Pumpkin Pie with Pecan Streusel Topping ~ Guest Post by Wendy of La Phemme Phoodie


Today we have a guest post by Wendy, creator of LaPhemmePhoodie.com, a blog about food, Philly and life in general. She includes details and pictures from her dining experiences, food-related product reviews and recipes. Wendy also includes educational information on important issues such as how food affects your mind/body and how to become more sustainable in your daily life. Her blog is chock full of incredible food and experiences and I’m sure you’re going to love this classic pumpkin pie with just a little twist that she presents to you today. 

Enjoy!

~K

Hi everyone! My name is Wendy L. Kirby a/k/a La Phemme Phoodie. I’m thrilled to be a guest on Kate’s blog. I’m sharing my favorite pumpkin pie recipe with you today. It’s nothing fancy or complicated. I’ve tried many recipes and found that this traditional pumpkin pie is by far my favorite pie to serve during the holidays.

Over the years I’ve experimented with many pumpkin pie recipes. Last year I made a pumpkin pie with cream cheese. It was good not great. In the past I’ve made several variations of a pudding pumpkin pie. All of the pies I’ve made in the past were fine but they weren’t what we were used to growing up. My family craves traditional comfort food at the holiday table. They don’t want anything fancy or new. To be quite honest, neither do I. I find comfort in our traditions.

This recipe is incredibly easy to make and has always been a hit at our table. If your family enjoys traditional pumpkin pie they will love this recipe. Enjoy!

PUMPKIN PIE WITH PECAN STREUSEL TOPPING

PUMPKIN PIE INGREDIENTS Courtesy of LIBBY’S

1 (9 inch) unbaked deep-dish pie crust

¾ cup white sugar

1/ teaspoon ground cinnamon

½ teaspoon salt

½ teaspoon ground ginger

¼ teaspoon ground cloves

2 eggs

1 (15 ounce) can LIBBY’S 100% Pure Pumpkin

1 (12 fluid ounce) can evaporated milk

PECAN STREUSEL INGREDIENTS Courtesy of Food Network

¾ cup pecans, toasted and chopped

¼ cup firmly packed dark brown sugar

2 tablespoons all-purpose flour

½ teaspoon ground cinnamon

2 tablespoons unsalted butter, diced, cold

 DIRECTIONS:

– Preheat oven to 425 degrees F.

– Combine sugar, salt, cinnamon, ginger and cloves in small bowl. Beat eggs lightly in large bowl. Stir in pumpkin and sugar-spice mixture. Gradually stir in evaporated milk. Pour into pie shell.

– Bake for 15 minutes.  Reduce temperature to 350 degrees F; bake for 40 minutes.

– Combine pecan streusel ingredients. Remove the pie from the oven and sprinkle the pecan streusel over the top, covering the pie completely. Return the pie to the oven and bake until the filling is set and pecan streusel is golden, approximately 10 minutes.

– Cool the pie on a wire rack. Serve after cooking or refrigerate.

Servings: 8

About FoodBabbles

I'm just a girl with a passion for good food. Especially the sweet side of life. I love to eat it, make it, read about it... if it has to do with food, it's for me. I'd like to share my food, writing and photos with you. Sometimes they come out great. Other times, well... there are some mishaps but I'll share those with you too. I'm only human! Either way, I enjoy it and hope you will too! So here are sugary, sweet culinary delights from my talented yet dangerously klutzy hands so obviously not bred to work with sharp knives and hot ovens.
This entry was posted in Desserts, Guest Post, Pie and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Pumpkin Pie with Pecan Streusel Topping ~ Guest Post by Wendy of La Phemme Phoodie

  1. Gorgeous and drool-worthy pie 🙂

    BTW, congrats on your lil’ one!

Talk To Me!

