Toasted Coconut Ice Cream


In our house there seems to be an addiction. The craving can strike at any hour although the night-time is the hardest. We have an intense need to consume copious amounts of ice cream. Like many addictions, there seems to be a genetic link. My mother (all 100 lbs of her) eats ice cream every night! Like my mother, I also eat it nearly every evening although I can’t seem to stay as skinny as she while doing so. But despite that, ice cream is by far my very favorite dessert. I don’t have any particular favorite flavor. I’m not biased. I love them all!

When Mike and I were dating, he was more of a cake/cupcake guy. Actually, if you read my last post you already know that he still is. At that time he definitely didn’t have the same affinity towards ice cream that I did. Well let’s fast forward a bit, shall we? I seem to have rubbed off on him over the years ’cause guess who’s on the couch beside me each night with a very large bowl of frozen dairy goodness in his hands? Not to mention HB and Maddy both won’t ever turn down a bowl of ice cream. Ice cream is just one of those simple pleasures in life and I’m never one to wave off an opportunity for happiness.

In the past I’ve made homemade ice cream before but I’ve always just done a quick version… milk, sugar, fruit or other various “add-in’s.” I’ve never made the rich, smooth, decadent ice cream that comes when you use a custard base. That is until now.

You see, I used to be nervous about anything custard based that required me to temper eggs. I envisioned this to be a very difficult task which would lead to basically ending up with scrambled eggs. Fortunately, through writing this blog I’ve expanded my horizons and learned how to accomplish many new skills that I didn’t have before. One of which is tempering eggs and making custards. My first time was for a vanilla pastry cream in a strawberry shortcake pie just a mere 3 months ago. After that I realized, it’s not at all difficult.

So, when it came time to make this ice cream I knew I wanted to step up my game a bit and create a truly enticing ice cream. That is exactly what happened. So on the heels of the vanilla bean-coconut cupcakes comes another coconut creation. Why two coconut creations in a row, you may ask? Because I had a lot of leftover coconut that I just can’t bear to let go to waste. Besides, what’s not to love about toasted coconut? Or any coconut for the matter. It’s truly one of my favorite flavors. Oh, and I’m in possession of vanilla beans which I had never used before the cupcakes so now I want any excuse to use them. They’re wonderful!

This ice cream has such a wonderful toasted, slightly nutty flavor to it that captures the unmistakable flavor of toasted coconut. Originally I wanted to put a ribbon of fudge running through this toasted coconut ice cream but when I tried it, it was just too sweet. I realized the ice cream was perfect in its simplicity. The flavor needs no further compliment. So temper some eggs, make some custard and churn this luscious ice cream. You won’t be sorry.

Enjoy!

~K

Toasted Coconut Ice Cream Very slightly adapted from The Perfect Scoop

Makes 1 Quart

1 c. dried shredded unsweetened coconut

1 c. whole milk

2 c. heavy cream

3/4 c. sugar

large pinch of salt

1 vanilla bean, split in half lengthwise

5 large egg yolks

– Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Spread the coconut on a baking sheet.

– Bake 8-10 minutes, stirring frequently until toasted evenly. Remove from oven when it’s golden brown.

– In a medium saucepan, warm the milk, 1 cup of heavy cream, sugar and salt.

– Add the toasted coconut. Use a paring knife and scrape all the vanilla seeds into the warm milk and then add the pods as well.

– Cover, remove from the heat and let it steep at room temperature for 1 hour.

– After an hour, rewarm the milk mixture. Set a mesh strainer over another medium saucepan and strain the liquid into the new saucepan. Press down on the coconut very firmly to extract as much flavor as possible. *Discard the coconut but don’t forget to rinse and save your vanilla beans! You can use them again.*

– Pour the remaining 1 cup of heavy cream into a large bowl and set the mesh strainer on top. In a separate bowl, whisk the egg yolks.

– Slowly pour the warm coconut-infused milk into the eggs one ladle-full at a time, whisking constantly. Once all the milk has been added, scrape the warmed egg yolk mixture back into the sauce pan.

– Stir the mixture constantly over medium heat until the mixture thickens and coats the back of a spoon.

– Pour the custard through the strainer and stir it into the cream.

– Now place the bowl over another bowl filled with ice and stir over ice bath until cool.

– Chill completely in the refrigerator then churn it in an ice cream maker according to the manufacturer’s instructions.

– Enjoy!

About FoodBabbles

I'm just a girl with a passion for good food. Especially the sweet side of life. I love to eat it, make it, read about it... if it has to do with food, it's for me. I'd like to share my food, writing and photos with you. Sometimes they come out great. Other times, well... there are some mishaps but I'll share those with you too. I'm only human! Either way, I enjoy it and hope you will too! So here are sugary, sweet culinary delights from my talented yet dangerously klutzy hands so obviously not bred to work with sharp knives and hot ovens.
This entry was posted in Desserts, Ice Cream and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Toasted Coconut Ice Cream

  1. Very interesting! My husband loves coconut so i am sure he will love this!

  2. This looks absolutely delicious! Thank you for sharing! I love coconut….

  3. briarrose says:

    Mmmm…delicious coconut ice cream. I would happily nom away at a bowl.

  4. Mmmm…coconut and fudge. You mean sort of like ‘Mounds’ ice cream? Oh my YUM!

  5. I love how you always show all the steps. I wish my kitchen had the lighting to support that. Coconut is one of my most favorite things, so this is definitely on the list! Looks delicious. 🙂

  6. Michelle says:

    Mmmmm. . . yummy! I had coconut ice cream for the first time last week! And I had frozen custard for the first time last week! I think for now, I’ll let you stick to making the ice cream and I’ll just eat it. It is sooo good homemade, though!

  7. Yum, this looks soooo good and I do love steeping anything in cream! Thanks for sharing…now I definitely need to get an ice cream maker! Winter Ice Creams, here I come!

  8. Maranda says:

    I SO need an ice cream maker!!! I love all things coconut as well. I have wanted to make a strawberry coconut ice cream for some time…but I don’t have a maker. That is on my list of kitchen items to get.

  9. Pingback: Tropical Trio Muffins ~ #MuffinMonday | FoodBabbles

Talk To Me!

