Eggnog Muffins ~ #MuffinMonday


This Monday I have not one, but two posts for you! Of course, it wouldn’t be Monday without muffins so that’s where I’ll start but in a few hours come back and see what I cooked up for the Secret Recipe Club this month.

Hope everyone has had very happy holidays! I know that my Christmas was fantastic. Hectic in that wonderful way that holidays always are but I embrace that time spent with our families even if it means running all over. This year Maddy was so much fun for Christmas! This is the year that she’s started to “get it.” Now she knows how to open a present and she knows that beneath that sparkly wrapping paper and bow, something wonderful awaits her. She talked about “Santy” and she called him since she couldn’t properly pronounce “Santa.”

As she came out of her room yesterday, her eyes lit up when she saw our tree all aglow and beneath it a sea of presents ready to be opened. HB long ago stopped believing in Santa however, the wonders of Christmas morning aren’t all together lost on her even though she’s a teenager now. She tore through her brightly wrapped packages with almost as much excitement as Maddy did. Also, this year was extra special for us with the precious addition of Molly to our family. Three girls to celebrate Christmas with. I think that watching the girls open their gifts is really the best part of Christmas for me. Seeing that excitement that children get on Christmas morning is my favorite part. We are truly blessed.

With the excitement of Christmas morning subsiding our thoughts turned to food. What’s for breakfast? Amongst our spread were these wonderful, nutmeg-spiced eggnog muffins. Each week when I make muffins I think to myself, “These are my favorite muffins so far!” This week is no exception. These are now my new favorites! I don’t even like eggnog actually however I absolutely loved these muffins. Moist and cakey as a good muffin should be with the flavor of eggnog and topped with a nutmeg, cinnamon, sugar crumb topping. These were gone in a day! They were the perfect addition to our holiday meal and were enjoyed by all.

Enjoy!

~K

I didn’t alter this recipe from King Arthur Flour at all. It can be found here.

Muffin Monday is an initiative by Baker Street. A culinary journey of sharing a wickedly delicious muffin recipe every week. Drop in a quick line to join her on her journey to make the world smile and beat glum Monday mornings week after week.

About FoodBabbles

I'm just a girl with a passion for good food. Especially the sweet side of life. I love to eat it, make it, read about it... if it has to do with food, it's for me. I'd like to share my food, writing and photos with you. Sometimes they come out great. Other times, well... there are some mishaps but I'll share those with you too. I'm only human! Either way, I enjoy it and hope you will too! So here are sugary, sweet culinary delights from my talented yet dangerously klutzy hands so obviously not bred to work with sharp knives and hot ovens.
This entry was posted in Muffin Monday, Muffins and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Eggnog Muffins ~ #MuffinMonday

  1. Baker Street says:

    These muffins were absolutely delish! Loved the streusel topping. I’ve saved some eggnog to make another batch! Happy Holidays Kate! 🙂

  2. Aunt Mary says:

    They sound delicious, you should have brought some to Berkeley Heights yesterday!
    I’ll have to try them.

  3. this is truly a perfect christmas time treat! beautiful muffins!

  4. This recipe is definitely a keeper – they turned out so well! Adding the eggnog extract definitely pumps up the flavour and I loved how eggnogy and moist the muffins tasted. Glad to hear you had a good Xmas 🙂

  5. Haha, I am totally the same that every new muffin recipe becomes my favorite! These look like they could definitely fit that bill…muffins are just never a bad thing!

  6. Hey – great taste in muffin cups! 😉 (How funny that we used the same ones for the same muffins!) I also didn’t change anything in the recipe. Wonderful just the way it was!

    Glad to hear you had a wonderful Christmas with your family, Kate!

  7. Pingback: Blueberry Cranberry Buttermilk Muffins ~ #MuffinMonday | FoodBabbles

Talk To Me!

