Rosemary Infused Watermelon Lemonade


There’s nothing like sitting out on my deck on a hot summer day enjoying the fresh air and a cold beverage in hand to cool me off. In summers past, many times that cold beverage may have had a splash or more of something containing alcohol. These days, being 6 months pregnant that’s not an option so I wanted to come up with something non-alcoholic that felt summery and festive.

I can remember one summer sitting outside at a restaurant enjoying the breeze, good friends and good times. On the menu, they served a rosemary infused lemonade. It was so fresh and invigorating! It was the kind of drink you didn’t want to stop drinking.  With that memory in mind I thought I might try my hand at making homemade lemonade, having never made it before. Then I took it a step further and decided what if I added watermelon and made that the star? What if? Well, I can tell you that it was a sensational success!

I infused water and sugar with two sprigs of chopped, fresh rosemary. Pureed watermelon with the syrup then both fresh lemon and lime juice. For the finishing touch, I topped it all off with some seltzer to give it a perky fizz. After sampling and sampling some more, I realized that another option would be to infuse the water with fresh mint! Also, this would certainly be fantastic with a splash or two of something boozy for those of you who are not 6 months pregnant.

It was a refreshing drink sure to liven up any party or whisk you away from the stress of your day as you sit on the back deck and sip.

Enjoy!

~K

Rosemary Infused Watermelon Lemonade 

1 c. water

2/3 c. sugar

2 sprigs fresh rosemary, leaves stripped and chopped

10 c. cubed watermelon, divided

1/4 c. fresh lime juice, divided

1/2 c. fresh lemon juice, divided

Seltzer water, well chilled

– Combine the water and sugar in a sauce pan over medium heat and stir until the sugar is dissolved.

– Bring to a boil and add the rosemary. Remove from the heat, cover and steep for 30 minutes.

– Strain the rosemary leaves and reserve the syrup.

– Add half of the cubed watermelon, half the lemon juice, half the lime juice and half the rosemary syrup to a blender. Puree until smooth.

– Strain the watermelon mixture into a pitcher.

– Repeat the process with the remaining watermelon, lemon juice, lime juice and rosemary syrup.

– Chill in the refrigerator until ready to serve, at least 3 hours.

– To serve, stir the watermelon lemonade. Pour into ice-filled glasses until 3/4 full and top with chilled seltzer.

– Enjoy!

About FoodBabbles

I'm just a girl with a passion for good food. Especially the sweet side of life. I love to eat it, make it, read about it... if it has to do with food, it's for me. I'd like to share my food, writing and photos with you. Sometimes they come out great. Other times, well... there are some mishaps but I'll share those with you too. I'm only human! Either way, I enjoy it and hope you will too! So here are sugary, sweet culinary delights from my talented yet dangerously klutzy hands so obviously not bred to work with sharp knives and hot ovens.
This entry was posted in Drinks and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Rosemary Infused Watermelon Lemonade

  1. kankana says:

    I have a similar post except i infused it with jalapeno. I am liking the idea of infusing with rosemary. Should try that too sometime.

    • FoodBabbles says:

      Thanks! It’s very refreshing. I went and checked out your post and your watermelon cooler sounds fantastic also!! I’ll definitely have to give that a try.

  2. Everything about this sounds delightful and refreshing!

    New to your blog; happy I found you!

    Mary xo
    Delightful Bitefuls

  3. anita says:

    i tried this tonight- it’s a beautiful color, but a little too sweet for my taste. if i did it again, i think i’d add less sugar.

  4. Maranda says:

    This looks fantastic! I have been craving watermelon like crazy lately. This seems like the perfect summer pick me up! Thanks for sharing!!

  5. Pingback: Lemon-Lime Basil Shortbread Cookies | FoodBabbles

  6. Pingback: Ginger Lemongrass Fizz ~ A Guest Post by Deanna of Teaspoon of Spice | FoodBabbles

  7. Pingback: Apricot-Sage Cookies | FoodBabbles

Talk To Me!

