Apple & Pear Pie with Gruyere Crust and Pie Party Potluck LIVE!


This past weekend food bloggers, food writers, chefs, bakers, restauranteurs and pie enthusiasts alike gathered at Rodeo Bar in NYC to indulge in copious amounts of pie. Ken of Hungry Rabbit NYC and Jackie The Diva That Ate New York were our planners and gracious hosts.

Over the course of over 3 hours there were both sweet and savory pies as far as the eye could see. The wave of pie arrivals just never stopped! Each time we turned around a new and interesting pie had made its appearance and we all bellied up to have a bite.

At last count there were over 70 luscious, scrumptious pies in attendance. Believe it or not, I think I sampled almost all of them. I traveled to Pie Party with Lisa of Jersey Girl Cooks.

Upon our arrival, we caught a glimpse of the first arrivals and quickly realized we needed to formulate a plan of attack. There were too many things to taste and we wanted them all. Without a plan, surely we would fail at that mission.

Lisa and I decided we were going to attack sample the savory pies first. The first pie I tried was Fidget Pie that was made by Brian Yarvin. Having never had fidget pie before, I didn’t know what to expect. Those first bites of buttery, flakey crust that held bacon, apples and onions were heavenly! I was hooked. If it weren’t for the gigantic row of pies before me, I would have kept eating that for sure.  Ken made an Apple Onion Galette that was outrageously delicious while Jackie knocked my socks off with a Jarlsberg, Tomato and Onion Pie.

Another one of my favorites were the empanadas that were in attendance. There were both Chilean Beef Empanadas by Lillian of Sweets By Sillianah and Coconut Caramel Pulled Pork Empanadas made by Margaret of Savory Sweet Living. I wish there had been leftovers of both of those! Incredible. These are just to name a very few… There were so many other amazing savory creations!

From savory we moved onto sweet pies. Lisa made Itty Bitty Concord Grape pies that were devoured by everyone… they were bite-size wonders!

My contribution was an Apple & Pear Pie with Gruyere Crust.  Chef Mark Tafoya made an absolutely mouth-watering Pear Cranberry and Maple Pie.

While Abby Dodge made Apple Butter Pop-Tarts that were another one of those things that I just couldn’t get enough of. Then there were tarts and galettes and all sorts of other pies… anything your mind can imagine, it was probably at this pie party. It was all really pretty incredible.

Then as if all that glorious pie weren’t enough, the fabulous staff at Rodeo Bar brought out some of their food for us to sample. Wow! What a menu! The Rodeo Bar has a tex-mex cuisine that I’ll be sure to come back and really dive into when I’m not stuffed on pie.

Such a simple thing like mac and cheese was just drool-inducing, not to mention their specialty Cowboy Kisses. A jalapeno split in half, stuffed with a whole shrimp and then they wrap it all in bacon!! These were SO good! The staff at rodeo bar was first class. So friendly and accommodating. In addition to Ken and Jackie, they truly made our event such a success with their amazing service and hospitality.

We also had incredible door prizes handed out to some very lucky winners! Abby Dodge, Wiley, Chef Mark Tafoya and Jennifer Iannolo, Pam Anderson and Brian Yarvin all donated several cookbooks chock full of some incredible recipes. Kitchen-Aid hooked us up with a 13-Cup food processor with the first externally adjustable blade! While Cuisinart was kind enough to give away a convection toaster oven. It helped us heat up our pies and gave one lucky winner a big smile at the end of the day. One person got an entire month of free berries from Driscoll while another got a chest full of Bigelow Teas! Did I mention there were two gigantic baskets from Jarlsberg cheeses with all sorts of goodies as well as from Scharffen Berger Chocolates? Oh yes, the door prizes were absolutely incredible. We had such amazing sponsors for this event and we couldn’t be more thankful to them for being a part of the pie festivities.

In fact, I was lucky enough to leave the pie party with a wedge of Jarlsberg in hand and I can’t wait to use it. I’ve got my thinking cap on to come up with something very special for my Jarlsberg cheese. It was quite a day. I probably gained 10 pounds and I don’t think I can blame it on the pregnancy when my doctor wonders why the scale jumped up to such a high number so quickly. But it was all worth it. It was an incredible day of eating fantastic food, reconnecting with people and meeting new ones. I’m hoping Jackie and Ken will make this an annual event!

~K

Apple & Pear Pie with Gruyere Crust by Tip Toes in the Kitchen 

I found this incredible recipe on the blog Tip Toes in the Kitchen. I made no adjustments to her already perfect recipe so click above to check it out!

About FoodBabbles

I'm just a girl with a passion for good food. Especially the sweet side of life. I love to eat it, make it, read about it... if it has to do with food, it's for me. I'd like to share my food, writing and photos with you. Sometimes they come out great. Other times, well... there are some mishaps but I'll share those with you too. I'm only human! Either way, I enjoy it and hope you will too! So here are sugary, sweet culinary delights from my talented yet dangerously klutzy hands so obviously not bred to work with sharp knives and hot ovens.
This entry was posted in Everything Else!, Pie and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to Apple & Pear Pie with Gruyere Crust and Pie Party Potluck LIVE!

  1. Yum, yum, yum!!!! What an event that I missed! And that pie you made–it looks like something that was not to be missed!

  2. KP says:

    OMY! I would have driven to NYC from ATL for that fab looking pie party! WOW!
    Someone needs to organize one of those down here!!!
    Glad you had an incredible time!

  3. georgiecakes says:

    Kate, your pie was incredibly tasty! I wish I could have taken pie home with me that day, but my day or travel in the city wouldn’t allow for it. I love your post you covered everything perfectly and eloquently – such wonderful kind words for everyone! Hope to see you soon!

  4. Pingback: Jarlsberg Rosemary Breadsticks | FoodBabbles

  5. Hey Kate,

    Thanks so much for the nod – I’m so flattered that you made my pie and that you enjoyed it! Thank you for your kind words! I’m jealous about that pie party, it looks like it was a lot of fun : )

  6. Pingback: Hungry Rabbit – Bittersweet Chocolate Dulce de Leche Tart w Sea Salt

  7. sara says:

    Oh my gosh, all those pies look amazing!!!! Making me very hungry. 🙂

  8. Kate What a gorgy gorgeous pie and really a wonderful post about Pie Party Potluck LIVE!!! What a day we all had — so much fun. Even though I feel like I sorta know you from Twitter, I’d only met you so briefly at the Dori Greenspan event so it was great to get to see you early at Pie Party even if it was only brief.
    I wish I’d tasted your pie. And Brian’s Fidget Pie (loved the name — never even saw the pie). And so many more! You made it come back alive for me in this post! Now I’m hungry and looking forward to the next event. I will definitely have more of a game plan to EAT MORE PIE!!!

    XXXOOOJAX

    • FoodBabbles says:

      Thanks so much Jackie! Pie Party Potluck LIVE really was such a blast!! Looking forward to the next event and hopefully another pie party in the future. You and Ken did a fabulous job organizing the event and truly making it the success it was. Thanks!!!

  9. Pingback: Jarlsberg Rosemary Breadsticks from Kate at Food Babbles « Jarlsberg USA: The Blog

  10. Pingback: Bite Size Bacon, Mushroom & Gruyere Quiche and A Giveaway! | FoodBabbles

Talk To Me!

