#BakeTogether with Abby Dodge & Sorbet “My Way”


In the vast world that is the internet, sometimes you connect with a group of people with shared interests and it’s magical. Since starting this blog that place for me has been Twitter. Before becoming a food blogger, I didn’t really “get” Twitter. However, it’s been a place that has put me in touch with so many wonderful people who have been an incredibly resource to me as I wade these new blogging waters. I’ve even been fortunate enough to meet some of these people in real life and I hope to meet others in the near future.

So there had been a chat going on back and forth between a couple of these people on Twitter about how wonderful it would be if we could all get together and bake together. Clearly, this is an impossibility since we are spread out all over the country. Actually, some of the people are not even in this country. So #baketogether was born courtesy of Abby Dodge. (For all you non-twitter people, a hashtag “#” represents a sub-category in tweets and is used on Twitter to categorize tweets. You’ll see it used throughout this and future #baketogether posts.)

Abby Dodge is a widely respected baking expert, a former pastry chef and the author of 7 cookbooks, among other talents. The premise behind #baketogether is that each month Abby will post a simple recipe for all the participants. Then we get to put our own unique spin on it and make it “our way.” What an extraordinary way for all of us to come together each month and create something new.

This month’s recipe posted by Abby was Summer Strawberry Sorbet. When I read this, my wheels really started turning. In fact, they were spinning in so many different directions it was hard to get focused and make a decision. I decided to keep it simple. Even once I started to narrow down my ideas, I still couldn’t decide between two different flavors. So I decided to make both!

I decided to stick with Abby’s strawberry sorbet but I wanted to build on that. I made a Strawberry, White Peach and Basil sorbet. I infused the water in the recipe with fresh basil leaves and lemongrass. I included more fresh basil in the finished sorbet as well. This combination of herbs and fruit was so very refreshing and vibrant. In fact, I liked the combination of fruit with basil so much that I later made just a peach and basil sorbet so feel free to omit the strawberries and add two more peaches. It’s just as good!

My second flavor was supposed to be Coconut Kaffir Lime however finding kaffir limes or kaffir lime leaves, which I wanted to use to infuse the coconut water in this recipe, proved impossible. I assure you, I traveled to many specialty stores all over my fair state in pursuit of kaffir limes and came up empty. So the plan changed and was simplified. I decided to use key limes instead at the suggestion of my friend, Mike.  Coconut Key Lime Sorbet with Fresh Ginger was born and was tropically delightful!

Unfortunately, as I was putting the liquid into the refrigerator to chill before I churned it disaster struck!! I spilled it… everywhere. My kitchen counter, cabinets and floor were a sticky, coconut-y mess! Fortunately, just enough liquid remained so that I was able to churn exactly one scoop. I was able to sample my work, determine it was delicious and even snap a few pictures of my tiny little scoop. So it wasn’t a total loss.

Both of these sorbets were heavenly! Thanks to Abby and #baketogether, I’ve rekindled my love of my ice cream maker. I had forgotten how much better homemade is and how very easy it is to make fresh sorbet. So do give one of these a try then maybe put your own spin on it to make sorbet “Your Way.”

Enjoy!

-K

Maddy Definitely Liked This Project

Strawberry, White Peach & Fresh Basil Sorbet

1 quart of strawberries

4 white peaches, diced but not peeled

8 basil leaved, divided

3/4 c. water

2 stalks of lemongrass; outer leaves removed, root and top trimmed then cut into pieces

1/2 c. sugar

pinch of salt

– Simmer 4 basil leaves and lemongrass in the water for 15 minutes.

– Removed the basil and lemongrass, add the diced peaches and sugar to the water. Simmer until tender, about 10 minutes.

– Meanwhile, trim and quarter the strawberries.

– Put the strawberries and peaches with the cooking syrup into a blender or food processor and puree.

– Chiffonade the remaining basil. Add half of the basil to the strawberry peach mixture. Pulse briefly and taste. If desired, add the remaining basil.

– Stir in a pinch of salt.

– Cool the mixture to room temperature and then chill in the refrigerator until cold.

– Once fully chilled, pour into the ice cream maker and follow the manufacturer’s instructions.

– Eat immediately…

Freshly Churned Sorbet

OR

– Freeze and enjoy later!

Sorbet Frozen for 2 Hours

Coconut Key Lime Sorbet with Fresh Ginger 

13.5 oz can of unsweetened coconut milk

1 c. unsweetened coconut water

1/4 c. freshly squeezed key lime juice

1/2 c. sugar

Pinch of salt

1 Tbsp fresh ginger, finely grated

– Simmer the coconut milk, coconut water, lime juice and sugar until the sugar has dissolved.

– Remove from heat and stir in a pinch of salt.

– Cool the mixture to room temperature and then refrigerate until chilled.

– Stir in the fresh ginger to the chilled mixture.

– Pour the mixture into the ice cream maker and follow the manufacturer’s instructions.

– Enjoy immediately or freeze and enjoy later!

About FoodBabbles

I'm just a girl with a passion for good food. Especially the sweet side of life. I love to eat it, make it, read about it... if it has to do with food, it's for me. I'd like to share my food, writing and photos with you. Sometimes they come out great. Other times, well... there are some mishaps but I'll share those with you too. I'm only human! Either way, I enjoy it and hope you will too! So here are sugary, sweet culinary delights from my talented yet dangerously klutzy hands so obviously not bred to work with sharp knives and hot ovens.
This entry was posted in #BakeTogether, Desserts, Ice Cream and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to #BakeTogether with Abby Dodge & Sorbet “My Way”

  1. I didn’t “get” Twitter either before food blogging. It has become a great community for me! 🙂 How is it I didn’t know about #baketogether though? Hmmm…

    So hope your counter cleaned up well after the mishap. But I’m glad you got one scoop of the coconut key lime sorbet because it sounds delicious! Putting that on my list to make!

  2. Bummer you couldn’t find kaffir limes. I know you were excited to try them out in the recipe. Glad to hear you were able to rescue a little bit of the coconut. Btw, I LOVE the pics of Maddy! Oh and your props look great:)

    • FoodBabbles says:

      Glad you enjoyed the post and my pics 😉 Maddy really liked the sorbet! And it does stink that my pursuit of kaffir limes left me empty handed but the key limes were delicious!

  3. I am loving the coconut sorbet! looks delicious!

  4. I organized a local group of food bloggers several months ago and we met Saturday for our once a month meeting. I heard several times ‘I just don’t get Twitter’ or a variant of the same. I should send them to your post!

    I’m glad you joined us in #baketogether; it is the joining up in these communities that really starts to make someone new to Twitter not just get it, but participate in the fun it can be.

    I love your sorbets…and am laughing and crying with you over the loss of your second one. Great job!

    • FoodBabbles says:

      Thank you for such an incredibly nice comment!! I’m glad I joined #baketogether also. I’m already having so much fun with it and “meeting” new people. Thanks again for you comment. It really made my day!

  5. Nancy Gardiner says:

    Oh La La! These are just wonderful. I admit, I have never been a “herbs in the desert” kind of girl, leaning naturally more toward the gooey/sticky/nutty/boozey stuff, but all of these exquisite #baketogether sorbets are slowly winning me over! Basil/Lemongrass? Yes. Please!
    Thanks to you for these beautiful sorbets, and to Twitter and @abbydodge too for the platform for us to participate, share, learn from one another and have so much fun in the delicious process!

  6. Pingback: Lemon-Lime Basil Shortbread Cookies | FoodBabbles

  7. Pingback: Lemon Goat Cheese Cake with Raspberry Sauce for #goaterie | FoodBabbles

  8. Pingback: #baketogether ~ Strawberry Sorbet Takes a Journey

  9. Pingback: Ginger Apricot Cake for #BakeTogether | FoodBabbles

  10. Pingback: Apricot-Sage Cookies | FoodBabbles

Talk To Me!

