Lemon Mini-Muffins with Lime-Scented Sugar


I think nothing says “Spring” quite like the flavor of lemon. That’s why it’s always such a prominent flavor in so many of the recipes I choose to make around this time of year. Sometimes it’s all about the lemon (like here or here or even here) and other times, lemon is just a small component (like here.)

In this particular case, it’s definitely all about the lemon… in fact, it’s about the whole entire lemon. Yep, that’s right. For these little lemon muffins, you utilize the whole lemon, rind and all (with the exception of the seeds.) At first I was a little leery of this idea. In fact, when I read “minced lemon,” I wasn’t exactly sure what that meant and had to read on. Yep, they meant the lemon, in its entirety. For all of you “waste not, want not” people this is right up your alley.

Despite having all that lemon plus some lemon yogurt these little wonders are not at all tart or overpowered. These muffins are topped with a lime-scented sugar that absolutely makes the muffin. Truly, that sugar is my favorite thing about the lemon muffins and really brings such a nice, fresh finishing touch. It smells delightful and I’ve already started thinking to see what I else can use that sugar on or in because I just love it that much. The batch I sent out to my “testers” was down to only 3 left after an hour so I assure you, these one-bite wonders won’t last very long.

Enjoy!

~K

Lemon Mini-Muffins with Lime-Scented Sugar from Cuisine At Home

**The magazine says “Makes 12 mini muffins or 6 standard size” so I doubled it in the hopes of achieving 24 mini muffins… I ended up with 50! There is no need to double this recipe. You should get about 24 mini-muffins.**

1 1/4 c. all-purpose flour

3/4 tsp. baking powder

1/4 tsp. salt

1/8 tsp. baking soda

1/8 tsp. ground nutmeg

1/2 c. lemon-flavored yogurt

2 Tbsp. minced fresh lemon

1/2 tsp vanilla extract

6 Tbsp sugar

1/2 stick unsalted butter, softened (4 Tbsp)

1 egg

1/4 c. sugar

Chopped zest of 1 lime

3 Tbsp unsalted butter, melted

– Preheat your oven to 350 degrees; coat one 12-cup mini muffin pan with nonstick spray. (I chose to use mini-cupcake liners.)

– Whisk the flour, baking powder, salt, soda, and nutmeg together in a bowl.

– Blend the yogurt, minced lemon, and vanilla together in a cup with a pour spout. (A large liquid measuring cup works well for this)

– Cream together 6 tablespoons of sugar and 1/2 stick of butter in a bowl with an electric mixer until light; add egg and beat well.

– Alternately blend flour and yogurt mixtures into butter, starting and ending with the flour mixture; until just combined. Be sure not to over mix. Fill cups of prepared muffin pan three-quarters full, then bake until a toothpick inserted in a muffin comes out clean, 20-25 mins. Cool briefly in the pan.

– Pulse the remaining sugar with lime zest in a food processor until zest is minced. Brush the warm muffins with 3 Tbsp melted butter and roll in sugar mixture to coat. Cool.

– Enjoy!

About FoodBabbles

I'm just a girl with a passion for good food. Especially the sweet side of life. I love to eat it, make it, read about it... if it has to do with food, it's for me. I'd like to share my food, writing and photos with you. Sometimes they come out great. Other times, well... there are some mishaps but I'll share those with you too. I'm only human! Either way, I enjoy it and hope you will too! So here are sugary, sweet culinary delights from my talented yet dangerously klutzy hands so obviously not bred to work with sharp knives and hot ovens.
This entry was posted in Breakfast, Desserts, Snacks and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Lemon Mini-Muffins with Lime-Scented Sugar

  1. Pingback: Lemon-Lime Basil Shortbread Cookies | FoodBabbles

  2. Pingback: The Best of Spring | FoodBabbles

  3. Pingback: Sugar Crusted Raspberry Blackberry Muffins ~ #MuffinMonday | FoodBabbles

Talk To Me!

