Rice Pudding Muffins ~ #MuffinMonday


I had no idea you could “muffinize” rice pudding!! But it’s been done. I learned this new word the other day and it’s the perfect way to explain this muffin. A fellow food blogger (and fellow muffin maker) used the term in her last Muffin Monday post when she explained that she loves to “muffinize” things. She likes to make all sorts of desserts and flavors that she enjoys into muffin form. Rice pudding has been muffinized this week!

Not just the flavors of rice pudding, although they’re all there but the actual rice is in there too! I’ve never made, nor eaten a muffin with whole grains of rice in the batter. Now that I have though, I can say it’s a wonderful ingredient. Adding rice is no different than adding texture to a muffin by adding chopped nuts or fruit. This muffin was truly like eating a cakey rice pudding. Tender rice, lots of nutmeg and I added in some raisins because I like my rice pudding with raisins. I was a little leery as I read the ingredient list but after giving them a try, I am officially hooked! These were by far, one of my favorite muffins to date.

Enjoy!

~K

Muffin Monday is an initiative by Baker Street. A culinary journey of sharing a wickedly delicious muffin recipe every week. Drop in a quick line to join her on her journey to make the world smile and beat glum Monday mornings week after week.

Rice Pudding Muffins  Minimally adapted from The Ultimate Muffin Book

Makes 12 muffins

 

1 1/4 cups cooked white rice

1/2 cup heavy cream

4 Tablespoons unsalted butter, melted and cooled

1 1/2 cups all-purpose flour

2/3 cup sugar

1 Tablespoon baking powder

1/2 teaspoon grated nutmeg

1/2 teaspoon salt

1 large egg, room temperature

1 cup milk

3/4 cup raisins

1 teaspoon vanilla extract

 

– Preheat the oven to 400 degrees and position the rack in the center of the oven. Line a muffin pan with liners.

– In a large bowl, combine the rice, cream and butter. Set aside for 10 minutes.

– In another bowl, whisk the flour, sugar, baking powder, nutmeg and salt. Set aside.

– In a small bowl whisk together the milk and egg. Stir the egg mixture into the rice mixture.

– Stir in the raisins and vanilla extract. Add the dry ingredients to the wet ingredients and stir just until incorporated. Do not over mix.

– Fill the muffin liners 3/4 full. Bake for 22 minutes or until a tester comes out clean. Cool for 5 minutes in the pan and then remove to a wire rack to cool.

– Enjoy!


About FoodBabbles

I'm just a girl with a passion for good food. Especially the sweet side of life. I love to eat it, make it, read about it... if it has to do with food, it's for me. I'd like to share my food, writing and photos with you. Sometimes they come out great. Other times, well... there are some mishaps but I'll share those with you too. I'm only human! Either way, I enjoy it and hope you will too! So here are sugary, sweet culinary delights from my talented yet dangerously klutzy hands so obviously not bred to work with sharp knives and hot ovens.
This entry was posted in Muffin Monday, Muffins and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Rice Pudding Muffins ~ #MuffinMonday

  1. Medeja says:

    How awesome! I must try this! It sounds so interesting!

  2. Hey Kate! Nice to bake with you again this week – and love all this “muffinizing” talk! 😉 I’ve never tried rice in baked goods for texture either, but I really enjoyed it. Wonder how brown rice would do in something like this? Especially in a savoury muffin? Have a great week!

  3. georgiecakes says:

    WOW! These are so creative and I adore the idea of muffinizing, super cute. I think I could get hooked on these too.

  4. Boy, do these look good. I am now adding “muffinize” to my vocabulary.

  5. I’m loving the word “muffanize.” I think I’ll be using that a lot more frequently from now on, especially since I “muffanize” pretty much any baked dessert that I come across 🙂

    These muffins look great, as always. I wish I could’ve joined you guys this week!

Talk To Me!

