Potato Chip Cookies


Come on, admit it … when you saw the title of this post you probably thought “What??” and were more than just a little curious. I know when I saw these cookies in a recent issue of Cuisine At Home I was intrigued the moment I saw the title. Potatoes aren’t generally a common ingredient found in cookies or most sweet baked goods, for that matter. So I absolutely needed to give them a try.

These cookies are awesome! There’s no other way to put it. They’re just awesome. I already loved the idea of a sweet/salty combo. That always gets my attention. These cookies have finely crushed potato chips in the batter and then get a second round of salted crispy taters folded in before baking along with some chocolate chips. The combination of the crisp, salty potato chips balances so nicely with the semi-sweet chocolate chips. These are the type of cookies that you won’t be able to stop munching on.

Enjoy!

~K

One Year Ago: Snickerdoodle Pie

Potato Chip Cookies  Slightly adapted from Cuisine At Home

2 cups all-purpose flour

1 cup finely crushed plain potato chips

1 teaspoon baking powder

1/2 teaspoon table salt

3/4 cup butter, softened

1/2 cup granulated sugar

1/2 cup packed brown sugar

2 eggs

1 teaspoon vanilla extract

2 cups coarsely crushed plain potato chips (the saltier, the better!)

1/2 cup mini-chocolate chips

– Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Line a baking sheet with parchment paper.

– Whisk together flour, 1 cup finely crushed potato chips, baking powder and salt in a bowl; set aside.

– Cream together butter and both sugars in a bowl with a mixer on medium speed, 3-5 minutes. Add the eggs and vanilla; beat to combine. Mix in flour mixture until combined.

– Fold in the 2 cups coarsely crushed potato chips and chocolate chips.

– Scoop dough onto prepared baking sheets (about 2 tablespoons each cookie) and bake until edges are set, 12-14 minutes.

– Cool 2 minutes on baking sheets and then transfer to wire rack to cool completely.

– Enjoy!

About FoodBabbles

I'm just a girl with a passion for good food. Especially the sweet side of life. I love to eat it, make it, read about it... if it has to do with food, it's for me. I'd like to share my food, writing and photos with you. Sometimes they come out great. Other times, well... there are some mishaps but I'll share those with you too. I'm only human! Either way, I enjoy it and hope you will too! So here are sugary, sweet culinary delights from my talented yet dangerously klutzy hands so obviously not bred to work with sharp knives and hot ovens.
This entry was posted in Cookies and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Potato Chip Cookies

  1. Megan says:

    omg. i LOVE the sweet/salty combo. I need to put this on my to-make list asap!

  2. I am one who did not think, ‘WHAT?’ because I have a recipe for them too and LOVE them. My recipe on the blog are from an old cookbook and are without nuts or chips (although I have started to include toasted pecans…yum) and rolled in powdered sugar but either way what I love is that something so old is now new again…it’s that salt business isn’t it. SO good.

    • FoodBabbles says:

      I love the idea of rolling them in powdered sugar. Yum!! Now I need to go check out your recipe. And yes, it’s cool how everything comes around full circle 🙂

  3. Reblogged this on meatnight and commented:
    Trying this!!!

  4. Jamie says:

    I have to tell you that every time I visit family in Florida I bring back a box of chocolate-covered potato chips! Heaven! The cookies look so good but I would be afraid that I would be addicted in one bite. Okay, I have to try them. Great recipe!

  5. These definitely look like the kind of cookie I wouldn’t be able to stop munching! Yum.

  6. It is funny, I loved the post right away, these cookies look delicious! I love the idea of mixing the sweet and salty together:-) Hugs, Terra

Talk To Me!

