Mocha Chocolate Eclairs ~ #FirstOnTheFirst


Chocolate eclairs are one of those things that make my mouth salivate as I gaze longing at them through the glass of the bakery case. That light, airy dough filled with creamy vanilla custard and topped with rich chocolate. Surely, this isn’t something I could make at home. Or is it?

This month for First on the First, we’re visiting the French once more. We challenged ourselves to make choux pastry for eclairs. Choux pastry is light dough made with only butter, water, flour and eggs. I was surprised to learn that there is no raising agents in choux pastry. Apparently the high moisture content creates steam which causes the dough to puff.

I was also pleasantly surprised by how easy it was to make eclairs! Combine a few ingredients and 10 minutes later you’ve got choux pastry baking in the oven. Fill ’em up and dunk them in some chocolate and you’re good to go! It’s that easy. So maybe you’ll try your hand at making eclairs or profiteroles or even crullers, they can all be made with choux pastry.

I used this recipe from Food Network to try my hand at making eclairs for the first time. The only variation I made was adding 1 1/2 teaspoons espresso powder to the heavy cream to make a mocha ganache topping.

Now don’t forget to go check out how all the other First On The First participants did! And please, join us next month!! We’re going to give royal icing a try. I’ve know I’ve never worked with or made royal icing before so it should be a great challenge.

Powered by Linky Tools

Click here to enter your link and view this Linky Tools list…

Enjoy!

~K

About FoodBabbles

I'm just a girl with a passion for good food. Especially the sweet side of life. I love to eat it, make it, read about it... if it has to do with food, it's for me. I'd like to share my food, writing and photos with you. Sometimes they come out great. Other times, well... there are some mishaps but I'll share those with you too. I'm only human! Either way, I enjoy it and hope you will too! So here are sugary, sweet culinary delights from my talented yet dangerously klutzy hands so obviously not bred to work with sharp knives and hot ovens.
This entry was posted in Desserts, First on the First and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

22 Responses to Mocha Chocolate Eclairs ~ #FirstOnTheFirst

  1. Wow – those look awesome and love the addition of espresso powder for the glaze. I think I made it too hard on myself this month trying to switch up the recipe but I still had fun making them. Loving the First on The First this year!

  2. Fantastic idea adding espresso powder for a kick! Isn’t it so rewarding when you find you can make the things you drool over at the bakery? I love that! 🙂

  3. Pingback: hiddenponies – First on the First: Eclairs!

  4. Mmm, your topping looks so perfect! I was also amazed how easy these were (and relieved, given when I started on them :))

    • FoodBabbles says:

      Thanks! And I know how it is… I often procrastinate also. Or my kids make it impossible for me to get around to projects until the last minute. Either way, yours turned out great.

  5. I’m so jealous, yours turned out so pretty!

  6. Ooooh! Yours are so pretty. What a great picture at the end there. Eclairs are not very photogenic (sp?), but you nailed it.

    • FoodBabbles says:

      Thanks so much Donna! I agree, they were a hard thing to photograph and I wasn’t feeling like I nailed it so thank you for saying so 🙂 I appreciate it!

  7. Medeja says:

    Oh I love them, but I think I wouldn’t dare to try making them 🙂

    • FoodBabbles says:

      You could totally pull it off!! I was surprised by how easy it was. Honestly. And quick too! You should join us for First on the First… It’s fun and we try something new each month. Even if it isn’t something new for everyone maybe it would be something to revisit and perfect. Either way… It’s a great group of people and everyone seems to enjoy it. We’d love to have you!

  8. These eclairs look so great. I’ve always been somewhat intimidated to make them so I steered clear of eclair recipes but now, I can’t wait to give these a try!

    Thanks for the inspiration!

    • FoodBabbles says:

      I’m so glad you like them! Thanks very much. I hear ya… Prior to this challenge, I never thought they were something that would be so easy to do myself! If you make them, let me know how it goes. Good luck!!

  9. Veronica says:

    Beautiful! This is on my bucket list, to make these. They are one of my absolute FAVORITE desserts. You’ve just triggered a craving. 🙂

  10. Karen says:

    Gosh, these look SO good! I haven’t made eclairs in years, and I know why… I’d eat every last one of them!

  11. avril says:

    Oh my yumminess!!! I have been dreaming about making eclairs all day….and then I see your lovely post! – PERFECT! 🙂

  12. Pingback: Citrus Churros ~ #FirstOnTheFirst | FoodBabbles

Talk To Me!