Cinnamon Mocha Chip Muffins ~ #MuffinMonday


I am definitely a coffee lover. Strong coffee and lots of it! In the past while pregnant or nursing, I completely abstained from coffee due to the caffeine. So that means I haven’t been “on” coffee for over two years because I’ve been popping out babies left and right. I’ve missed it terribly. Not for the caffeine content, although I really could use a shot of caffeinated goodness to help me through some of these days after being up all night with a new baby and a two-year old who keeps strange hours. I just love the flavor of a good cup of coffee or espresso. I’ve never been able to find decaf coffee that actually had the strong, full flavor that I love so much about a nice hot cup. That is until recently when one of my co-workers asked if I had ever tried Starbuck decaf. I hadn’t, mostly because I can’t see regularly paying nearly $5 for a medium cup of coffee.

That being said, I now must admit that I have developed a raging Starbucks addiction! Their decaf is incredible. I don’t even feel like I’m drinking decaffeinated coffee at all. Due to the cost, I certainly am not drinking coffee as often as I may have in the past but when I do get to partake, I savor it. My favorite concoction at the moment is their Skinny Cinnamon Dolce Latte. Espresso melds with steamed milk and then a sprinkle of cinnamon completes it. Heaven!

This week for #MuffinMonday we were assigned these heavenly mocha muffins to which in addition to regular chocolate chips, I added cinnamon chips. Also instead of using instant espresso powder as the original recipe called for, I used the Starbucks Via Italian Roast instant coffee packets. The deep, rich chocolate and coffee flavor with hints of cinnamon reminded me of my favorite Starbucks beverage in muffin form. These muffins are dangerously good and there’s nothing “skinny” about them so you may want to hide these from yourself. I know I needed to!

The original recipe called for pecans as well however, due to Maddy’s severe peanut allergy I omitted them because I couldn’t find a bag that weren’t also processed on the same equipment as peanuts. In fact, I actually wanted to add walnuts but ran into the same problem. But I think walnuts or pecans would be a fantastic addition to these muffins if you want to give that a try. Nuts or no nuts, these muffins will make you go nuts! They’re to die for.

Enjoy!

~K

Muffin Monday is an initiative by Baker Street. A culinary journey of sharing a wickedly delicious muffin recipe every week. Drop in a quick line to join her on her journey to make the world smile and beat glum Monday mornings week after week.

Cinnamon Mocha Chip Muffins Adapted from Bon Appetit

1/4 cup hot water

1 tablespoon instant espresso powder or Starbucks Via Ready Brew (3 packets)

1/2 cup buttermilk

1/2 cup vegetable oil

2 large eggs

1 teaspoon vanilla extract

1 3/4 cups all-purpose flour

1/2 cup sugar

1/2 cup packed golden brown sugar

3 tablespoons unsweetened cocoa powder (I used Cacao Barry Extra Dark)

1 teaspoon baking powder

1 teaspoon baking soda

1 teaspoon salt

1/2 teaspoon ground cinnamon

3/4 cup semi-sweet chocolate chips

3/4 cup cinnamon chips

–  Preheat oven to 375°F. Line twelve 1/2-cup muffin cups with paper liners.

– Stir 1/4 cup hot water and espresso powder in medium bowl until espresso powder dissolves. Add buttermilk, oil, eggs and vanilla and whisk until well blended.

– Mix flour, sugar, brown sugar, cocoa, baking powder, baking soda, salt and cinnamon in large bowl. Add buttermilk mixture and stir just until combined. Mix in chocolate chips and cinnamon chips.

– Divide batter equally among prepared muffin cups. Bake until tester inserted into center of muffins comes out clean, about 25 minutes. Transfer muffins to rack and cool.

– Enjoy!

About FoodBabbles

I'm just a girl with a passion for good food. Especially the sweet side of life. I love to eat it, make it, read about it... if it has to do with food, it's for me. I'd like to share my food, writing and photos with you. Sometimes they come out great. Other times, well... there are some mishaps but I'll share those with you too. I'm only human! Either way, I enjoy it and hope you will too! So here are sugary, sweet culinary delights from my talented yet dangerously klutzy hands so obviously not bred to work with sharp knives and hot ovens.
This entry was posted in Muffin Monday, Muffins and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Cinnamon Mocha Chip Muffins ~ #MuffinMonday

  1. Baker Street says:

    Cinnamon is an excellent addition. Must try the next time I bake these. Which I surely will because this recipe is surely a keeper! 🙂

  2. These muffins look perfect! Love the flavours…

  3. Sammi Richardson says:

    Wow! These muffins sound truly fantastic. I love cinnamon in muffins. I work for Kamut International. I bet these muffins would be equally as tasty if made with Kamut® wheat flour too! Yum!

    Thanks for sharing.

    http://www.kamut.com

  4. Jayasri says:

    Hi kate, first time here, Muffins looks gorgeous, thanks for visiting me, I must try this variation as I love cinnamon.., must be very delicious

  5. ooo cinnamon sounds like a fab addition! i love adding cinnamon to coffee so I bet it was a perfect compliment to your muffins!

  6. LOVE the addition of cinnamon, I will have to try that out next time!!

  7. Pingback: Raspberry Truffle Cake | FoodBabbles

Talk To Me!

