#FirstOnTheFirst ~ Join Us, Won’t You?


If you’ve been a reader here for a bit then you already know that for the last 6 months or so I’ve been doing posts called First on the First with Carrie of Poet in the Pantry. For those of you who are new here, let me explain. Carrie had written a New Year’s post about all her culinary goals for the year 2011. This list included all sorts of things she had never done before and wanted to achieve. I didn’t catch the original post however over the summer she had mentioned it in a blog post so I went back and read it.

Upon reading the list I came to the realization that we had very similar goals. There were so many things on her list that I too had never done but wanted to. For instance, creme brulee, sourdough bread, fresh pasta and croissants. Carrie even introduced me to dacquoise which I had never heard of and had to google to see just what it entailed. What a delicious experience that was! At first we were posting whenever we got the chance to get things done. Then we decided to move things to the first of the month. Thus, the name First on the First was born since these were projects that were a first for both of us.

With the new year once again upon us, Carrie and I started thinking about new goals for 2012. We’ve really enjoyed working with one another and look forward to trying our hands at more first-time projects. Then we had the idea to invite all of you!! We would love to expand First on the First to new people. Wouldn’t it be fun for all of us to try something new or even if it isn’t something new for you, maybe it’s a project you’d like to revisit. Carrie and I would love to see what personal spin you put on each month’s challenge. Also, what better way to meet new people and make new foodie friends?

Carrie and I have a lot of fun things planned for this year starting out with fluffy, pillowy marshmallows! I’ve never had a homemade marshmallow before and I can’t wait to see how much better it’s going to be than the kind I find at the store. So? What do you think? Want to join in on making marshmallows this month with Carrie and I? It’s going to be a blast so why don’t you give it a go.

Here are the details… If you’d like to be a part of First on the First just email me at FoodBabbles@gmail.com and let me know that you’re in. Before the end of the month is over we’ll email you a link to put in your blog post so that you can be a part of the blog hop. That way we can all see the wonderful First on the First creations that everyone did. Then just schedule your post for January 1st, 2012 at 8:00am and add your link to the blog hop. Easy!

If you don’t have a blog but you’d still like to join us, we’d love to have you too! On the 1st, just leave a comment on my First on the First post (or Carrie’s.) Tell us all about your project, how it went, what spin you may have put on it and if you like, maybe include a picture as well. Also each month we’ll clue you in on what the next month’s project will be so that hopefully you’ll join us again. We would love to have you!

So, I hope you’ll join Carrie and I as we tackle another 12 months of firsts!

~K

About FoodBabbles

I'm just a girl with a passion for good food. Especially the sweet side of life. I love to eat it, make it, read about it... if it has to do with food, it's for me. I'd like to share my food, writing and photos with you. Sometimes they come out great. Other times, well... there are some mishaps but I'll share those with you too. I'm only human! Either way, I enjoy it and hope you will too! So here are sugary, sweet culinary delights from my talented yet dangerously klutzy hands so obviously not bred to work with sharp knives and hot ovens.
This entry was posted in First on the First and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to #FirstOnTheFirst ~ Join Us, Won’t You?

  1. Sounds like so much fun…can we join down the road? I’m feeling a bit blog overwhelmed right now…might want a bit of a January break.

    • FoodBabbles says:

      Absolutely!! You can join whenever you like. We’re both very laid back about this project. If you’d like to participate one month but not the next that’s fine. We would love to have you whenever you would like to join us 🙂

  2. Pingback: Lavender-Vanilla Bean Marshmallows ~ #FirstOnTheFirst | FoodBabbles

  3. Pingback: hiddenponies – Fluffy Homemade Marshmallows

Talk To Me!

