Apple Picking at Terhune Orchards


Autumn is my very favorite season. Now, it certainly hasn’t arrived yet however with the arrival of apple season that means that Autumn is so very close behind. I don’t want to rush things though. As much as I enjoy the crisp of Fall, I don’t want to rush too fast getting there because I truly do enjoy the transition that takes us there. I adore the changing of the leaves, the temperature that slowly but surely starts to get a little cooler. I love when I need a light sweater outside. Oh, and how I do love apples.

But would you believe that I’ve never been apple picking? I don’t know how I’ve never gone. Turns out Mike had never gone before either. So that settled it… We packed up the girls and off we went. I envisioned the perfect family outing as we would leisurely stroll the orchard carefully picking only the most ripe, juicy apples. This is mostly what happened…

I hadn’t planned on the incredible number of bees. Sure, there’s going to be fruit on the ground so I figured there would be bees. But these were aggressive, pursuant bees! These bees were relentless which made for a less than perfect morning, especially when you’re deathly allergic to all things that sting, like me. Despite the bees we made the best of it and still had a very nice and enjoyable apple picking experience.

We decided to visit Terhune Orchards in Princeton, NJ.

They have several “pick your own” orchards. The orchard we visited had so many wonderful varieties of apples ripe for the picking. We picked Gala, Jonamac, Early Fuji, Jonathan and my personal favorite, McIntosh. We left with a lot of hefty paper bags filled with all the varieties.

Next, we headed over to the main part of Terhune Orchards. There you will find a little petting zoo with sheep, goats and horses.

You’ll also find a winery complete with tastings as well as a shop with fresh vegetables, fruits, honey, pies, cider and so many other amazing, fresh products!

Later in the season, Terhune Orchards has pumpkin picking also as well as live music and a corn maze. This is the perfect place for a great family outing! I’ll definitely be going back… after the bees are gone, of course.

Enjoy!

~K

About FoodBabbles

I'm just a girl with a passion for good food. Especially the sweet side of life. I love to eat it, make it, read about it... if it has to do with food, it's for me. I'd like to share my food, writing and photos with you. Sometimes they come out great. Other times, well... there are some mishaps but I'll share those with you too. I'm only human! Either way, I enjoy it and hope you will too! So here are sugary, sweet culinary delights from my talented yet dangerously klutzy hands so obviously not bred to work with sharp knives and hot ovens.
This entry was posted in Everything Else! and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Apple Picking at Terhune Orchards

  1. Nice! We went apple picking for the first time last year and enjoyed it. I’m really hoping to get out there this year. Sans the bees. Glad you escaped unscathed!

  2. Pingback: Mulled Apple Cider | FoodBabbles

Talk To Me!

