Cherry Amaretto Tart


My new favorite site is SeriousEats.com … Actually, to be more correct Serious Eats isn’t a new love for me. It’s an incredible site to feast your eyes on and I’ve frequented it now for some time however Serious Eats: Sweets is my new favorite place to land on their site. It’s filled with sugary goodness sure to make you absolutely swoon.

That being said, I was busy wiping the drool from my chin ahem, I mean… perusing the latest mouth-watering delights in the “Sweets” section when I came across a beautiful, picture perfect cherry tart. Immediately I fell in love and knew I had to make it. With the all too short cherry season quickly coming to an end this was just the recipe to send it out with the farewell it deserves.

The almond flavor of the amaretto is such a compliment to the sweetness of the red jewels which sit atop a luxurious mascarpone filling all nestled in a shortbread crust. To say that this tart is perfection is an understatement. To taste this tart, is to become a believer.

Enjoy!

~K

Cherry Amaretto Tart

Slightly adapted from the recipe by Maria del Mar Sacasa via Serious Eats

2 1/2 c. shortbread cookie crumbs

6 Tbsp light brown sugar, divided

3 Tbsp unsalted butter, melted

1/2 tsp salt, divided

1 1/2 lbs fresh cherries, stemmed, pitted and halved

1/2 c. Amaretto liqueur

1/4 c. sugar

2 Tbsp water

1 tsp unflavored gelatin

2 c. mascarpone

1 tsp almond extract

– Adjust oven rack to middle position and preheat your oven to 350 degrees.

– In a medium bowl, combine shortbread crumbs, 1/4 cup brown sugar, butter, and 1/4 teaspoon salt.

– Press into bottom and up sides of tart pan. Bake until light golden, about 15 minutes. Transfer to cooling rack and cool completely, about 30 minutes.

– Meanwhile, bring 3/4 cup cherries, 1/2 cup Amaretto, sugar, and 1/8 teaspoon salt to boil in small saucepan over high heat. Reduce heat to medium and simmer until thick and syrupy, 8 to 10 minutes. Transfer to large bowl and cool slightly, about 5 minutes. Add remaining fresh cherries and toss to coat. Set aside.

– Combine water and gelatin in small bowl. Microwave until gelatin dissolves, about 20 seconds. Cool to room temperature, about 5 minutes.

– In medium bowl, whisk together mascarpone, remaining 2 tablespoons brown sugar, almond extract, remaining 1/8 teaspoon salt, and cooled gelatin mixture until smooth.

– Spread mascarpone mixture in cooled tart shell and top with cherry mixture.

– Chill at least 30 minutes before serving.

– Enjoy!

* Note: I omitted ground almonds from the crust so the Maddy could have a taste. Also, with Maddy in mind as well as my very pregnant state, I omitted the additional amaretto in the filling which the original recipe called for.

About FoodBabbles

I'm just a girl with a passion for good food. Especially the sweet side of life. I love to eat it, make it, read about it... if it has to do with food, it's for me. I'd like to share my food, writing and photos with you. Sometimes they come out great. Other times, well... there are some mishaps but I'll share those with you too. I'm only human! Either way, I enjoy it and hope you will too! So here are sugary, sweet culinary delights from my talented yet dangerously klutzy hands so obviously not bred to work with sharp knives and hot ovens.
This entry was posted in Desserts, Tarts and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Cherry Amaretto Tart

  1. Amanda says:

    Swoon is right! This recipe looks great, and not too difficult for the beginning baker. Cherries + amaretto = divine.

    • FoodBabbles says:

      Thanks! I’m so glad you think so. The cherries and amaretto really us such a divine combination. If you make it, come back and let me know how it turned out!

  2. Maranda says:

    Oh my!! Bestill my heart! This is beautiful! And it looks to die for!!

  3. that is one mighty fine tart.
    love love love.
    i bet all these flavors are purrrrfect

  4. Pingback: Recipe Roundup August 2011 « A Gaming Girl's Take on Life

  5. Pingback: Top 11 of 2011… A Look Back As We Move Forward | FoodBabbles

  6. Amber says:

    Yum! Your tart looks fantastic! I’ve yet to try mascarpone, but your pictures may have convinced me I need to try it! 🙂

    • FoodBabbles says:

      That tart was actually the first time I had ever used mascarpone and it was divine. That tart was out of this world!! Hope you enjoy it if you do end up making it.

Talk To Me!

