Jarlsberg Rosemary Breadsticks


As you may recall reading, I was a glutton this past weekend and stuffed myself full of more than 70 different types of savory and sweet pies at Pie Party Potluck LIVE! What a time we had thanks to all the talented attendees that each brought at least one (if not more) pies to the event, as well as our generous sponsors who made the entire thing possible and provided some amazing door prizes for all of us.

One of those sponsors was Jarlsberg cheese. Not only did they provide an incredible gift basket full of Jarlsberg goodies to one lucky attendee but they also gave Jackie, one of our hosts, some additional cheese to give to four other people. I was lucky enough to be on the receiving end of the Jarlsberg generosity. Being a huge fan of Jarlsberg cheese already, I was absolutely thrilled!

Almost immediately, even through my pie coma, my wheels started turning with ideas of what I could make with my Jarlsberg. Jarlsberg is a semi-firm cheese that is mild, buttery, nutty, and even slightly sweet. It has such a wonderful flavor that makes this cheese very versatile. It’s perfect in fondues, in quiches, on sandwiches or just for snacking as it is. It’s often marketed as a Swiss cheese but it has a nuttier, stronger flavor than traditional Swiss cheeses.

For my Jarlsberg I decided I wanted to make some sort of bread. I decided that cheesy breadsticks were to be its destiny. I combined shredded Jarlsberg with fragrant fresh rosemary. Next, I made some dough, cut it into strips, dipped them in the Jarlsberg rosemary mixture and then baked them up. They were slightly crisp outside and soft inside which makes them the perfect accompaniment to any dinner. The nuttiness of the cheese combined with the hint of rosemary on these breadsticks was so delicious!

These are easy to make but not necessarily the quickest thing if you make your own dough. In a pinch you could also buy refrigerated breadstick dough which would make this recipe come together in mere minutes! Either way, you’re going to love these Jarlsberg rosemary breadsticks.

Enjoy!

~K

Jarlsbery Rosemary Breadsticks 

1 teaspoon active dry yeast

1/2 Tablespoon of sugar

3/4 cup of warm water

2 cups all-purpose flour

3/4 teaspoon of salt

1/8 cup olive oil

1/2 cup Jarlsberg, shredded

1 teaspoon fresh rosemary, finely chopped

olive oil, for brushing breadsticks

salt for sprinkling

– In a medium bowl, dissolve the yeast and sugar in the warm water. Allow it to sit for 5-10 minutes until bubbly.

– In a large bowl, combine the flour and salt. Add the yeast mixture and oil. Mix with a wooden spoon until combined. Then use your hands to combine until it comes together in a ball.

– Lightly flour a work surface.  Turn the dough out onto the floured surface and knead for about 10 minutes. Place the dough in a lightly oiled, large bowl and cover with a light dish towel and let it rise in a warm place until it has doubled in size (about an hour.)

– When the dough is almost done rising, combine the Jarlsberg and fresh rosemary in a food processor. Pulse a few times until coarsely chopped.

– Preheat the oven to 350 degrees. Line a cookie sheet with parchment paper.

– Once the dough has doubled in size, punch it down a bit and remove it from the bowl. Lightly flour a work space and using your hands, press the dough into a rectangle.

– Cut the dough into 1 inch strips.

– Brush each strip lightly with olive oil. Dip the oiled side into the Jarlsberg and rosemary. Twist the breadstick slightly and lay on prepared cookie sheet. Sprinkle with a little salt.

– Bake breadsticks at 350 degrees for 13-15 minutes or until lightly golden.

– Enjoy!

*Disclosure: I was given a wedge of Jarlsberg at no cost to me. However, the opinions expressed here are my own.*

About FoodBabbles

I'm just a girl with a passion for good food. Especially the sweet side of life. I love to eat it, make it, read about it... if it has to do with food, it's for me. I'd like to share my food, writing and photos with you. Sometimes they come out great. Other times, well... there are some mishaps but I'll share those with you too. I'm only human! Either way, I enjoy it and hope you will too! So here are sugary, sweet culinary delights from my talented yet dangerously klutzy hands so obviously not bred to work with sharp knives and hot ovens.
This entry was posted in Breads and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Jarlsberg Rosemary Breadsticks

  1. jarlsbergusa says:

    Hi Kate,

    What a wonderful and delicious use for your Jarlsberg! Your photos are gorgeous; I can almost taste the crispy, cheesy crust, and the soft, chewy interior. I will be trying these soon, with some rosemary from my garden.

    Thanks for sharing the recipe!

    Best,
    Casey Benedict
    on behalf of Jarlsberg USA

  2. These look delcious! Great idea!

  3. Beautiful! I love the twist in the sticks!

  4. Natalie says:

    Yummy breadsticks are so good, love the rosemary flavor.

  5. Pingback: Jarlsberg Cheddar Macaroni & Cheese + 1 Other ~ A SideCar Event at Kitchen Play | FoodBabbles

Talk To Me!

