Granola Muffins ~ Muffin Monday


Happy Monday everyone! Hope you like muffins because from here on in I’ll be posting a new and interesting muffin recipe each Monday as part of Muffin Monday. This is a project by Anuradha of Baker Street. I don’t know how it took me this long to jump on board but after seeing several fellow bloggers participating I decided I needed to get in on the muffin love.

I definitely like granola because wherever you find it, it always adds such a pleasant nutty crunch. I love to sprinkle it in yogurt especially however, sometimes I just want to eat it by the handful. Other times I’ve been known to throw it on top of ice cream or frozen yogurt. This week Muffin Monday takes the healthy road with this moist granola muffin which is chock full of plump, golden raisins. It figures, I decide to start this endeavor just after decadence was the name of the game… last week was cheesecake muffins! I think perhaps in the future I’ll need to make those on my own. They sound absolutely fantastic!

These granola muffins were just the thing to fill us up at the start of the day. I did make a slight adaptation by adding a little cinnamon to mine.  Other than that, the recipe remains unchanged. This muffin is the perfect start to any morning.

Enjoy!

~K

Granola Muffins

Slightly adapted from a recipe by Martha Rose Shulman featured in the NY Times

1 cup granola

1/2 cup low-fat milk

1 cup golden raisins

1 cup whole wheat flour

2 teaspoons baking powder

1/2 teaspoon baking soda

1/2 teaspoon ground cinnamon

1/4 teaspoon salt

2 large eggs

1/4 cup orange blossom honey

1/2 cup buttermilk

1/4 cup canola oil

1 teaspoon vanilla extract

– Preheat the oven to 375ºF with a rack in the middle. Grease 12 muffin cups. 

– In a bowl combine the granola and milk in a bowl and let sit for 30 minutes.

– Meanwhile, cover the raisins with hot water and soak for 15 minutes. Drain and dry on paper towels.

– Sift together whole wheat flour, baking powder, baking soda, cinnamon and salt.

– In medium bowl, beat together the eggs, honey, buttermilk, canola oil and vanilla.

– Quickly whisk in the flour, then fold in the granola and raisins.

– Combine well.

– Spoon into muffin cups, filling each about 3/4 full.

– Bake 20 to 25 minutes, until lightly browned. Cool in the tins for 10 minutes, then unmold and cool on a rack.

– Enjoy!

Yield: 12 muffins

 Muffin Monday is an initiative by Baker Street. A culinary journey of sharing a wickedly delicious muffin recipe every week. Drop in a quick line to join her on her journey to make the world smile and beat glum Monday mornings week after week.
About FoodBabbles

I'm just a girl with a passion for good food. Especially the sweet side of life. I love to eat it, make it, read about it... if it has to do with food, it's for me. I'd like to share my food, writing and photos with you. Sometimes they come out great. Other times, well... there are some mishaps but I'll share those with you too. I'm only human! Either way, I enjoy it and hope you will too! So here are sugary, sweet culinary delights from my talented yet dangerously klutzy hands so obviously not bred to work with sharp knives and hot ovens.
This entry was posted in Muffin Monday, Muffins and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to Granola Muffins ~ Muffin Monday

  1. Baker Street says:

    YAY for Muffin Monday. Kate, I’m so glad you could join us this week. Your muffins look absolutely gorgeous!

  2. Yay! You joined Muffin Monday! Even though this week’s recipe isn’t as decadent as last week’s, I thought it was pretty darn good. Cinnamon seems like a great addition–nice job!

  3. Maya says:

    That touch of cinnamon sounds really good! This is my first week on Muffin Monday too, it was a fun week to join, with the healthy theme and all. Btw, I like your muffin liners!

  4. Yuri says:

    Welcome to Muffin Monday 😀 yours turned out so pretty, love the baking cups!

  5. These look super delicious! My husband adores granola, so I’m pretty sure these are going on the must-make list.

  6. Anita Menon says:

    My first time on Muffin monday and I am already hooked. I love your cinnamon-y version.

  7. Welcome to Muffin Mondays! I too missed out on the cream cheese delights (so bummed!) but these muffins were delicious.

  8. My goodness, your photos are amazing ! You really worked so hard to document every step of this delicious process ! Thanks for sharing. I’m sure the Muffins are fantastic!

  9. Welcome, so glad to see the Muffin Monday group growing every week! I love your step-by step photos and those liners are adorable. The cinnamon is a great addition I need to try.

  10. Pingback: Happy Chocolate Milkshake Day! | FoodBabbles

  11. Terra says:

    YAY!!! It was so fun to cook with you this week, your muffins look perfect! I love that everyone soaked there raisins, and granola. I just threw all mine in, LOL! Love and Hugs, Terra

Talk To Me!

