Apple Pumpkin Sour Cream Coffee Cake for #BakeTogether


This month for #BakeTogether, Abby decided to have us make a sour cream coffee cake. When I heard this, I was psyched. It’s such a classic cake yet somehow, over the years I’ve actually never made one. In fact, I’m not sure I’ve ever really even had a homemade coffee cake. Sure, I’ve had the Entenmann’s kind from the grocery store and liked it just fine or a coffee cake from the local bakery is always a special treat but I don’t think I’ve ever had one that someone just baked.

I decided to sprinkle a little Fall into my cake. I added both pumpkin puree and apples as well as a few other spices to give it that Autumn warmth I’m so very fond of. Then I decided I would bake it in a bundt pan. When it was all done baking I thought I would take it one step further. The finishing touch is an apple cider glaze. Once it was cooled I couldn’t wait to sample it. It was moist, perfectly spiced and those apples hidden in the middle were just a nice little extra. This cake is the perfect Autumn dessert or breakfast treat.

Enjoy!

~K

Apple Pumpkin Sour Cream Coffee Cake with Apple Cider Glaze

Adapted from Abby Dodge

Streusel:

2/3 cup firmly packed dark brown sugar

3/4 cup all-purpose flour

1 1/2 teaspoons ground cinnamon

4 Tablespoons unsalted butter, melted and cooled

For the Cake:

2 cups all-purpose flour

1 1/4 teaspoon baking soda

1 teaspoon ground cinnamon

3/4 teaspoon freshly grated nutmeg

1/2 teaspoon salt

1/8 teaspoon ground cloves

1/4 teaspoon all-spice

8 Tablespoons unsalted butter, softened

1 1/4 cups firmly packed light brown sugar

1 teaspoon pure vanilla extract

2 large eggs, at room temperature

1/2 cup sour cream, at room temperature

1 cup pumpkin puree

1 cup peeled and diced apples

For Glaze:

2 cups powdered sugar

1/8 teaspoon salt

1/3 c. apple cider

– In a small bowl, combine the brown sugar, flour and cinnamon. Drizzle over the melted butter and using a fork or your fingers, mix the ingredients until well blended and small crumbs form. Place in the refrigerator while you make the cake batter.

– Position an oven rack in the center of the oven. Heat the oven to 350 degrees. Lightly grease and flour the inside of a bundt pan.

– In a medium bowl, combine the flour, baking soda, cinnamon, nutmeg, salt, cloves and all-spice. Whisk until well blended.

– In a large bowl, beat the butter, sugar and vanilla with an electric mixer fitted with a paddle attachment on medium speed until well blended, about 3 minutes.

– Add the eggs, one at a time, beating well after each addition.

– Add half the flour mixture and mix on low just until blended.

– Add the sour cream and pumpkin puree and continue mixing just until blended.

– Using a rubber spatula, fold in the remaining flour mixture.

– Scrape half the batter into the bundt pan and spread evenly. Evenly scatter 1/2 the streusel mixture over the batter then scatter the apples over the streusel. Sprinkle with remaining streusel mixture.

– Spoon the remaining batter evenly over the streusel and apples.

– Bake until the top is browned and a tester inserted in the center comes out clean, about 1 hour 15 minutes.

– Cool in the pan on a wire rack until warm then invert and allow to finish cooling on the wire rack.

– Once cooled, combine powdered sugar and salt. Add the cider and stir to combine. Drizzle evenly over cake allowing it to run down the sides. Serve once glaze has set.

– Enjoy!

About FoodBabbles

I'm just a girl with a passion for good food. Especially the sweet side of life. I love to eat it, make it, read about it... if it has to do with food, it's for me. I'd like to share my food, writing and photos with you. Sometimes they come out great. Other times, well... there are some mishaps but I'll share those with you too. I'm only human! Either way, I enjoy it and hope you will too! So here are sugary, sweet culinary delights from my talented yet dangerously klutzy hands so obviously not bred to work with sharp knives and hot ovens.
This entry was posted in #BakeTogether, Cake and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Apple Pumpkin Sour Cream Coffee Cake for #BakeTogether

  1. Pumpkin, apple, and a cider glaze? It’s the Fall trifecta in one cake! 🙂 Looks delicious!

  2. Gorgeous, Kate! Between all the pumpkin and apple flavours, love how your coffee cake is totally infused with autumn! Apple cider glaze is so creative. Would love to try that some time. Happy to be baking with you again 🙂

  3. Lovely. I really enjoy apples and pumpkin together! Must get to work on my version.

  4. I just made mine yesterday and am late with a post but there might be apples too…just seemed perfect didn’t it?

    This sound wonderful too Kate; a great combination of ingredients.

  5. georgiecakes says:

    Your cake looks beautiful! Some pretty incredible and wonderful recipe have spured off from this. Yours is a keeper!

  6. Pingback: R’October Coffee Cake ~ YOUR way

  7. Pingback: Top 11 of 2011… A Look Back As We Move Forward | FoodBabbles

Talk To Me!

