Chocolate Chip Cookie Ice Cream Freeze


So I wanted to make a dessert to take to Mike’s parents house the other night for dinner yet I could barely muster the energy to even think about doing so. I realized that I needed something delicious yet not labor intensive. I just couldn’t manage the oomph to be really creative yet I didn’t want to present a dessert that wasn’t just as magnificent as always. That’s when I remembered coming across a recipe last summer that I made once. It was wonderful in its simplicity!

The bottom layer is a classic chocolate chip cookie. Then that chocolate chip cookie layer then gets topped with chocolate chip ice cream. The recipe called for chocolate chip cookie dough but the last time I made this I just thought it was cookie overload but you use whatever ice cream flavor strikes your fancy.

Next, I crumbled a few chocolate chip cookies over top and gave it a drizzle of chocolate shell. Amazing!! A simple dessert but it was so good. The recipe calls for a Betty Crocker bagged cookie mix but you can always feel free to use your favorite homemade recipe as well. That’s usually the route I go however, in all honestly I took the easy route this time and it was just as good.

I think there’s a lot of different directions you could take this recipe. Instead of just a chocolate chip cookie crust how about adding some Reese’s pieces or peanut butter chips? Then maybe top it with a peanut butter cup ice cream? Or keep the chocolate chip cookie crust and top with mint chocolate chip ice cream? You could get more fancy with a white chocolate macadamia nut cookie and then top it with vanilla ice cream. The possibilities are endless because cookies and ice cream just go together!

Enjoy!

~K

 

Chocolate Chip Cookie Ice Cream Freeze

Barely adapted from Betty Crocker

 

1 pouch (1 lb 1.5 oz) Betty Crocker chocolate chip cookie mix

1/2 c. butter or margarine, softened

1 egg

1 bottle of chocolate shell for ice cream

1.5 quart of chocolate chip ice cream

 

– Heat the oven to 375 degrees. Spray a 13×9 inch glass baking dish with non-stick cooking spray.

– In a large bowl, stir together the cookie mix, butter and egg until a soft dough forms.

– On an ungreased cookie sheet, drop 5 rounded teaspoons of dough and bake 9-11 minutes. Remove from oven and then allow to cool on a rack.

– Meanwhile, press the remaining dough into the bottom of your prepared baking dish. The dough will be sticky so moisten your fingers while working. Bake for 8-10 minutes and then allow it to fully cool, about 30 minutes.

– Spread 1/3 cup of the chocolate shell over the baked cookie crust. Freeze 10-15 minutes until hard.

– Meanwhile, remove the ice cream from the freezer and allow it to soften about 15 minutes. Spread the softened ice cream over the chocolate shell layer.

– Crumble the 5 cookies over the top of the ice cream and then drizzle with the remaining chocolate shell. Freeze the dessert for at least 2 hours. Before serving, let it sit out for 5-10 minutes.

– Enjoy!

About FoodBabbles

I'm just a girl with a passion for good food. Especially the sweet side of life. I love to eat it, make it, read about it... if it has to do with food, it's for me. I'd like to share my food, writing and photos with you. Sometimes they come out great. Other times, well... there are some mishaps but I'll share those with you too. I'm only human! Either way, I enjoy it and hope you will too! So here are sugary, sweet culinary delights from my talented yet dangerously klutzy hands so obviously not bred to work with sharp knives and hot ovens.
This entry was posted in Desserts and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Chocolate Chip Cookie Ice Cream Freeze

  1. Heart Belongs To Kate says:

    Oh!!!!!! This is a crowd pleaser!!! My stomach and mouth fight over who gets it first!

  2. Nana says:

    Yum and again I say . . . YUM!! Okay Kate, there’s just so much temptation a body can withstand. If you keep tempting all your faithful readers with these caloric loaded goodies–you’ll soon have to start sharing, excuse the expression, dieting tips!!

  3. Pingback: Lemon-Lime Basil Shortbread Cookies (Secret Recipe Club)

  4. Pingback: Coconut Macaroon Nests | FoodBabbles

Talk To Me!

