Blueberry Cranberry Buttermilk Muffins ~ #MuffinMonday


This week, we’re shaking off the indulgences of the holiday season and embracing the new year with a healthier muffin. No more decadent chocolate concoctions, eggnog and gingerbread creations will have to wait until next year. No, this week we are getting back to basics. In my eyes, the good ol’ blueberry muffin in its simplicity is everything a muffin should be and that’s the muffin we’re visiting this week for Muffin Monday.

Before I started making weekly muffins, if I went out and purchased one or made one at home it would likely be a blueberry muffin in my hands 99% of the time. I just love moist cake around plump, juicy blueberries. Now, I’ve opened up my eyes to all the muffin possibilities out there thanks to my participation in Muffin Mondays but I still love a classic like the blueberry muffin.

These blueberry muffins have buttermilk in them which I just absolutely love. I want to put buttermilk in just about anything and everything. I love the flavor it lends to a recipe. I really love pancakes and if they have a blueberry spin to them, even better. These are kind of like blueberry buttermilk pancakes in muffin form. I also added dried cranberries to mine because I like the cranberry blueberry combo plus these are supposed to be a little healthier so I kicked up the antioxidants for ya! Surely, you will enjoy these muffins. They were a huge hit with my little muffin eater, Maddy since blueberries and cranberries are some of her favorite things.

Enjoy!

~K

Muffin Monday is an initiative by Baker Street. A culinary journey of sharing a wickedly delicious muffin recipe every week. Her journey to make the world smile and beat glum Monday mornings week after week one muffin at a time.

Drop in a quick line to join me on this journey and beat the glum monday mornings.

One Year Ago: Tomato Feta Quinoa

Blueberry Cranberry Buttermilk Muffins Adapted from A Bakers’ Kitchen

1 cup buttermilk

1 egg

1/4 cup vegetable oil

1/2 teaspoon vanilla extract

2 cups all-purpose flour

1/2 cup granulated sugar

1 teaspoon baking powder

1/2 teaspoon baking soda

1/4 teaspoon salt

1/2 cup fresh blueberries

1/4 cup dried cranberries

– Preheat your oven to 375 degrees and line a muffin pan with paper liners.

– In a bowl, whisk together the buttermilk, egg, oil and vanilla.

– In another bowl, whisk together the flour, sugar, baking powder, baking soda, and salt.

– Remove 1 tablespoon of the dry ingredients and toss it with the blueberries and cranberries to coat.

– Add the wet ingredients to the dry ingredients and gently mix just until combined. Do no over mix.

– Gently fold in the blueberries and cranberries.

– Evenly fill 12 muffin cups.

– Bake 20-25 minutes or until a tester comes out clean.

– Move muffins to a wire rack to cool.

– Enjoy!

About FoodBabbles

I'm just a girl with a passion for good food. Especially the sweet side of life. I love to eat it, make it, read about it... if it has to do with food, it's for me. I'd like to share my food, writing and photos with you. Sometimes they come out great. Other times, well... there are some mishaps but I'll share those with you too. I'm only human! Either way, I enjoy it and hope you will too! So here are sugary, sweet culinary delights from my talented yet dangerously klutzy hands so obviously not bred to work with sharp knives and hot ovens.
This entry was posted in Muffin Monday, Muffins and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Blueberry Cranberry Buttermilk Muffins ~ #MuffinMonday

  1. Barbie says:

    I love love love the crust on your muffins, Kate!

    I totally agree with you on the buttermilk — I used half yogurt and half buttermilk on my muffins and they were just so great! Sometimes I think I already have buttermilk addiction haha.

  2. Baker Street says:

    I love a good crust outside and soft muffins inside. I used yogurt but totally trying buttermilk the next time. 🙂

  3. another buttermilk lover here:) it does something wonderful to muffins doesn’t it:)

  4. Berniebakes says:

    Been following ur blog… amazing food. pls give measurement in metric pls as my sunday school class would love this muffin

  5. Sammi Richardson says:

    Hi,

    These muffins look wonderful! I’m a big fan of blueberries. I work for Kamut International. I bet these muffins would be equally as tasty if made with Kamut wheat flour. Yum!

    http://www.kamut.com

    Thanks for sharing!

  6. Blueberry muffins are a true classic! I added lemon zest and wish I’d thought to add buttermilk too…that would really have given these muffins a nice tang. But the yogurt was good! Happy Muffin Monday 🙂

  7. @Mango_Queen says:

    Your blueberry muffins look so delish! No matter how simple the recipe, they’re terrific aren;t they? Thanks for the blog-love & RTs! So kind of you. Have a great Monday & week ahead!

  8. Aww you are a part of muffin Monday An initiated, Yours look fantastic absolutely adorable!

  9. Oh, my! So happy to bake with you! I have to make another batch! I do love cranberries, too! 😉 Sorry I am terribly late here…Work gets in the way ;-).

Talk To Me!

