Me vs. Meringue


Lemon meringue pie… I absolutely love it. In fact, if I’m not mistaken, it also happens to be my grandmother’s favorite pie. I don’t know if I have a favorite pie (I just love them all so much!) but if I had to choose one, lemon meringue would definitely be in the running. I love the smooth tartness of the lemon custard and the seemingly endless waves of meringue piled up on top all golden brown.

That was the vision I had as I prepared my very first lemon meringue pie. I’ve never made meringue for anything before but I thought I could handle it. After all, I have a general idea of the premise of how to make meringue. I beat and I beat and I beat. I thought I had it to the “stiff peaks” point but clearly I didn’t because as I topped my lemon custard with the eggs whites I found myself struggling to get those big, beautiful curls of meringue on top. I thought perhaps I was doing it wrong but then I realized I probably should have continued to beat those egg whites.  Ahhh… lesson learned.

Fortunately, what my meringue lacked in height it did not lack in taste! The pie came out wonderfully tart and sweet while the meringue was light and airy. However, I am determined to  conquer the meringue! So, don’t be surprised if my next post happens to be something topped with meringue as well. That’s a distinct possibility!

Enjoy!

~K

Lemon Meringue Pie  by Alton Brown via Food Network

4 egg yolks (reserve the whites!)

1/3 c. cornstarch

1 1/2 c. water

1 1/3 c. sugar

1/4 tsp salt

3 Tbsp butter

1/2 c. lemon juice

1 Tbsp finely grated lemon zest

1 (9-inch) pre-baked pie shell (cool completely)

4 egg whites

Pinch of cream of tartar

2 Tbsp sugar

–  Adjust the oven rack to the middle position. Preheat oven to 375 degrees F.

– Pre-bake the pie crust and cool completely.

– Whisk egg yolks in medium size mixing bowl and set aside.

– In a medium saucepan, combine cornstarch, water, sugar, and salt. Whisk to combine.

– Turn heat on medium and, stirring frequently, bring mixture to a boil. Boil for 1 minute. Remove from heat and gradually, 1 ladle-full at a time, add hot mixture to egg yolks and stir until you have added at least half of the mixture.

– Return egg mixture to saucepan, turn heat down to low and cook, stirring constantly, for 1 more minute. Remove from heat and gently stir in butter, lemon juice, and zest until well combined.

– Pour the lemon mixture into the pre-baked pie crust.

– Place egg whites and cream of tartar in the bowl of a stand mixer fitted with the whisk attachment. Beat egg whites until soft peaks form and then gradually add sugar and continue beating until stiff peaks form, approximately 1 to 2 minutes.

– Top hot lemon mixture with meringue while filling is still hot. Make sure meringue completely covers filling and that it goes right up to the edge of the crust.

– Bake for 10 to 12 minutes or until meringue is golden. Remove from oven and cool on a wire rack. Make sure pie is cooled completely before slicing.

– Enjoy!

About FoodBabbles

I'm just a girl with a passion for good food. Especially the sweet side of life. I love to eat it, make it, read about it... if it has to do with food, it's for me. I'd like to share my food, writing and photos with you. Sometimes they come out great. Other times, well... there are some mishaps but I'll share those with you too. I'm only human! Either way, I enjoy it and hope you will too! So here are sugary, sweet culinary delights from my talented yet dangerously klutzy hands so obviously not bred to work with sharp knives and hot ovens.
This entry was posted in Desserts, Flops & Fails, Pie and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Me vs. Meringue

  1. Your pie looks pretty to me even if the meringue is not as tall as you’d like. Taste is the most important factor anyway 🙂 I wanted to invite you over to show off your pie at These Chicks Cooked Recipe Spotlight tomorrow (Wednesday). Have a great day 🙂
    Katie

  2. I think your pie looks gorgeous. The pics are fab. I LOVE lemon infused anything so feel free to make this when we get together for lunch:)

  3. Lemon Meringue is my favorite and my Nan’s favorite too! That’s definitely one thing I learned about making meringue. I basically put them in the KitchenAid and walk away. I made them for the first time around Mother’s Day when I created mini lemon meringue cheesecakes. It’s funny how intimidating they can be for how simple they are!

  4. Pingback: Meringue Revisited… | FoodBabbles

  5. Pingback: August Pie | FoodBabbles

  6. Pingback: Strawberry Tofu “Cheesecake” ~ Secret Recipe Club | FoodBabbles

Talk To Me!

