Carrot Ginger Orange Smoothie ~ Improv Challenge


This month I have something new for you! Yes, I have involved myself with yet another food project. I just found out about Improv Challenge through the blog, Frugal Antics of a Harried Homemaker. Each month we’ll be given two ingredients to do with what we please and then we post the recipe we came up with. Fun, right? I thought so. So I immediately put my name on the list and dove right in.

This month our ingredients were carrots and ginger. These two ingredients automatically go together. I’ve seen a ton of soups, muffins, and of course, there’s always good ol’ fashion carrot cake. Yum! But I decided to go a different direction. It is still close enough to the beginning of this fine new year to think that many of you may still be staying true to a healthy new year’s resolution. So I thought I would help you along your way down the path of wellness.

Today I have for you a cool, refreshing smoothing. It comes together in just a few minutes and it’s the perfect way to start your day or give you a little “pick me up” when you hit that wall in the afternoon. I combined carrot juice, orange juice, peaches and fresh minced ginger to make a healthy and delicious drink that’s sure to have you feeling good about what you’re putting in your body.

Enjoy!

~K



 

 

One Year Ago: The Family Dinner & A Whole Roasted Chicken

Carrot Ginger Orange Smoothie

1 cup carrot juice

1 cup orange juice

2 cups frozen peach slices

1 Tablespoon fresh minced ginger root

– Blend everything together in a blender and pour into glasses. Serve immediately.

– Enjoy!

About FoodBabbles

I'm just a girl with a passion for good food. Especially the sweet side of life. I love to eat it, make it, read about it... if it has to do with food, it's for me. I'd like to share my food, writing and photos with you. Sometimes they come out great. Other times, well... there are some mishaps but I'll share those with you too. I'm only human! Either way, I enjoy it and hope you will too! So here are sugary, sweet culinary delights from my talented yet dangerously klutzy hands so obviously not bred to work with sharp knives and hot ovens.
This entry was posted in Drinks, Improv Challenge and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

34 Responses to Carrot Ginger Orange Smoothie ~ Improv Challenge

  1. What a great smoothie recipe! The ginger must give it just the perfect little zip:)

  2. Kristen says:

    So glad you joined us. Those smoothies look wonderful. I love it when people think outside the box in this challenge. There are some really fun entries.

  3. This challenge sounds exiting! Great creative recipe 🙂

  4. Lisa~~ says:

    Your smoothie sounds refreshing and delicious, nice take on the challenge ingredients.

    If you haven’t already, I’d love for you to check out my Improv Cooking Challenge entry: Shrimp & Avocado Salad with Carrot Ginger Dressing

    Lisa~~
    Cook Lisa Cook

  5. Paige says:

    This looks so yummy! We love smoothies in our house. I would love for you to come by and link up to my Recipe Party at The Sweet Spot!

  6. kita says:

    I have been trying my hand at smoothies lately and these are flavors I hadn’t even contemplated yet! Thanks for the inspiration. 🙂

  7. Mimi says:

    It sounds delicious and what a great way to get your daily dose of beta carotene.
    Mimi

  8. This is like a healthy Orand Julius! Thanks for sharing! Come check out my Carrot Cake Ice Cream!

  9. ping says:

    This is great! Another super idea! I love smoothies and this is a perfect pick-me-up. Think I’m gonna make this in a while … 😀

  10. These look amazing; I’m always looking for fun and healthy recipes! Found you through the challenge!

  11. Chaya says:

    Welcome to Improv. It is lots of fun. A smoothie is a great idea for these ingredients. I wish, I had seen this before dinner. Sigh.

  12. Anna says:

    What a great idea for a smoothie! I am in!

  13. WOW – is that gorgeous – would never think of combining those as a drink but now I totally want to make this (plus your photos are stunning.) I think you just convinced me to sign up for another food challenge too 🙂

  14. Wow, I love the fresh flavors you used in this smoothie Kate! It looks so wholesome and flavorful. Thanks for sharing! Great blog you have here – I’m glad to have found you!

  15. Kiri W. says:

    I never considered a smoothie with these ingredients – what a lovely recipe! 🙂 Love all the different takes in the challenge!

  16. mjskit says:

    I want this for breakfast in the morning! Love the addition of the peaches with the carrot and ginger!

  17. Maureen says:

    I’ve just started having smoothies (I’m a late bloomer) and I love them. I can’t wait to gry this one. I love carrot and ginger juice so this is the next big step. 🙂

Talk To Me!

