Cinnamon-Cider Candied Apples & Caramel-Cider Dipped Apples


I recently came across a recipe for Cinnamon-Cider Candied Apples in Cooking Light Magazine. I was definitely game for trying that. The idea of mixing cider with a little bit of heat appealed to me so I decided to give it a go, having never made candied apples before. This project was beyond easy! Although, a little messy. After making these cinnamon-cider candied apples I decided I also wanted to try my hand at caramel apples and keeping with what appears to be a theme in many of my posts lately, I decided to add some cider to the caramel for a twist.

Both of these candied apple variations came out wonderfully! One a little hot and spicy while the other was just sweet goodness. Both very easy to make at home instead of buying the ones you see everywhere these days.

Enjoy!

~K

Caramel-Cider Dipped Apples Adapted from Cooking Light

*Makes 16 small apples

16 wooden craft sticks

16 small apples, washed and chilled

2 cups sugar

1/2 cup light corn syrup

1/2 cup apple cider

2 cups half and half

2 teaspoons vanilla extract

1/4 teaspoon salt

–  Push wooden sticks into the top of chilled apples. Return apples to the refrigerator until caramel is ready for dipping.

– Place sugar, corn syrup, and cider in a large saucepan; boil, stirring until dissolved. Boil, without stirring, 9 minutes or until light golden.

– Combine half-and-half, vanilla, and salt; slowly stir into pan. Boil until candy thermometer reaches 235° (45 minutes), stirring frequently.

– Pour caramel into a bowl sitting in a hot water bath. Swirl apples in caramel, and place on baking sheet lined with wax paper.

– Enjoy!

Cinnamon-Cider Candied Apples From Cooking Light

I made no variations to the Cinnamon-Cider Candied Apples recipe so click above for the recipe.

– Enjoy!

About FoodBabbles

I'm just a girl with a passion for good food. Especially the sweet side of life. I love to eat it, make it, read about it... if it has to do with food, it's for me. I'd like to share my food, writing and photos with you. Sometimes they come out great. Other times, well... there are some mishaps but I'll share those with you too. I'm only human! Either way, I enjoy it and hope you will too! So here are sugary, sweet culinary delights from my talented yet dangerously klutzy hands so obviously not bred to work with sharp knives and hot ovens.
This entry was posted in Candy, Desserts and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Cinnamon-Cider Candied Apples & Caramel-Cider Dipped Apples

  1. skr says:

    Really pretty photo & great looking apples :]

Talk To Me!

