Coconut Macaroon Nests


As a child I can vividly remember my grandmother, as well as my mother making coconut wreaths at Christmas. They were coconut macaroons shaped like wreaths and decorated with little cinnamon candies. Such delightful little cookies that bring back such wonderful childhood memories. I adore coconut and recently found myself traveling a long thought process that led me to thinking about those cookies for some reason.

So I decided I needed to make coconut macaroons, not to be confused with macarons which are my latest passion and challenge. Macaroons are just about one of the easiest cookies to make. You simply combine the coconut with a mixture of egg whites and sweetened condensed milk and that’s about it. Bake them up and you’ve got a quick, easy cookie with a slightly crisp exterior and a chewy interior that are the perfect contrast. Even better, put a little indent in the center and you’ve got the perfect place to dollop a little something wonderful.

In my nests, I decided to put Biscoff spread. I don’t know if you’re familiar with Biscoff cookies but they’re a delightful little European cookies from Belgium and they also make it into a spread that’s very much akin to the consistency of peanut butter.

Given Maddy’s severe peanut allergy, peanut butter is a gigantic “no go” in our house so sometimes I spread a little Biscoff on some toast for her. But peanut butter would be another brilliant thing to place in the center of your nest. Or how about Nutella or fudge? So many possibilities! Then the last step is to place some “eggs” in your nest. I used Cadbury Mini-Eggs in mine but you could use jelly beans or anything “egg-like.”

These cute little nests come together in mere minutes and are sure to be devoured. I made some plain and some chocolate too. They’ll make the perfect Easter treat! Of course, if it’s not Easter they’ll make a great treat too all by themselves.

Enjoy!

~K

One Year Ago: Chocolate Chip Cookie Ice Cream Freeze

Coconut Macaroon Nests 

2 egg whites

1 (14 oz) can  sweetened condensed milk

1 teaspoon almond extract

1/8 teaspoon salt

1 (14 oz) bag sweetened shredded coconut

3 Tablespoons cocoa powder (if desired, to make chocolate macaroons)

Biscoff spread (or filling of choice)

Egg candy

– Preheat oven to 325 degrees and line a baking sheet with parchment paper.

– In a large bowl combine the egg whites, sweetened condensed milk, almond extract and salt. Fold in the coconut until well combined.

– Take 2-3 tablespoons of filling and form into a ball. Place on prepared baking sheet and create a depression in the center of the coconut ball to resemble a nest. (I used my hands and the back side of a large melon baller.)

– Bake 15-20 minutes until golden brown. Cool on the pan for about 5 minutes before moving them to a cooling rack. Cool completely.

– Fill center with Biscoff spread and top with 2 or 3 eggs.

– Enjoy!

About FoodBabbles

I'm just a girl with a passion for good food. Especially the sweet side of life. I love to eat it, make it, read about it... if it has to do with food, it's for me. I'd like to share my food, writing and photos with you. Sometimes they come out great. Other times, well... there are some mishaps but I'll share those with you too. I'm only human! Either way, I enjoy it and hope you will too! So here are sugary, sweet culinary delights from my talented yet dangerously klutzy hands so obviously not bred to work with sharp knives and hot ovens.
This entry was posted in Cookies, Spring and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Coconut Macaroon Nests

  1. Great idea, love the edible nests. Perfect for Easter.

  2. What a great idea. And I love the addition of biscoff spread. I really need to find a jar of that soon!

  3. Aunt Mary says:

    Wow, these sound absolutely yummy! Any chance we might have some of them tomorrow?????

    • FoodBabbles says:

      They really were yummy however, no they won’t make an appearance tomorrow. I will be bringing some goodies that you will see on the blog later this month 😉

  4. Aunt Mary says:

    And how yummy they were! Loved the mini quiches and the other treats, sorry I forgot what you called them !! But they were good!

  5. Amanda says:

    These are an Easter tradition in my family! Glad to see them here! So delicious!

    • FoodBabbles says:

      I love family traditions. It’s always so amazing to me how a certain food can bring you right back to being a kid. Aren’t these such a fun and easy treat? I have such fond memories of my grandmother and mother making little Christmas wreath ones. So tasty!

Talk To Me!

