Our Sweet Transition…


With only about a week until my due date, the reality of just how insane my life is about to get is starting to hit me a bit. I’ve had it easy up until now. HB is nearly 14 and is such a help with Maddy. Their 12 year age gap is unfortunate because I would have liked for HB to have the experience of having a sibling close in age.

My brother Matt and I are 2 1/2 years apart, having always shared an incredible bond and closeness. However, also having a 10 year age difference between my own sister and I, (as well as a 12 year gap between myself and my two youngest brothers) I know that at some point your ages become just a number.

As we grew up Erin and I had different stages of our relationship. Once I was very much her caretaker and my mother’s “right hand man.” Then I moved from North Carolina to New Jersey when Erin was 8 making it incredibly difficult to have much of a relationship at all except during the 3 or 4 times a year when I would come home to visit. Flash forward 16 years later, both grown. Now we are friends, confidants sharing with one another the trials and tribulations that life throws our way. Despite the different stages that our lives are in even now, we still manage to be able to truly relate to one another as I know that one day HB and Maddy will also.

In about a week or so, I will go from being a mother of two daughters in totally different stages of their lives, to being the mother of three children with two of them under the age of two, at least for several weeks until Maddy reaches her second birthday. This should be interesting for sure! But I’m as excited as I am nervous and I cannot wait to meet this new child. I can’t wait to find out if it’s a boy or a girl. Will it also be the spitting image of Mike, just like Maddy is? Or will this one take on my darker features? All these questions are about to be answered in just a short time and I am so ready!

As you can imagine, I’m about to have my hands very full as our family makes this transition. We’ll be sleep-deprived, cranky and overjoyed all at once. During this transitional period I’m sure I won’t find myself in the kitchen beyond making meals to sustain us during the insanity. So you will be seeing some guest posts in addition to some posts by me. I’ve chosen four ladies who I know you will enjoy reading. They all are incredibly talented writers and cooks.

The first of these four wonderfully talented bloggers is Barb of Creative Culinary. I’ve mentioned her in numerous #baketogether posts and she’s also one of the masterminds behind #goaterie which I participated in. You’ll also be hearing from Carrie of Poet in the Pantry. You all should be very familiar with her these days since over the last few months she and I have been tackling our mutual list of new culinary projects that we wanted to try in our #FirstontheFirst posts. Next, you have Wendy of La Phemme Phoodie. She’s a Jersey girl like me and has become a friend of mine through the world of food blogging. Last but certainly not least we have another Jersey girl, Lisa of Jersey Girl Cooks. You may remember I did a guest post for her a few months ago and she so kindly agreed to make a guest appearance here as well.

These lovely ladies will be making sure you have excellent content to read while our family adjusts to the arrival of our new baby and I will be back in action just as soon as I can. I’ll be baking with a baby in my arms and a toddler hugging at my legs in no time. In the meantime, enjoy the wonderful words and food that I know these lovely women will be bringing to you.

~K

About FoodBabbles

I'm just a girl with a passion for good food. Especially the sweet side of life. I love to eat it, make it, read about it... if it has to do with food, it's for me. I'd like to share my food, writing and photos with you. Sometimes they come out great. Other times, well... there are some mishaps but I'll share those with you too. I'm only human! Either way, I enjoy it and hope you will too! So here are sugary, sweet culinary delights from my talented yet dangerously klutzy hands so obviously not bred to work with sharp knives and hot ovens.
This entry was posted in Everything Else!. Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Our Sweet Transition…

  1. Gail H. says:

    I’m new to your blog and I just loved this post…probably because I’m 12 1/2 years older than my sister 🙂

  2. Lucky Husband says:

    I love this post and I love the life we build each and every day. You’re amazing and in turn you make the life of our family amazing!

  3. I can’t wait for you to have that baby too! If you need some dinners, or another guest post, just give me a shout, okay hun?

    • FoodBabbles says:

      Thank you so much Amber!! You are wonderful! I would be absolutely honored if you would do a guest post for me. I love your blog and I’m sure my readers would love a post from you as well.

  4. How exciting!!! Any day now! My youngest brother is 12 years junior, but I have 2 other siblings in between (we’re all 4 years apart from each other and I’m the eldest). It’s a different kind of experience with that much time in between, but no better or worse. Your girls are going to have a great time with the new addition to the family regardless! Best wishes! 🙂

  5. You have responded so sweetly to everyone but ‘Lucky Husband.’ Is it because you are even more verklempt than I am right now just reading that sweet, sweet comment?

    I’m delighted to help, honored even that you would ask and have really enjoyed getting to know you Kate…wishing you all the very best; can’t wait to hear about the new babe!

Talk To Me!

