Ebelskivers ~ Two Ways


On Christmas day I tore through brightly colored tissue paper down into a bag, with the same excitement as I had done a few times before that day. My mother-in-law always comes up with the best gifts and I couldn’t wait to see what was in store for me this year. As my gift came into view through the paper, out emerged a strange-looking pan. A circular pan with seven hemispherical indentations. I looked at it and hadn’t a clue what it was for! I’d never seen such a pan before.

I dug a little deeper to find a book also in the festive bag. It was a cookbook! My favorite kind of book. “Ebelskivers. What in the world is an ebelskiver?” I flipped through the pages to learn that ebelskivers (pronounced “able-skeevers”) are puffy, sphere-shaped pancakes that are filled with all sorts of things. They can be sweet or savory. Sometimes they’re served with toppings or sauces as well.

Reading the inside of the jacket cover was all I needed to get my mouth watering and my creative juices flowing. I couldn’t wait to give ebelskivers a try!! So here’s what I have to say about the experience. In a word… Delicious!!! For my first time out, I decided to make the basic batter from the book. However, you can flavor this batter however you like for endless ebelskiver creations… Vanilla, chocolate, orange, lemon? The possibilities are only limited by your imagination.

Secondly, they aren’t hard to make at all and no more time-consuming that making a batch of regular pancakes. Although, mastering the “flip” takes a little practice. You have to use two wooden skewers to flip the ebelskiver over inside the well. The batter is much like a classic pancake batter with the addition of egg whites whipped to stiff peaks. This makes these little pancakes light and fluffy like a popover. Then you bite into these little airy, spherical pancakes to find a hidden treasure.

I decided to make two types of ebelskivers, wanting to try both a sweet as well as a savory. My first batch was herb and goat cheese. These were decidedly my favorite. A fresh sage leaf on the top of the sphere tastes earthy and distinct while warm, tangy goat cheese completes this little pancake. I couldn’t stop eating them!

Next I went with a simple spiced apple filling. Apples, nutmeg, cinnamon and sugar hidden inside a slightly sweetened batter. These were the favorites of Mike which I anticipated and was part of the reason I chose that particular filling. Maddy loved both of them! In fact, she kept asking for more goat cheese as I was still cooking.

Both versions of the ebelskivers were a huge hit. I can’t wait to experiment with more fillings and some toppings next. I’m so glad I have this pan now because I can see endless breakfast, snack and dessert ebelskivers in our future!

Enjoy!

~K

from Ebelskivers by Kevin Crafts

Basic Batter 

1 cup all-purpose flour

1 1/2 teaspoon sugar

1/2 teaspoon baking powder

1/4 teaspoon salt

2 large eggs, separated

1 cup whole milk

2 Tablespoons unsalted butter, melted and cooled slightly

– In a large bowl, whisk together the flour sugar, baking powder and salt.

– In a small bowl, lightly whisk the egg yolks, then whisk in the milk and melted butter.

– Add the yolk mixture to the flour mixture and, using a wooden spoon, stir until well blended. The batter will be lumpy.

– In a clean bowl, using an electric mixer on high speed, beat the egg whites until stiff, but not dry, peaks form.

– Using as silicone spatula, fold about one-third of the egg whites into the batter to lighten it, then fold in the rest just until no white streaks remain. Use the batter right away.

Sage Goat Cheese Ebelskivers  Makes 21

1 recipe “Basic Batter”

1 Tablespoon unsalted butter, melted and slightly cooled

21 small fresh sage leaves or 2 1/2 Tablespoons of any chopped fresh herb you desire

3 1/2 Tablespoons chilled and crumbled goat cheese

– Preheat your oven to 200 degrees to keep the finished pancakes warm as you continue to cook the rest.

– Prepare the batter. (If using chopped fresh herbs, add to the batter)

– Brush the wells of the ebelskiver pan with some of the melted butter and place on the stove top over medium heat. With the butter starts to bubble, carefully lay 1 sage leaf on the bottom of each well, then add 1 tablespoon batter.

– Working quickly, carefully spoon about 1/2 teaspoon of the goat cheese into the center of each pancake and top each with another 1 tablespoon of batter.

– Cook until the bottoms of the pancakes are lightly browned and crisp, 3-5 minutes. Use two wooden skewers to turn all the pancakes and cook until lightly browned on the second side, about 2-3 minutes longer.

– Transfer the finished pancakes to a platter and keep warm in the oven.

– Serve immediately.

– Enjoy!

Ebelskivers with Spiced Apple Filling 

1/2 cup unsalted butter

3 Tablespoons granulated sugar

1/4 teaspoon ground cinnamon

1/4 teaspoon freshly grated nutmeg

pinch of salt

2 tart green apples, peeled, cored and diced

1 recipe Basic Batter with 1/2 teaspoon vanilla extract added

1 Tablespoon unsalted butter, melted and cooled slightly

Confectioners’ sugar for dusting

– Make the filling: In a small saucepan over medium-high heat, melt the butter. Add the sugar, cinnamon, nutmeg, and salt and cook, stirring to dissolve the sugar, just until bubbly. 3-5 minutes.

– Add the apples, reduce the heat to medium and cook, stirring often, until the apples are tender, about 10 minutes. Remove from the heat and set aside.

– Make the batter.

– Preheat the oven to 200 degrees to keep finished pancakes warm as you finish making the others.

– Brush the wells of the ebelskiver pan with some of the melted butter and place over medium heat. When the butter starts to bubble, add about 1 tablespoon of batter to each well. Working quickly, carefully spoon about 1 teaspoon of the apple filling into the center of each pancake. Top each with another 1 tablespoon batter.

– Cook until the bottoms of the pancakes are lightly browned and crisp, 3-5 minutes. Use two wooden skewers to turn all the pancakes and cook until lightly browned on the second side, about 2-3 minutes longer.

– Transfer the finished pancakes to the oven to keep warm while you make the remaining pancakes. Dust the warm ebelskivers with confectioners’ sugar and serve immediately.

– Enjoy!

About FoodBabbles

I'm just a girl with a passion for good food. Especially the sweet side of life. I love to eat it, make it, read about it... if it has to do with food, it's for me. I'd like to share my food, writing and photos with you. Sometimes they come out great. Other times, well... there are some mishaps but I'll share those with you too. I'm only human! Either way, I enjoy it and hope you will too! So here are sugary, sweet culinary delights from my talented yet dangerously klutzy hands so obviously not bred to work with sharp knives and hot ovens.
This entry was posted in Breakfast, Desserts and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

35 Responses to Ebelskivers ~ Two Ways

  1. Soooo cute!! I would have loved to have owned an abelskiver pan when my kids were young too… but I know they will love them now! I’m off to search on-line for the pan and book. You’re right, this was an awesome gift!

  2. Miranda says:

    I have never heard of these! Where have I been? Yum!

  3. These look delicious! Wow. I feel like I’ve been under a rock – I had no clue they even had such a thing and they look amazing. Off to find the pan and book – these are perfect for our family (and the perfect serving size!)

  4. Oh! you got me drooling! This is definitely a revelation. I didn’t know Ebelskivers exist…

  5. Lexi Kern says:

    I saw this picture on Tastespotting. Back in the 70’s we used to have Ebelskiver making parties and I must have 2 or 3 pans. We always made the sweet ones, but I pulled the pans out recently and have been thinking about a savory ebelskiver. Williams Sonoma have them in their catalog. I live in Santa Barbara, CA and not far from here is a Danish community called Solvang. Ebelskivers are their specialty. Thanks for the inspiration!

  6. Mads Jacobsen says:

    Ebelskivers or aebleskiver is a danish/scandinavian winter phenomenon which everybody up here eat around the holidays.

    great stuff, and one of the few original contributions of Denmark to the world stage of nice food

  7. Dy says:

    They look delicious! 😉 Here’s a little bonus-info for you:
    They’re Danish and called “æbleskiver”, which means “appelslices”. The reason for this is that we used to put small bits of apple inside them. Today they’re made completely out of the buttermilk-pancake-like dough though – putting all sort of stuff in, must be the american version 😉
    Being a Dane, I grew up with these and I promise you; you never grow tired of them! 🙂
    We don’t eat them all year round though, only at christmastime and not as breakfast but as a dessert. They’re served with powdered sugar and jam – yum 🙂

    btw – to flip them over, just use a fork
    Keep up the good work! 😉

    • FoodBabbles says:

      A fork!! I should just work smarter, not harder, right? 🙂 It would seem I’m over complicating things by following the book. Thanks so much for all the information and the good advice!

  8. Cathy says:

    I’ve been thinking about getting an ebelskiver pan for ages…. now it’s going on my shopping list again! Thanks for the lovely recipes!

  9. michsamant says:

    That looks great! Must try some day.

  10. Martin Baadsgaard says:

    ableskivers (spelled æbleskiver) are danish/swedish, and the word means “appleslices”, because the original recipe was just with slices of apple inside.
    The traditional way of making them, around christmastime these days, is actually with no filling.
    Instead you dip them in jam and confectioners sugar.
    I just “inherited” my mom’s old pan, so I have also been at the less traditional recipes. One good one was with cheddar cheese and spices, just mixed into the batter.

  11. These are making my mouth water!

  12. Deborah Dowd says:

    So thrilled to see these recipes- I got the pan several months ago but my first foray was not very successful- With your recipes I am headed back to the drawing board and will try again!

  13. Erin says:

    I’ve never heard of ebelskivers before. How interesting! They look wonderful! 🙂

  14. Just discovered your blog, its beautiful! I have heard a ebelskivers and the ebelskiver pan before, but have yet to get one of my own. They are SO delicious and I love how they are puffy and bite-size.

    Your variations sound fabulous. I’m especially loving the sound of the sage and goat cheese one. One of my favorite flavor combinations. Spiced apple also sounds wonderful. You’re making me very jealous I don’t have one of these pans now! 🙂

  15. Deb says:

    One of our local churches holds an ebelskiver luncheon each year, a not to be missed occasion. I have often thought of purchasing my own pan, but have not done so. Your post is an inspiration to try making my ebelskivers, my family would be delighted!

  16. socalbeachgal says:

    I grew up eating and making aebleskiver so I am thrilled that you have discovered them!
    A couple of pointers (if that isn’t too presumptuous of me!):
    To may traditional round (like a tennis ball) aebleskiver, use a knitting needle to start tipping/turning the aebleskiver as soon as the bottom starts to cook (about a 1/4 turn at a time). As you tip/turn the uncooked batter will roll down into the depression – start to cook and then you start to turn again.

    Knitting needles work better than forks because of their length as well as single point for grabbing and turning, and better than wooden skewers because there is no risk fire or splinters and of course the knitting needles are reusable.

    Great blog! Happy cooking!!

  17. Campasimpukka says:

    Hello! I happened to browse your lovely post about ebelskivers! I had to order a pan for them and make some ebelskivers and post them in my blog:) They were fabulous! Must make them soon again, I must try those with sage!

  18. Pingback: How Do I Love Thee: 3 Simple Ways to Show It This Valentine’s » Blue Rooms-White Houses: Adventures in Interior Design | Washington, DC, Virginia (VA), Maryland (MD)

  19. Pingback: Apricot-Sage Cookies | FoodBabbles

Talk To Me!

