Gingerbread Mini-Muffins with Lemon Glaze


Happy Monday! This week An of Baker Street decided to give all us #MuffinMonday people a week off due to the hustle and bustle of the holidays. That was incredibly sweet and considerate of her however, I must admit I was just a little disappointed. Having returned to making muffins only last week after a month off, I have been looking forward to getting back to my weekly muffins. So I decided this week I would continue in the spirit of #MuffinMonday and make some anyway.

So for this Monday I decided that I would make something that for me just screams Christmas. I chose to make gingerbread muffins. I also decided they would be super cute if they were miniaturized. So mini-muffins they became. I just absolutely adore the smell of gingerbread as it’s baking. The smell of cloves, ginger, and cinnamon with molasses is simply intoxicating. That first warm bite of the spicy, warm cake automatically takes me to holidays past and cool winter days. There’s something about the spices in gingerbread that just warms you as you eat it from the inside out.

As with most muffins, these come together in a flash and in about 20 minutes you’ll be eating warm, moist, spicy gingerbread muffins and reminiscing about your own holiday memories.

Enjoy!

~K

Gingerbread Mini-Muffins with Lemon Glaze Made about 48 mini-muffins or 16 regular muffins

Adapted from Bon Appetite (December 2000)

2 3/4 cups all-purpose flour

2 1/2 teaspoons baking soda

1 tablespoon plus 1/2 teaspoon ground ginger

1 teaspoon ground cinnamon

1/4 teaspoon ground cloves

1/4 teaspoon allspice

1/2 teaspoon nutmeg

1/2 teaspoon salt

1/2 cup unsalted butter, room temperature

1/2 cup packed brown sugar

2 eggs

3/4 cup molasses

1 cup cold water

For Lemon Glaze

1 3/4 cups powdered sugar

5 Tablespoons lemon juice

– Preheat the oven to 350 degrees. Line muffin pans with paper liners.

– In a medium bowl combine the flour, baking soda, ginger, cinnamon, cloves, allspice, nutmeg and salt. Set aside.

– With an electric mixer, cream together the butter and brown sugar.

– Add the eggs and mix until combined.

– Add in the molasses and mix until combined.

– Add half of the dry ingredients and mix until combined.

– Add remaining dry ingredients and mix until combined.

– Slowly drizzle in cold water while mixer is running. Mix until combined.

– Distribute batter among cups and bake 15-20 minutes for mini-muffins or 20-25 minutes for full-size muffins or until a tester comes out clean.

– Allow muffins to sit in pans for 10 minutes after removing from oven then move to wire racks to cool.

– Combine the powdered sugar with the lemon juice until smooth.

– Top each muffin with a bit of glaze.

– Serve warm or at room temperature.

– Enjoy!

About FoodBabbles

I'm just a girl with a passion for good food. Especially the sweet side of life. I love to eat it, make it, read about it... if it has to do with food, it's for me. I'd like to share my food, writing and photos with you. Sometimes they come out great. Other times, well... there are some mishaps but I'll share those with you too. I'm only human! Either way, I enjoy it and hope you will too! So here are sugary, sweet culinary delights from my talented yet dangerously klutzy hands so obviously not bred to work with sharp knives and hot ovens.
This entry was posted in Muffin Monday, Muffins and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Gingerbread Mini-Muffins with Lemon Glaze

  1. Baker Street says:

    I love gingerbread muffins! The lemon glaze on top sounds divine!

    Its a week off but there’s something in store for you for today’s post! 😉

    • FoodBabbles says:

      Thanks An! I loved the way they turned out and I just couldn’t be without my weekly muffin fix 😉 You’ve created a monster! A delicious monster! And yes, I visited your post on Monday and I entered. What great recipes and giveaway!

  2. Pingback: Blueberry Cranberry Buttermilk Muffins ~ #MuffinMonday | FoodBabbles

Talk To Me!

