Vegan Avocado Chocolate Mousse ~ Secret Recipe Club


This month for The Secret Recipe Club, I was assigned the blog Double the Sugar. I loved this blog the moment I landed on it. What a neat concept! Double the Sugar is a “blog from both sides of the pond.” The blog is written by both Lucy and Shannon. Lucy lives in Edinburgh, Scotland while Shannon lives in Seattle, Washington. The two became fast friends when they met in Scotland while Shannon was attending school there. So you’ll see recipes from both of them and see some differences between British and American cooking.

The recipe I ended up choosing to try was based purely on the name of the post… Vegan Avocado Chocolate Mousse. When I read “avocado” and “chocolate mousse” in the same sentence I was immediately intrigued. These are not two things that you generally see paired together. Lime juice, onions and some garlic, sure! I don’t often think of avocado in a sweet dish so I absolutely had to check this one out.

So basically, you blend the avocados up until they are super smooth. It takes a little bit of time but they get there. Once that is accomplished you add some cocoa powder, agave syrup and a little vanilla. Simple! I honestly didn’t know what to expect when I went to take my first bite. First impression? “I am eating dark chocolate cake icing!” It was SO good! Mine didn’t come out the consistency of a mousse but it was amazing.

This would be the perfect thing to frost a cake or dip fruit into. It was not overly sweet and had a deep chocolate taste. You certainly wouldn’t know you were eating avocados unless someone told you. This recipe was certainly one that pleasantly surprised me! I didn’t change a thing about it so you can find the recipe over at Double the Sugar.

Enjoy!

~K

Now let’s see what everyone else from The Secret Recipe Club made this month!

<!– start InLinkz script –>

<!– end InLinkz script –>

About FoodBabbles

I'm just a girl with a passion for good food. Especially the sweet side of life. I love to eat it, make it, read about it... if it has to do with food, it's for me. I'd like to share my food, writing and photos with you. Sometimes they come out great. Other times, well... there are some mishaps but I'll share those with you too. I'm only human! Either way, I enjoy it and hope you will too! So here are sugary, sweet culinary delights from my talented yet dangerously klutzy hands so obviously not bred to work with sharp knives and hot ovens.
This entry was posted in Desserts, Secret Recipe Club, Vegetarian and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

31 Responses to Vegan Avocado Chocolate Mousse ~ Secret Recipe Club

  1. iamahoneybee says:

    I think that since yours ended up like frosting it would be fun to have on cupcakes for Cinco De Mayo, gotta sneak more avocados in there. I absolutely love avocados.

  2. Megan says:

    Oh my gosh this sounds amazing!!

  3. I’ve been wanting to try something chocolate and avocado for a while, but I have to do it in a sneaky way, so my family doesn’t notice and freak out! This looks perfecto.

  4. Melissa says:

    Guiltless chocolate mousse?! Sign me up! I will definitely be trying this soon πŸ™‚

  5. Tami says:

    I love recipes that contain secret ingredients! πŸ™‚
    I could imagine dipping sweet, ripe strawberries into this. YUM!

  6. Shannon says:

    So glad you loved the recipe! The consistency does tend to vary, the avocados can be a real X-factor, it just depends on how ripe they are and other mystical avocado factors I can’t begin to comprehend! But it’s tasty no matter what!

    • FoodBabbles says:

      Oh it was definitely tasty!! Great recipe, Shannon. I would never have guessed there were avocados in there and I never would have thought to combine chocolate and avocado.

  7. Rituparna says:

    Avocado & chocolate, what a combination. I have been reading way too much about avocados lately, but it has all been about guacamole & even thought I would love to make some, getting your hands on avocado’s in India is rather difficult. This recipe is making me wanna get my hands on some, somehow.
    I always love recipes that have a different element to them.

    • FoodBabbles says:

      What a lovely comment, Rutiparna! I also am always intrigued by a recipe that has a unique twist to it. This is why I chose this recipe and I was so pleasantly surprised by how good it was. Hope you can find some avocados somehow!

  8. Jenni says:

    I have to admit, I clicked on this in the SRC linky just because I could not fathom avocados and chocolate together!! LOL THis mousse looks amazingly velvety and dark, though, and from your description it sounds divine! I am going to have to try this recipe out for myself! Thanks for sharing!!!

  9. We vegans love throwing avocado into anything we can…yum! I have made a similar pudding before and it is so good. My kids and I like to freeze them in Popsicle molds to make our own healthy pudding pops.

  10. mouse is actually supposed to be much richer and much thicker than what most of us are accustomed to eating – so i can totally see this slathered over a chocolate torte as a mousey topping. oh yum! And anything with avocado is a good idea. ‘fo sho’.

    • FoodBabbles says:

      I had no idea mousse was supposed to be thicker. Learned something new! Thanks πŸ™‚ And yes, anything with avocado is good “fo’ sho” πŸ™‚ Ha! That cracked me up

  11. Avocado = goooood. Chocolate = goooood.

  12. Casey says:

    I’ve been so interested in trying out chocolate mousse with avocado! THink I might try it, looks and sounds yummy πŸ™‚

  13. Pingback: Double the Sugar » Blog Archive » DtS 2011 roundup

  14. I am too intrigued not to comment! This look excellent, I am so impressed! I am a fellow {SRC} foodie friend and I just love your blog – Newest follower too! Great post! πŸ™‚

  15. Samantha says:

    Unless I’m missing something… can someone provide the actual amounts of the ingredients? I guess I can try to throw it together but I’d rather not end up with bad mousse.

  16. Janelle says:

    Wow!!!!!avocados and chocolate? Normally, I might say tuck, but I love avocados and chocolate, so I just might have to try this.

Talk To Me!

