Olive Oil Cake with Candied Oranges


When this month’s edition of Bon Appetit arrived on my doorstep I thumbed through it immediately, as I always do. Lo and behold, I found myself intrigued by an olive oil cake recipe. I’ve heard of olive oil cakes in the past. I’ve always wanted to try one however, as so many things do, that project was pushed to the side for one reason or another and then eventually forgotten until the next time I saw an olive oil cake once again at which point I would remember… Hey! I want to make one of those!

To be sure not to allow the thought to escape me once again, I soon set out to make Bon Appetit’s lovely olive oil cake with candied oranges. This cake was simply wonderful. The cake itself is much like the a dense pound cake however it’s so much more moist. (About a million times more moist!) The flavor of the olive oil is the star here but it’s nicely complimented by orange zest as well as accents of cardamom.

I can distinctly remember as a child, my Nan would make candied orange peels. I was always intrigued by the fact that she was able to make something not meant to be eaten into wonderful candy. As an adult, I’ve never made candied orange peels (*Note to self: Make candied orange peels!) but as if this simple cake with hints of orange wasn’t already perfection, it gets topped with wonderful orange slices that have been bathed in a syrup of sugar, orange blossom honey and green cardamom pods.

I’ve never been a big fan of cardamom. It’s not that I don’t care for it, I’ve just never cared to form an opinion one way or another. After making (and eating) this recipe, I’ve declared myself a very big fan! The aromatic smell of cardamom as you make the candied oranges is absolutely intoxicating. The sweet, spicy, complex smell took over my house and made me swoon. Let me just tell you, go ahead and cut more slices than you’ll need to top this moist olive oil cake because I assure you they won’t all make it onto the top. When these orange slices are done taking their sweet bath, you won’t be able to help yourself. You will inevitably eat some along the way.

So if you haven’t ever tried an olive oil cake, give this one a try. It’s simply wonderful.

Enjoy!

~K

Olive Oil Cake with Candied Oranges Bon Appetite Magazine (June 2011)

Candied Orange & Syrup

1 c. sugar

3/4 c. orange blossom honey

3 Tbsp green cardamom pods, crushed

1 small orange, thinly sliced

Cake

1/2 c. olive oil plus more for brushing

1 c. all-purpose flour

1/2 c. semolina flour

1 1/2 tsp baking powder

1 tsp ground cardamom

1/2 tsp kosher salt

1/4 tsp baking soda

1/2 c. sugar, divided

3 large eggs, separated

2/3 c. plain whole-milk yogurt

1 1/2 tsp grated orange zest

1 tsp vanilla extract

Chopped unsalted pistachios, lightly toasted (Not pictured. I didn’t use them on my cake since Maddy isn’t cleared for trying nuts yet and surely, she was going to want to try this wonderful concoction.) 

Candied Oranges and Syrup

– Line a baking sheet with parchment paper. Bring sugar, honey, cardamom, and 3 cups water to a boil in a medium heavy saucepan, stirring until sugar dissolves.

– Add orange slices. Reduce heat to medium-low; simmer, turning orange slices occasionally, until tender and syrup is reduced to 3 1/4 cups, about 40 minutes. 

– Arrange orange slices in a single layer on prepared baking sheet; remove cardamom pods and seeds. Strain syrup. 

DO AHEAD Can be made 1 day ahead. Cover syrup and orange slices separately; chill. Return orange slices to room temperature and rewarm syrup slightly before using.

Cake

– Preheat oven to 350°. Brush a 9″ springform pan with oil.

– Whisk both flours and next 4 ingredients in a medium bowl.

– Using an electric mixer, beat 1/4 cup sugar and 1/2 cup oil in a large bowl for 1 minute.

– Beat in yolks, then flour mixture.

– Beat in yogurt, zest, and vanilla.

– Using clean, dry beaters, beat egg whites in another medium bowl until soft peaks form. Gradually beat in remaining 1/4 cup sugar until firm peaks form. Fold egg whites into batter just to blend in 2 additions.

– Transfer to prepared pan; smooth top.

– Bake cake until a toothpick inserted into center comes out clean, about 25 minutes. Pierce hot cake all over with a skewer. Slowly drizzle 3/4 cup warm syrup all over. When syrup is absorbed, slowly pour 3/4 cup more syrup over. 

– Reserve remaining syrup for serving. (I personally think that more syrup is not needed at serving given the amount of syrup initially poured over the cake and the very moist nature of this cake but that’s up to you.)

– Let cake cool in pan on a wire rack. Run a thin knife around edge of pan to release cake. Remove pan sides. Arrange candied orange slices over. Sprinkle pistachios over. Cut into wedges and serve drizzled with more syrup, if desired.

– Enjoy!

About FoodBabbles

I'm just a girl with a passion for good food. Especially the sweet side of life. I love to eat it, make it, read about it... if it has to do with food, it's for me. I'd like to share my food, writing and photos with you. Sometimes they come out great. Other times, well... there are some mishaps but I'll share those with you too. I'm only human! Either way, I enjoy it and hope you will too! So here are sugary, sweet culinary delights from my talented yet dangerously klutzy hands so obviously not bred to work with sharp knives and hot ovens.
This entry was posted in Desserts, Snacks and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Olive Oil Cake with Candied Oranges

  1. Medeja says:

    It looks very tempting. I can imagine that lovely taste of candied oranges 🙂

  2. stunning. I’m typically not a huge fan of cardamom and at first thought these were pistachios 😉 Love how the final result looks.

  3. I have been eyeing up this cake for a while now. It looks so gorgeous and I bet it tastes amazing.

  4. Mary Squires says:

    What a gorgeous and mouth watering recipe.

  5. Pingback: Rosemary Pear Olive Oil Muffins ~ Muffin Monday | FoodBabbles

  6. Pingback: Orange Pound Cake Muffins ~ #MuffinMonday | FoodBabbles

  7. Pingback: Honey Citrus Olive Oil Muffins with Toasted Almonds | FoodBabbles

  8. Pingback: Roasted Garlic Muffins with Sun Dried Tomato & Gouda ~ #MuffinMonday | FoodBabbles

Talk To Me!

