Jarlsberg Cheddar Macaroni & Cheese + 1 Other ~ A SideCar Event at Kitchen Play


I am a huge fan of cheeses, all types. One of my favorites is definitely Jarlsberg. As you may remember, a few months ago I was the lucky recipient of some of that fine cheese which I turned into some yummy Jarlsberg rosemary breadsticks. So when I was invited to participate in 29 Ways to Leap into Jarlsberg Dip, a SideCar event through Kitchen Play, I knew this would be a good fit and jumped at the opportunity.

As if Jarlsberg cheese by itself couldn’t get any better, they kicked it up a notch. They elevated that wonderful cheese to something beyond addictive. Jarlsberg has now created a dip! They’ve taken that distinctive nutty cheese, combined it with real mayonnaise and red onion to create an amazing, delectable dip that (I kid you not) I couldn’t stop eating!

As soon as I tasted it, my wheels started turning with ideas of all the things that I could dip into this Jarlsberg yumminess as well as what I could put this dip on and in. I immediately thought of macaroni and cheese. Tender pasta drenched in creamy, smooth cheese. I like to bake mine with even more cheese on top. Normally when I make my macaroni and cheese, I’ve always just used cheddar alone. I couldn’t wait to see what Jarlsberg would add to good ol’ mac and cheese.

I’m here to tell you, you need to make this! Really, truly! You need to. With the addition of the Jarlsberg dip with red onion, my macaroni and cheese became even creamier and more decadent. The Jarlsberg adds its distinct flavor and melds so nicely with the cheddar. The red onions add a wonderful, subtle flavor that I wouldn’t have thought to add to my macaroni and cheese. Now I wouldn’t eat it without it. All this lusciousness gets topped with more grated cheddar and Jarlberg then pop it in the oven and bake until bubble and a little brown on top. Delicious!

I couldn’t stop there though. This dip was so good I had to put in on other things too. One of my favorite lunches is a nice, tender roast beef sandwich with lettuce, tomatoes, onion, swiss cheese and mayo. This dip makes the perfect sandwich topper!

The slightly nutty and tangy dip was just the complement to my roast beef. It took my favorite sandwich to new heights. Now, every time I have a sandwich I have a feeling it will be topped with this tasty dip. Jarlsberg Dip can be eaten hot or cold, no matter what it’s just simply delicious! I think you will find that if you give it a try, you will want to put it on everything too!

So, get this! If you want to get your hands on some of this fantastically addictive Jarslberg Dip with Red Onion, you can get that and some other tasty items in a giveaway over at the Jarlsberg site. You could win a tailgate tote filled not only with this amazing dip but also some Jarlsberg Lite cheese, Snofrisk which is a Norwegian style cream cheese, crispbreads, honey cremes and some honey vinegar too! Talk about a tasty tote! Just click here to head on over and see 29 ways you can leap into Jarlsberg Dip and enter this amazing giveaway.

Enjoy!

~K

One Year Ago: Cookie Bar NYC & The Illustrious Dorie Greenspan

Jarlsberg Cheddar Macaroni & Cheese 

1 box dried macaroni or small shells

1 whole egg, beaten

4 Tablespoons butter

4 Tablespoons all-purpose flour

2 cups whole milk (or if you want it super creamy, 1 cup whole milk and 1 cup light cream)

1 – 1 1/2 teaspoons dry mustard (I use a very heavy, heaping 1 1/2 just cause I love the flavor dry mustard lends to mac and cheese)

2 cups cheddar cheese, divided

1 container Jarlsberg Dip with Red Onion

1/2 teaspoon salt

1/4 teaspoon ground black pepper

1/2 cup shredded Jarlsberg cheese

– Cook the pasta until very al dente, about 2 minutes less than the recommended cooking time. Drain.

– Preheat oven to 350 degrees.

– In a large pot, melt the butter and sprinkle in the flour. Whisk constantly over medium-low heat for 5 minutes, until smooth and bubbly.

– Add in the mustard, salt and pepper. Slowly pour in the milk, whisking constantly. Continue to stir until the mixture is smooth and thickens, about 6-8 minutes.

– Add in 1 1/2 cups cheddar cheese and the container of Jarlsberg Dip with Red Onion and stir until melted.

– Taste and add more salt, if desired. Pour in the cooked pasta and stir to combine.

– Pour mixture into a buttered baking dish and sprinkle with remaining cheddar and shredded Jarlsberg cheese. Bake for 20 minutes, or until bubbly and lightly browned on top.

– Enjoy!

*Disclosure: I was provided with compensation in order to purchase Jarlsberg Original Cheese Dip with Red Onion and needed ingredients however,  the opinions expressed here are my own.

About FoodBabbles

I'm just a girl with a passion for good food. Especially the sweet side of life. I love to eat it, make it, read about it... if it has to do with food, it's for me. I'd like to share my food, writing and photos with you. Sometimes they come out great. Other times, well... there are some mishaps but I'll share those with you too. I'm only human! Either way, I enjoy it and hope you will too! So here are sugary, sweet culinary delights from my talented yet dangerously klutzy hands so obviously not bred to work with sharp knives and hot ovens.
This entry was posted in Pasta and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Jarlsberg Cheddar Macaroni & Cheese + 1 Other ~ A SideCar Event at Kitchen Play

  1. chefconnie says:

    That macaroni and cheese sounds delicious.

  2. I’ve never seen this dip, but I bet we have a version of it at the deli in our grocery store. I’ll be looking for that today. I’ve never thought of using dips in sandwiches.. brilliant way to brighten up a lunch!

    • FoodBabbles says:

      I had a hard time finding the dip initially but once I did, it was so worth it. This dip is really tasty! And I kid you not, that was the best roast beef sandwich I’d ever eaten. Yum!!!

  3. I can’t believe that I didn’t think to use it on a sandwich. It would be so perfect since the mayo is already mixed in.

  4. That sounds great! I love any kind of mac n cheese 🙂

Talk To Me!

