Grapefruit Tart


To be honest, I am not a grapefruit lover however each and every year, without fail about this time of the year, I’m the recipient of a rather large box of grapefruits as well as oranges. I always scoff down the oranges with rabid appeal. In fact, you saw some of those oranges go to very good use recently in some incredibly tasty orange pound cake muffins. Sadly, most of the time the grapefruit goes to waste or I give it away. This year I decided to revisit the grapefruit and give it another shot.

I always eat grapefruit as part of some larger plan to eat healthier. I sprinkle a little Splenda or something of that nature, on it and try to stomach the sour citrus in the name of better health. This year I decided to destroy nearly all nutritional value by adding it to a tart. Wouldn’t you know, turns out I love grapefruit now! All joking aside, I used ruby red grapefruit and I haven’t had grapefruit for years. I honestly enjoyed the grapefruit by itself. Maddy and I ate quite a bit of it as I baked this tart. You don’t have to love grapefruit to love this tart… even my mother-in-law, who much like myself doesn’t normally enjoy grapefruit, liked this tart.

But back to the unhealthy but incredibly tasty version of grapefruit. This tart has a ginger spiked graham crust that just makes the entire dessert. There’s also a ton of grapefruit zest in both the crust and filling making for a massively fresh citrus taste which is always a win in my book. I love when the vibrancy of citrus shines through in each and every bite you take. When eating this tart, that’s exactly what happens.

You may use whatever grapefruit you choose but ruby red seemed a little sweeter to me. They were less sour than grapefruit I’ve tried in the past. Combine the sweet, slightly tart flavor of grapefruit with the mellow flavor of cream cheese, a little sour cream, sweetness from brown sugar, the freshness of all that zest and you’ve got a winning dessert for sure. This tart was easy to make and so very good. I’m sure you’ll love it, even if you aren’t a fan of grapefruit.

Enjoy!

~K

One Year Ago: In Pursuit Of Warmer Days … Lemon Squares 

Grapefruit Tart   Adapted from Cuisine At Home

1/2 cup packed light brown sugar

1 1/2 cup graham cracker crumbs

1 Tablespoon fresh minced ginger

1/2 teaspoon salt

3 Tablespoons minced grapefruit zest, divided

1 stick unsalted butter, melted

1 (8 oz) package cream cheese, softened

1/3 cup sour cream

2 Tablespoons brown sugar

2 cups fresh grapefruit segments (Great video of how to segment a grapefruit!)

sprinkle of sugar

– Preheat oven to 350 degrees.

– In a food processor, pulse together 1/2 cup brown sugar, graham cracker crumbs, ginger, 1 tablespoon zest and salt. Drizzle in melted butter with processor running until clumps form and everything is moistened.

– Press the crust mixture into the bottom and up the sides of a 9″ tart pan with removable bottom. Bake crust until firm, about 20 minutes. Let the crust cool completely.

– Combine the cream cheese, sour cream, 2 tablespoons brown sugar, and remaining 2 tablespoons zest with a hand mixer until smooth. Spread mixture over crust.

– Top with grapefruit segments and sprinkle with sugar.

– Enjoy!

About FoodBabbles

I'm just a girl with a passion for good food. Especially the sweet side of life. I love to eat it, make it, read about it... if it has to do with food, it's for me. I'd like to share my food, writing and photos with you. Sometimes they come out great. Other times, well... there are some mishaps but I'll share those with you too. I'm only human! Either way, I enjoy it and hope you will too! So here are sugary, sweet culinary delights from my talented yet dangerously klutzy hands so obviously not bred to work with sharp knives and hot ovens.
This entry was posted in Desserts and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Grapefruit Tart

  1. snixykitchen says:

    This tart looks SO tasty! I’ll have to try it out!

  2. Rhonda says:

    I’m a lover of all things citrus and especially grapefruit. Can’t wait to try this.

  3. I love grapefruit! Have you tried broiling it, it’s sweeter and so amazing that way for a snack! Or make lemon bars with grapefruit juice instead of lemon juice…yum 🙂

Talk To Me!

