Strawberry Kiwi Fruit Leather


Maddy has been on a “fruit roll-ups” kick lately. Not the actual name brand kind that I so vividly remember peeling away from a cellophane wrapper when I was a kid. No, Maddy’s been eating the Gerber toddler kind. I don’t feel too bad about her eating them in moderation although if she had her way she would eat the entire box of 5 in one sitting.

So the other day while at my in-laws house, my mother-in-law said “I can’t believe you haven’t tried making these from scratch yet.” That’s all it took… Guess what I did the very next day? And guess what else? This is SO easy! So easy in fact, that I doubt Gerber will be getting my money anymore… at least it won’t be spent on their fruit leather.

The other brilliant and wonderful thing about homemade fruit leather is you can make it with hardly any sugar! The particular recipe that I adapted my fruit leather from called for 3/4 of a cup of sugar. I did not even come close to using that much. The sweetness of the strawberries and kiwis was plenty sweet enough. I only used a few tablespoons and that was all it needed. You can use whatever fruit you like, just be sure you get nice ripe fruit and the natural sweetness will shine through. Fruit leather is a natural treat that requires very little extra sweetness.

Just ask Maddy! She seemed to love it despite the fact that it had barely any sugar at all.

Enjoy!

~K

Strawberry Kiwi Fruit Leather Adapted from Epicurious

4 1/2 cups fruit (I used both strawberries and kiwis)

1 Tablespoon lemon juice

Sugar to taste (I only used 3 Tablespoons)

– Dice up the fruit.

– Place the fruit in a saucepan with the lemon juice over medium-low heat. Simmer, stirring occasionally until the fruit is very soft.

– Purée fruit in a blender until smooth, then strain through a fine-mesh sieve into a large bowl.

– Preheat oven to the lowest setting, at least somewhere between 140-170°F with rack in middle.

– Line a large baking sheet with plastic wrap  a Silpat or other nonstick baking mat. *After comments from readers, this has been updated to reflect the use of a nonstick baking mat. Thanks so much! A Silpat works wonderfully for this project.

– Pour hot purée onto prepared pan and spread thinly (as evenly as possible) into a rectangle using an offset spatula.

– Dry purée in oven until it feels dry to the touch, about 6-8 hours.

– Cool in pan on a rack until completely dry, at least 3 hours and up to 24.

– Place a sheet of parchment paper over leather, then peel leather off liner and roll up in parchment.

– Store wrapped in plastic for up to one month.

– Enjoy!

About FoodBabbles

I'm just a girl with a passion for good food. Especially the sweet side of life. I love to eat it, make it, read about it... if it has to do with food, it's for me. I'd like to share my food, writing and photos with you. Sometimes they come out great. Other times, well... there are some mishaps but I'll share those with you too. I'm only human! Either way, I enjoy it and hope you will too! So here are sugary, sweet culinary delights from my talented yet dangerously klutzy hands so obviously not bred to work with sharp knives and hot ovens.
This entry was posted in Snacks and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

38 Responses to Strawberry Kiwi Fruit Leather

  1. junkyb says:

    Wow, you make it look so easy! I’m hoping I can keep this bookmarked…til I have kids, so I don’t make the mistake of going out and buying the store brand stuff! 🙂

  2. Kirsty says:

    these look amazing .. and so much healthier than the store bought ones full of sugar! Just a quick question, do you only cook the fruit in with the lemon juice .. no water? Thanks for the great recipe, will definately give these a go 😉

    • FoodBabbles says:

      Hi Kristy! I have seen recipes that call for water. I personally didn’t use it but if you do choose to add water the measurement seems to be 1/2 a cup of water for every 4 cups of fruit that you use. You’ll essentially be stewing the fruit and that will help maintain its color. These really are so yummy!

  3. Pingback: Top 11 of 2011… A Look Back As We Move Forward | FoodBabbles

  4. Courtney says:

    Ok, all I can keep questioning is: Plastic wrap? PLASTIC wrap? Are you suuuurrreee? It’s not gonna melt on me??????

    • FoodBabbles says:

      Ha!! Yes, I know… seems a little crazy but yes, plastic wrap 🙂 It won’t melt in the oven because you’re going to have it at such a super low temperature. You’re just dehydrating the fruit. I used Glad Press & Seal since that’s what I had in the house. Not gonna melt 😉

      • Dan says:

        I was just going to comment on the plastic wrap when I saw this. I’m not familiar with Glad press & seal, but is it thicker than regular plastic wrap? From the picture it definitely looks like it. I’d hate to do this with the stuff I have on hand and have it ruined.

      • FoodBabbles says:

        I think maybe it’s a little “tougher” than regular plastic wrap. I recently tried using a Silpat non-stick baking liner and that worked beautifully. Another reader expressed concerns about BPA which I hadn’t considered so I’ll be updating the recipe to reflect that change. So use whichever you like.

  5. sophistimom says:

    Ooh, this looks so good. I made mango lime fruit leather not too long ago, but I never thought of making strawberry kiwi. Thank you for this recipe!

  6. Jasmin says:

    This looks amazing but being a picky mom myself I just wanted to point out that plastic wrap is usually full of BPA. Even at a low heat it’s probably leaching into the fruit, especially since fruit acid helps this process. Try parchment paper or some other alternative, maybe a silicon mat? Even non-BPA plastics have chemicals that I wouldn’t necessarily want to eat or feed my kid.

    • FoodBabbles says:

      Thank you so much for your comment, Jasmin. That’s something that never even occurred to me!! You bring up a great point. Thank you so much. I’ll definitely have to try utilizing something else under the fruit in the future.

  7. I have never tried making fruit leather, but you make it look so delicious! I may have my daughter help me with this one!

  8. Pingback: Recipes | Pearltrees

  9. Pingback: Strawberry Kiwi Fruit Leather | FoodBabbles « Weekends Alone

  10. Pingback: Food | Pearltrees

  11. Pingback: Recipes | Pearltrees

  12. Pingback: food | Pearltrees

  13. Pingback: Dessert | Pearltrees

  14. Anna says:

    That is so cool! I would never have imagined a fruity food item to look anything like that, and it seems really fun to make as well. So trying this over the weekend!

  15. Pingback: Quick Recap & Chicken Fajitas | The Simplicity of Wellness

  16. Pingback: Recipes | Pearltrees

  17. Christian says:

    This sounds really yummy and I can’t wait to show it to my sister who is a new mommy. The only thing is what temp do you set the oven to when you place it in to dry?

    • FoodBabbles says:

      Hi Christian! Thanks for your comment 🙂 As for the oven temp, you’ll put your oven on the lowest temp which for most ovens is usually between 140-170 degrees. Hope that helps and hope your sister enjoys this!

      • Liz says:

        That temp is for cooking it isn’t it? Am I mistaken or do you turn the oven off and let it sit for 3+ hours after letting it cook for 6-8?

      • Liz says:

        Oh, I see now. You don’t really cook it, you let it dry 140-170 degrees, then you simply let it cool.

      • FoodBabbles says:

        Yep! You got it! You’re basically dehydrating the fruit by placing it in the low heat oven. Enjoy!

  18. hookedontaste says:

    This is awesome. I’ve never thought of making my own fruit roll up Thanks for posting.

  19. Amber | Bluebonnets & Brownies says:

    Maddy is just the cutest! Love the strawberry kiwi combo, Kate!

  20. elizabeth says:

    Love this post! Waiting for my strawberry kiwi and mango peach to get done in the next half hour or so. Thanks! 🙂

  21. Liz says:

    I’m so glad I saw this. I buy the more expensive, close to a dollar a piece, fruit leathers that you can find in organic stores. They are so good, but so expensive that I really need to start making them myself. Not to mention that even those ones have more sugar than needed.

    • FoodBabbles says:

      I agree! I used to buy them at the store as well but I didn’t feel great about it because of the high sugar content. I like these because depending on your fruit, you really need very little sugar. I hope you like them too!

Talk To Me!

