Look Ma! I Baked Bread! AKA: Peasant Boule ~ #BakeTogether


You see that? This is monumental. Monumental, I tell you! Right before your eyes is a loaf of bread… buttery crust outside and soft, fresh inside. Homemade, freshly baked bread. And get this … I made that! Really!! This has been quite the accomplishment for me. You see, I belong to that group of people who consider themselves “yeast challenged.” It’s a handicap that I’ve tried unsuccessfully to overcome. You may remember the great sourdough debacle. What a disaster! That project alone made me not ever want to make bread again.

Any time there’s yeast involved I have issues getting my dough to rise. I credit this not only to my own limitations but more so to the fact that I have a cold little house. It’s hard to find a nice warm place to stow my dough to allow that yeast to do its job. Often times, it’s even too cold to use the little trick of plopping it in the oven when it’s off with the oven light on.

Enter the illustrious Abby Dodge with this month’s #BakeTogether project! She has given me the confidence to once again revisit bread baking. Not only that, she provided me with the tools to have a successful run of it to boot! This bread was so ridiculously easy to make, it’s not even funny. I kid you not. I didn’t once get frustrated or think to myself, “I hate working with dough” as I so often do when working on this type of project.

I threw all the dry ingredients into the bowl of the mixer, drizzled in some very warm water and that was it. Really. IT. I put that bowl in my oven with the light on and cold house or not, the dough did exactly what Abby said it would. It doubled in size. Then I deflated it and it did exactly what it was supposed to do on the second rise too. I was amazed!

This buttery, simple bread was pure, addictive perfection and the ideal vessel to carry butter or jam to your mouth. In my case, this bread carried pasta sauce to my mouth. It was a wonderful complement to our chicken parm last night. I didn’t change a thing about Abby’s recipe given my past history of yeasted defeat, so you can find the recipe over on her site. Do give it a try. I assure you, you will be so glad you did. I know I was! This was so simple, I will definitely make it again in the future. I see an herb-y, cheesy version in the near future.

Enjoy!

~K

One Year Ago: Chocolate Overload Trifle


About FoodBabbles

I'm just a girl with a passion for good food. Especially the sweet side of life. I love to eat it, make it, read about it... if it has to do with food, it's for me. I'd like to share my food, writing and photos with you. Sometimes they come out great. Other times, well... there are some mishaps but I'll share those with you too. I'm only human! Either way, I enjoy it and hope you will too! So here are sugary, sweet culinary delights from my talented yet dangerously klutzy hands so obviously not bred to work with sharp knives and hot ovens.
This entry was posted in #BakeTogether, Breads and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to Look Ma! I Baked Bread! AKA: Peasant Boule ~ #BakeTogether

  1. MommaD says:

    Glad we got to share your first bread triumph and it was DELICIOUS !

  2. chefconnie says:

    I am now addicted to making bread and it is great to see someone else take the challenge. It amazes me what you can do with a little time, yeast and flour.

  3. Malli says:

    Ma will be so very proud of you:)….. That bread looks fabulous, soft, and delicious!!

  4. Cheers!! I’m so pleased you were brave enough to try this bread.. as @thepeche would say: “life altering”! Let me know if you if bake a variation — I’m thinking herb and parm baked in a loaf pan ๐Ÿ™‚

    • FoodBabbles says:

      Thanks so much for your comment, Abby! I absolutely loved this bread and I’ll definitely be making a variation now that I have to courage to branch out beyond your recipe.

  5. Yay! I’m so glad you were able to make bread, especially after that hearbreak with the sourdough project!

  6. Wow! Gorgeous indeed! I cannot wait to give my first try at this ;-). [And I had to scroll back up at least twice!]

  7. Hello and welcome to the “me making bread is monumental” club LOL! I have been an awful bread baker until this month and this loaf (and surprisingly, Dorie Greenspan’s brioche rolls!!). I am in love with this loaf and will be making my third this weekend. Well done – virtual high five!!

    • FoodBabbles says:

      Thanks so much for your awesome comment, Mardi! Virtual high five right back at ya!! We totally rock ๐Ÿ˜‰ I am absolutely in love with this loaf too. So easy and so addictive!

  8. Aunt Mary says:

    Way to go, girl! I’M proud of you … welcome to the bread baking world. It really IS surprisingly simple and I just love the kneading portion, so soothing. I hope you DO make more bread … and try all the variations you can think of.

    • FoodBabbles says:

      Thanks, Aunt Mary! I loved this experience after my past failures so now I’m sure I’ll be trying other bread-baking projects although I must admit, I didn’t knead a thing… I used a stand mixer with a dough hook ๐Ÿ˜‰

  9. I can’t say I belong to the group that live in fear of yeast but I deal with the vagaries of living at altitude and that’s always an extra consideration that can make any baking questionable as evidenced by the jar of yeast I just pitched that had expired…I don’t do it a lot!

    Encouraged by the raves of so many, I forged ahead even after loaning my cake pans to a neighbor (now she’s the brave one, making an anniversary celebration cake!) and I can only add credence to your story…it’s easy, it’s tasty and it’s almost gone!

    I do keep my home pretty cool (not in a fashionable sense…nope, that holiday tree is STILL up) so though I’ve heard the oven light trick, I actually turned my oven on at 200 degrees for 5 minutes before putting my bread in the oven to rise. New yeast. Normal person’s room temp oven. Easy Recipe. Perfect. So glad you’re doing #baketogether with us Kate…a huge congrats to your gorgeous effort!

  10. Pingback: Honey Challah ~ Daring Bakers’ Challenge May 2012 | FoodBabbles

Talk To Me!

