powder

1/2 cup sugar

1 teaspoon (scant) coarse kosher salt

3/4 cup unsalted butter, cut into 1-inch pieces, room temperature

3/4 cup bittersweet chocolate chips (do not exceed 61% cacao)

1/2 cup malted milk balls, coarsely chopped


– Preheat oven to 325°F. In a food processor, pulse the flour, malted milk powder, sugar, and coarse salt. Add the butter and pulse until moist clumps form.


– Transfer dough to work surface; gather into ball. Press evenly onto bottom of 9-inch-diameter tart pan with removable bottom.


– Bake crust until evenly golden brown, about 25 minutes. Scatter chocolate chips over; let stand 5 minutes to soften…

…then spread melted chocolate over hot crust in the well that forms as center sinks.


– Sprinkle malted milk balls over.

– Cool completely. Remove tart from pan; cut into wedges.

– Enjoy!

About FoodBabbles

I'm just a girl with a passion for good food. Especially the sweet side of life. I love to eat it, make it, read about it... if it has to do with food, it's for me. I'd like to share my food, writing and photos with you. Sometimes they come out great. Other times, well... there are some mishaps but I'll share those with you too. I'm only human! Either way, I enjoy it and hope you will too! So here are sugary, sweet culinary delights from my talented yet dangerously klutzy hands so obviously not bred to work with sharp knives and hot ovens.
This entry was posted in Desserts and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to Malted Chocolate Tart

  1. Wow, this looks awesome. Love how the chips melt into the crust. And the more layers of chocolatey goodness the better.

  2. anabela martins says:

    Wowwwwwww, very good :)))

  3. wow..i would love a bite of this chocolate cake! 🙂

  4. Pingback: The Weekend Dish: 3/26/2011 | Brown Eyed Baker

  5. That is so mouthwatering chocolatey goodness, excellent recipe

  6. betchacanteatjustone says:

    What a fantastic treat! I just made this and it can literally be put together with about 10 minutes worth of effort! The only thing I did differently was whisk some hot cream into the chocolate to make a ganache to pour over the hot cookie as I didn’t want the chocolate to harden up too much once it cooled down. Also just the right amount of malted milk powder, you can really taste it!

  7. Well, I’m late to this party but I bookmarked this tart in that issue of BA…and forgot about it. I love. Chocolate. Malted Milk. Whoppers. You know this has to happen.

  8. I was sitting in my kitchen, looking at the remains of Dudette’s Halloween candy. A HUGE amount of malted milk balls. So, I thought I’d look around and see something I could do with them. I’m so glad I landed here. This is perfect! Many thanks for sharing your version of the Bon Appetit recipe. It’s perfect.

  9. Pingback: Top 11 of 2011… A Look Back As We Move Forward | FoodBabbles

  10. Pingback: Malteser Chocolate Cookie Tart « Lea & Jay

  11. Pingback: Cheddar Walnut Sables ~ #BakeTogether | FoodBabbles

Talk To Me!

