Cherry-Pistachio Nougat


In the past the extent of my nougat consumption experiences have mostly consisted of the type that come in a few well-known candy bars and I’ve been okay with that. I don’t know that I’ve ever had any burning desire to seek out anything more. That is until I finally caught up on my recent issues of Bon Appetit and saw cherry pistachio nougat.

Their picture of snowy white nougat enveloping bright pistachios and vibrant red cherries just drew me in. Unfortunately, my pictures do not do this candy justice like theirs did however, the taste is amazing. The toasted pistachios are perfectly balanced by the tart sweetness of dried cherries.

What’s even better is making this candy was much easier than I anticipated. Now with that realization, I can see many nougat variations… how about almonds and cranberries next time? How about a chocolate nougat? The possibilities are endless.

Enjoy!

~K

One Year Ago: Lemon Blueberry Loaf

I changed nothing from this recipe. It can be found HERE.

About FoodBabbles

I'm just a girl with a passion for good food. Especially the sweet side of life. I love to eat it, make it, read about it... if it has to do with food, it's for me. I'd like to share my food, writing and photos with you. Sometimes they come out great. Other times, well... there are some mishaps but I'll share those with you too. I'm only human! Either way, I enjoy it and hope you will too! So here are sugary, sweet culinary delights from my talented yet dangerously klutzy hands so obviously not bred to work with sharp knives and hot ovens.
This entry was posted in Candy and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Cherry-Pistachio Nougat

  1. timethief says:

    Wow! I have got to try this recipe and impress my girlfriends with it. The pistacios and cherries are a great combination but now I’m thinking of some others I could try. I have some candied oranges and banana chips and I may try. Thanks for sharing.

  2. These are so cute. They would be so pretty for Christmas.

  3. Nothing beats pistachios with dried cherries – what I always use in my christmas biscotti. But back to the nougat, I think your photos ARE beautifully snowy white and looks divine! I’ve never made nougat before (hmmm, may have to try it since I didn’t participate in the April First on the First 🙂

    • FoodBabbles says:

      Oooo!!! I agree pistachios and dried cherries in biscotti sounds so good! and thank you so much for the compliment on the photos 🙂 This is such an easy project, you should definitely give it a try!

  4. Ooo, chocolate nougat would be aMAZing, or some kind of caramel…mmm, you’ve got me thinking!

  5. Hm, I’ve never tried making nougat before (haven’t even considered it) but those photos…hm, have to think about it:)

Talk To Me!

