Happy Chocolate Milkshake Day!


Ok, well… I’m a few days late. National Chocolate Milkshake Day was actually Monday, September 12th however I had those scrumptious granola muffins to share with you for Muffin Monday so I figure now you’ve digested those and are ready for a new delicious creation.

What a fine holiday indeed. I’ve told you once before that there’s an American food holiday for nearly each and every single day of the year. Some are pretty strange like June 13th is Kitchen Klutzes of America Day. I definitely qualify for that! That day has “Kate” written all over it. Then there’s December 30th which is National Bicarbonate of Soda Day. Whoo hoo! Now, there’s something to really look forward to.

I’m choosing to celebrate chocolate milkshake day (albeit a little late) with fanfare because milkshakes have been one of my pregnancy cravings this time around. For me it’s been the simplicity of a vanilla milkshake mostly but chocolate has been making an appearance. Milkshakes in general have just really been hitting the spot lately.

Conveniently, I just happened to have everything I needed for my chocolate milkshake on hand here at home except for one thing. I wanted a chocolate cherry milkshake in the worst way. Sadly, cherry season is officially over and alas, I had no cherries in the house anyway. So none would grace my milkshake however I do think you should throw some into this decadent drink. It would be just oh so nice. Despite not having the addition of cherries, this milkshake was spectacular! Vanilla ice cream, dark chocolate syrup, a splash of milk and then just to take it to an extra special place I decided to add malted milk powder. Perfection!

So quick and easy to make right at home in mere minutes. This could definitely be a dangerous realization for the next few weeks until this baby is born. I already have visions of a peanut butter chocolate milkshake tomorrow. From there, I’m thinking cookies, fruit, sprinkles… the milkshake possibilities are absolutely endless. But for today, it’s all about celebrating the wonder that is the chocolate milkshake.

Enjoy!

~K

Chocolate Malted Milkshake

1 pint of vanilla ice cream

1/4 cup whole milk

1/4 cup dark chocolate syrup (I used Hershey’s Special Dark syrup)

2 tablespoons malted milk powder

– Add everything into a blender and mix until thick and smooth.

– Enjoy!

About FoodBabbles

I'm just a girl with a passion for good food. Especially the sweet side of life. I love to eat it, make it, read about it... if it has to do with food, it's for me. I'd like to share my food, writing and photos with you. Sometimes they come out great. Other times, well... there are some mishaps but I'll share those with you too. I'm only human! Either way, I enjoy it and hope you will too! So here are sugary, sweet culinary delights from my talented yet dangerously klutzy hands so obviously not bred to work with sharp knives and hot ovens.
This entry was posted in Desserts, Drinks and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Happy Chocolate Milkshake Day!

  1. Baker Street says:

    Happy Chocolate Milkshake day you too! This sounds sinfully delicious.

  2. Better late than never! YUM. I can’t remember when I last had a milkshake, but now I really need one. 🙂

  3. briarrose says:

    So yummy….I just realized I haven’t had a milkshake in forever. A belated celebration of the holiday is the perfect excuse. 😉

  4. Oh Yum! I’m going to have to celebrate this fabulous holiday late also! I love malt shakes! Thanks for sharing!

Talk To Me!

