Mulled Apple Cider


After our family outing to Terhune Orchards I obviously had an abundance of apples. So the question became, what to do with all these glorious apples? Maddy’s favorite fruit at the moment happens to be apples so there was no doubt that she would make a sizeable dent in our supply. But even with Maddy munching away on several a day, we still had a lot left!

I decided I wanted to make homemade apple cider and then I also wanted to mull the cider. I love apple cider, especially once its been mulled with all those glorious spices. Mulling cider seems to add such a warmth to the already wonderful taste of fresh cider. But I’ve never made cider myself or mulled cider myself. I came to find this is a wonderfully simple process! Although cutting and pressing 20 apples is somewhat time-consuming but that yields you about a half-gallon of cider.

Well worth the effort in my book! The sweet and tart flavor of apples combined with cinnamon, nutmeg, ginger, cloves… There’s nothing quite like fresh mulled cider to let you know that Autumn is finally here. Now, I certainly drank my fair share of this lightly spiced cider however, I had another purpose in mind… and that is a post for another time. Soon!

Enjoy!

~K

Mulled Apple Cider

*Makes about 1/2 gallon

20 apples (or 1/2 gallon of store-bought cider)

2 cinnamon sticks

1 whole nutmeg

1/2 Tablespoon crystallized ginger

6 whole cloves or 2 dashes of ground cloves

Long strip of orange peel

Long strip of lemon peel

– Wash all the apples. Core and quarter the apples. No need to peel them.

– Puree the apples in a food processor or blender until finely pureed.

– Line a fine mesh sieve with cheesecloth.

– Pour the apple puree into the cheesecloth-lined sieve and press as much juice out of the apples as possible. Discard solids. Repeat until all the apple puree has been pressed.

– Put freshly pressed cider into a large saucepan. Set aside.

– Place cinnamon, whole nutmeg and whole cloves in a plastic bag. Gently crush the whole spices a bit with a heavy pan.

– Cut two pieces of cheesecloth big enough to contain your spices. Lay them on top of one another.

– Place all the spices and citrus peels in the center of the cheesecloth.

– Tie the spices in the cheesecloth with string.

– Add spice bag to the saucepan with the freshly pressed cider.

– Bring apple cider to a boil. Reduce and simmer on low heat for 30 minutes. Discard the spice bag.

– Allow the cider to cool. Place in an airtight pitcher. The cider will keep refrigerated for 7 days.

– Enjoy!

About FoodBabbles

I'm just a girl with a passion for good food. Especially the sweet side of life. I love to eat it, make it, read about it... if it has to do with food, it's for me. I'd like to share my food, writing and photos with you. Sometimes they come out great. Other times, well... there are some mishaps but I'll share those with you too. I'm only human! Either way, I enjoy it and hope you will too! So here are sugary, sweet culinary delights from my talented yet dangerously klutzy hands so obviously not bred to work with sharp knives and hot ovens.
This entry was posted in Drinks and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Mulled Apple Cider

  1. Oh I can smell it! Thank you for the recipe!

  2. I love the aroma of mulled apple cider; so much so that over the holidays I will keep a small crockpot full just to aromacize my home (look it up…of course it’s a word, or OK, maybe not).

    Now for the drinking version I might have to add a bit of adult beverage, some Captain Morgan’s rum to be exact!

    Barb

  3. You pressed the apples for the cider? You are a Superwoman! I’m so impressed! I need some mulled apple cider in my life. Mmmm!

  4. Jasmine says:

    If only I knew where to buy cheesecloth, haha. I think I’ll try using one of those paper bags meant for loose-leaf teas. Thanks for posting!

Talk To Me!

