August Pie


I love this pie! Generally speaking I’m a huge fan of all pies… Many of them make appearances here. Apple pie, strawberry shortcake pie, cranberry pear pie, pies that taste like cinnamon buns, two different meringue-topped pies (chocolate or lemon, take your pick!) even little pies in mason jars. If you like pie, we definitely have some pie around here, among other things of course.

This brings me to my next love. I love summer fruit. I love when cherry season blossoms and strawberries start showing up, all plump and juicy. I can hardly control myself as berries, glorious berries of all types begin to appear at the farmer’s market. When you put these two loves together you get pie perfection… August Pie, to be exact.

The pie gets its name because you can include any summer fruit you want. If you’re in the mood for peaches, throw some in. If you’ve got raspberries you want to use, put those in this pie. Blackberries? Sure! If you’ve been craving blueberries, yep… you guessed it… those would taste great too! Or in my case, I put a bunch of those in and then at the last minute I decided hey, why not put a few sliced strawberries in also just for good measure? Then it all gets baked into a flaky crust with a cinnamon-kissed custard.

I made this pie and then got to thinking about how I love all things that come in personal size so why not make miniature pies? I just so happen to have recently purchased mini-pie plates that were just begging to be tried out. Although, I now must admit… it’s a large personal serving perhaps better suited for two people. So we’ll call those mini pies perfect for two! Regardless of the size or shape of your pie, the combination of luscious summer fruit, custard and the slight hint of cinnamon will have you digging in for sure.

Enjoy!

~K

August Pie Ever So Slightly Adapted from Family Circle Magazine (August 2010)

*Makes one full-size 9″ pie or two mini pies (I used 6″ mini pie plates)

1 refrigerated rolled pie crust

4 cups of any summer fruit you choose

1 c. half-and-half

1 egg

2/3 c. sugar

1/4 c. flour

1/2 tsp cinnamon

2 dashes of nutmeg

1/4 tsp salt

– Heat oven to 400 degrees. Fit pie crust into a 9″ pie plate, if making a full-size pie. Split the dough in half, roll and fit into two mini pie plates.

– Place the fruit into the pie crust and spread evenly.

– In a bowl, combine half-and-half, egg, sugar, flour, cinnamon, nutmeg and salt; stir until well blended. Pour over the fruit.

– Place the pie in the oven and bake at 400 degrees for 50 minutes or until the center is set. Cool completely on a wire rack before serving.

– Enjoy!

About FoodBabbles

I'm just a girl with a passion for good food. Especially the sweet side of life. I love to eat it, make it, read about it... if it has to do with food, it's for me. I'd like to share my food, writing and photos with you. Sometimes they come out great. Other times, well... there are some mishaps but I'll share those with you too. I'm only human! Either way, I enjoy it and hope you will too! So here are sugary, sweet culinary delights from my talented yet dangerously klutzy hands so obviously not bred to work with sharp knives and hot ovens.
This entry was posted in Desserts and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to August Pie

  1. Love how you made use of the mini-pie plates. Now I want some. I enjoy working with recipes that can be adapted to what is in season. Thanks for sharing!

  2. Beautiful! Now I want mini pie pans, too! 🙂

  3. I will third those other requests…the little pie pans are so charming. And this pie reminds me of my fruitcake. No…not THAT kind of fruitcake but one made with real fruit and nuts and just barely held together with a mixture that is poured over it. This looks spectacular and I’m looking around my kitchen now for what I’ve got in the way of fruit!

  4. Maranda says:

    Ummmm…yes! PInning now!

Talk To Me!

