Blueberry Peach Cobbler


Just recently I was reading one of the many drool-inducing posts on one of my very favorite food blogs, Creative Culinary. Barbara had an overabundance of perfectly ripe peaches and plums. After deciding it unwise to consume half a dozen plums and 4 large peaches she decided to make a delectable Spiked Peach and Plum Crisp. I couldn’t think of a more perfect use for all that wonderful fruit.

In her post Barbara shares the difference between a crisp, a crumble and a cobbler. This led my thoughts specifically to cobbler. Growing up, we had a peach tree in our back yard at my dad’s house. I can recall two distinct memories regarding that peach tree, one bad and one good. First, I remember those peaches falling to the ground if you didn’t pick them off the tree in time and how the bees would be attracted to those wonderful peaches, as well as the grape vines which also grew in our back yard. Being deathly allergic (no exaggeration) to bees, wasps, yellow jackets, hornets and all things that sting, this often deterred me from playing in the general area.

The other memory I have of that peach tree was of course of all the fresh, juicy peaches ready for the picking. My brother and I, biting into peaches fresh off the tree, the juices dribbling down our chins. Then there was the peach cobbler that my father would make. There are many things that really stand out in my mind that my father cooked for us growing up and continues to make for us even now. Peach cobbler is one of those things that is forever burned into my summer memories. I can remember him baking it in a perfectly seasoned, big cast iron pot. I remember the smell of peaches and cinnamon wafting from the oven and filling our kitchen and I can practically taste the biscuit topping combined with warm fruit.

As I read Barb’s post those childhood peach cobbler memories came flooding back to me and I had a realization. I have never made cobbler! How could this be? I’ve made crisps and crumbles yet I’ve never made a cobbler in all my life. I needed to rectify this and so the other night I decided it was time. The wonderful thing about a cobbler is that it can be thrown together in just a few minutes. I think I spent a grand total of 10 minutes making this after dinner. I threw it into the oven as we digested and 20 minutes later we all had a warm, brown sugar-cinnamon-kissed blueberry peach cobbler as dessert and I had those warm childhood memories to go along with it.

Enjoy!

~K

Blueberry Peach Cobbler Adapted from Food Network

Cobbler Filling:

4 c. peeled and sliced fresh peaches

1 c. fresh blueberries

1 Tbsp fresh lemon juice

1 tsp lemon zest

3/4 c. brown sugar

1 tsp cinnamon

1 tsp vanilla

1 Tbsp flour

Cobbler Crust:

1 c. flour

1 tsp baking powder

1/2 tsp baking soda

3 Tbsp brown sugar

4 Tbsp unsalted butter, cut into small pieces

2/3 c. buttermilk

1 Tbsp brown sugar, for sprinkling on top

Vanilla Ice Cream

–  Preheat the oven to 425 degrees F.

– Generously butter a 2 quart baking dish. Place the sliced peaches and blueberries into the dish and sprinkle with lemon juice, lemon zest, brown sugar, cinnamon, vanilla, and flour. Mix gently and spread evenly again. Bake for 10 minutes.

– Meanwhile combine all dry ingredients for cobbler crust in a bowl. Cut in the butter with a pastry cutter or your fingers, to make the texture like coarse crumbs. Add the buttermilk and stir to form a soft dough.

– Remove fruit from oven and drop rounded spoonfuls of dough on top. Sprinkle with the last tablespoon of brown sugar and return to oven. Bake until fruit is bubbly and crust topping is golden brown, about 20-25 minutes. Serve warm with vanilla ice cream.

 

– Enjoy!

About FoodBabbles

I'm just a girl with a passion for good food. Especially the sweet side of life. I love to eat it, make it, read about it... if it has to do with food, it's for me. I'd like to share my food, writing and photos with you. Sometimes they come out great. Other times, well... there are some mishaps but I'll share those with you too. I'm only human! Either way, I enjoy it and hope you will too! So here are sugary, sweet culinary delights from my talented yet dangerously klutzy hands so obviously not bred to work with sharp knives and hot ovens.
This entry was posted in Desserts and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Blueberry Peach Cobbler

  1. You are too sweet my friend…and I only wish I had some of this sweet dish. But…I do have some peaches and nectarines and find myself in a typical predicament. I buy from Costco. Enough said?

    Think it must be a cobbler today!

  2. Rivki Locker says:

    Congrats on the foodgawker win! This looks lovely. Blueberry and Peach crisp is my favorite dish EVER. But I’ve never tried it as a cobbler. Bookmarking this to try soon.

  3. Maranda says:

    Can you send some of this over to me right now please????

Talk To Me!

