Tropical Trio Muffins ~ #MuffinMonday


Not that we’ve even really had much of a winter here in New Jersey, but I’m ready for Spring. I don’t think I’ve even used my winter coat more than once. But even with the mild winter, I’m so ready for warm, sunny days and taking the girls to the park. Now that Molly is a “supported sitter,” once that warm weather does arrive she’ll probably be able to sit in the little baby swings and I’m so excited for that! It’s the little things in life and the thought of taking Maddy and Molly to the park makes me happy so bring on the sunshine!

In the meantime, you can make these muffins if you want to start your day off with a little sunshine. One bite of these makes me think of being on a warm, tropical sandy beach somewhere. It made me want to ship right off to somewhere warm and tropical and it made me a little sad that I couldn’t be that impulsive. Who knew a morning muffin could elicit such emotion? Ha! I love the bits of pineapple, coconut and mango scattered throughout the moist cake. Then the toasted coconut on top makes it complete. Honestly, these muffins taste like lazy sunny days.

Enjoy!

~K

Muffin Monday is an initiative by Baker Street. A culinary journey of sharing a wickedly delicious muffin recipe every week. Drop in a quick line to join her on her journey to make the world smile and beat glum Monday mornings week after week.

Tropical Trio Muffins (Coconut, Pineapple & Mango) 

Adapted from Gourmet May 2004

1 1/2 cups all-purpose flour

1/2 cup sugar

1/2 teaspoon baking soda

2 teaspoons baking powder

1/4 teaspoon salt

1/2 cup buttermilk

1/4 cup crushed pineapple, drained

1 egg

1 teaspoon vanilla

2 Tablespoons unsalted butter, melted

1/2 cup sweetened, flaked coconut plus extra for topping

1/4 cup dried mango, coarsely chopped

– Preheat oven to 375 degrees. Line a muffin pan with paper liners.

– In a large bowl, whisk together flour, sugar, baking powder, baking soda, and salt.

– In a medium bowl, combine the buttermilk, pineapple, egg, vanilla, and melted butter.

– Add the wet ingredients to the dry ingredients and stir just until moistened. Fold in the coconut and mango.

– Fill 12 muffin cups 3/4 full and top with a sprinkle of shredded coconut. Bake 20-25 minutes until golden. Cool on a wire rack.

– Enjoy!

About FoodBabbles

I'm just a girl with a passion for good food. Especially the sweet side of life. I love to eat it, make it, read about it... if it has to do with food, it's for me. I'd like to share my food, writing and photos with you. Sometimes they come out great. Other times, well... there are some mishaps but I'll share those with you too. I'm only human! Either way, I enjoy it and hope you will too! So here are sugary, sweet culinary delights from my talented yet dangerously klutzy hands so obviously not bred to work with sharp knives and hot ovens.
This entry was posted in Muffin Monday, Muffins and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Tropical Trio Muffins ~ #MuffinMonday

  1. Love that you added pineapple AND dried mango! I wanted to add pineapple too but I completely forgot about it when I was at the store and I was too lazy to go back so I just added some orange zest. Next time though!

  2. tropical trio indeed all of my faves! i’m definitley going to try this with dried mango and pineapple next time 🙂

  3. chefconnie says:

    OOO….pretty. I love anything with pineapple.

  4. Deb says:

    I adore the tropical flavor pairing of coconut, mango and pineapple! I am daydreaming about summer sunshine and a having a cup of steaming hot coffee with one of these delightful muffins.

Talk To Me!

