Apple Pie Oatmeal ~ Secret Recipe Club


This month for The Secret Recipe Club, I was assigned the blog Angel’s Homestead. On her site you will find a ton of information! Not only will you find some delicious, good old fashion home cookin’ type recipes you will also learn about meal planning as well as how to be more frugal. Also, as of the new year you will find many of her recipes are gluten-free which is a big plus for those of you out there who eat gluten-free.

As I perused Angel’s Homestead, I found so many different recipes. Each month, it’s always so hard to pick from everyone’s tempting recipes. I decided I wanted to do something for breakfast. As I looked through the breakfast section on her blog, I came across “Apple Pie Oatmeal.” I love oatmeal on a chilly winter morning and I love apple pie just about any time so I decided that was the way to go. Although, I also was very tempted to make Pumpkin Pie Oatmeal. I think I just really like pie!

This oatmeal truly was like eating apple pie for breakfast. All the flavors are there. The sweetness of a little brown sugar, the warmth of cinnamon and nutmeg, the slight tartness of apples all swimming together in this hearty oatmeal. It was thick, warm and left our bellies very full. I wasn’t sure the recipe would make very much but it was enough to feed 3 people a good, filling breakfast.

Enjoy!

~K

One Year Ago: In Pursuit of Warmer Days… Lemon Squares



Apple Pie Oatmeal every so slightly adapted from Angel’s Homestead

1 apple, peeled and diced

1 Tablespoon butter

1 Tablespoon brown sugar

1 teaspoon cinnamon

1/4 teaspoon nutmeg

1/2 teaspoon salt

1 cup rolled oats

1 1/2 cups apple cider

1/2 cup water

– Combine the butter and sugar in a heavy saucepan over medium heat and cook for 2 minutes, stirring frequently, until melted and blended.

– Add the apples, cinnamon, nutmeg and salt and cook for about 4 minutes, stirring, until the apples release their juices.

– Add the oats and cook for about 2 more minutes, until the juices are absorbed, stirring to prevent sticking.

– Add the apple juice and water and bring to a boil. Reduce the heat to a simmer, cover and cook for 7 to 10 minutes, until the oatmeal is thick and the apples are soft.

– Let the cooked oatmeal rest, covered, for 2 minutes. Serve hot.

– Enjoy!

About FoodBabbles

I'm just a girl with a passion for good food. Especially the sweet side of life. I love to eat it, make it, read about it... if it has to do with food, it's for me. I'd like to share my food, writing and photos with you. Sometimes they come out great. Other times, well... there are some mishaps but I'll share those with you too. I'm only human! Either way, I enjoy it and hope you will too! So here are sugary, sweet culinary delights from my talented yet dangerously klutzy hands so obviously not bred to work with sharp knives and hot ovens.
This entry was posted in Breakfast, Secret Recipe Club and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to Apple Pie Oatmeal ~ Secret Recipe Club

  1. Erin says:

    Dessert in breakfast form? Well done.

  2. Sarah E. says:

    My husband would LOVE this recipe. I’m not big on apple pie – I know, such a weirdo, right? But he loves apple pie and he is such a finicky breakfast eater.

    • FoodBabbles says:

      Sounds like my husband! Although even I couldn’t get him to eat oatmeal even with the promise of apple pie flavor. For him it’s only cherry PopTarts that will cross his lips

  3. Jenni says:

    Yum! Apple pie is one of my favorites! And eating it for breakfast would be amazing!

  4. April @ Angel's Homestead says:

    Anything that makes a good for you meal taste like dessert is a winner in my book. Thank you, you did an awesome job on my recipe! 🙂

  5. Lisa~~ says:

    This sounds amazing and so much healthier than the cinnamon apple instant that I usually use.

    If you haven’t already, I’d love for you to check out my Group ‘A’ SRC entry: Crunchy Fudgy Heart Bites and my Group ‘D’ entry: Health(ier) Peanut Brittle

    Lisa~~
    Cook Lisa Cook

  6. Casey says:

    Yum!! Apple pie oatmeal…now that will sure get me out of bed in the morning!

  7. anything that has apples in it just makes my little heart-soul sing. it really does. i adore apples – especially if they’re with cinnamon. i’ll have this on saturday for breakfast perhaps 🙂

    happy src day!

  8. iamahoneybee says:

    oo when we pick fresh apples we will have to give this a try.

  9. Pingback: Oatmeal Muffins with Blueberries & Coconut ~ #MuffinMonday | FoodBabbles

Talk To Me!

