Strawberry Lemon Yogurt Muffins ~ #MuffinMonday


Happy Monday! This week we have a big burst of bright flavors. I have for you a strawberry lemon yogurt muffin. It’s full of juicy, red strawberries, lemon yogurt, lemon juice and lemon zest! You might think all that lemon would overpower the strawberries but it doesn’t. The two are a great combination and the lemon really enhances the sweetness of the strawberries. I had actually never had strawberries in a muffin before. I actually had contemplated using a different fruit all together. I’m so glad I didn’t change that part of this recipe!

As always, my favorite thing about muffins are that they come together in a snap and 20 minutes later you have a wonderful treat. These muffins are the perfect way to start any morning. They are just happy little muffins that will delight your taste buds.

Enjoy!

~K

Muffin Monday is an initiative by Baker Street. A culinary journey of sharing a wickedly delicious muffin recipe every week. Drop in a quick line to join her on her journey to make the world smile and beat glum Monday mornings week after week.

Strawberry Lemon Yogurt Muffins   Adapted from Taste of Home

1 3/4 cups all-purpose flour

3/4 cup sugar

1 teaspoon baking soda

2 eggs lightly beaten

6 ounces lemon yogurt

2 Tablespoons lemon juice

zest from 1 lemon

1/4 cup butter, melted and cooled

1 teaspoon vanilla extract

1 1/4 cups coarsely chopped fresh strawberries

– Preheat oven to 375 degrees. Line a muffin tin with 12 liners.

– In a medium bowl, combine the flour, sugar and baking soda.

– In a large bowl, combine the eggs, yogurt, lemon juice, lemon zest, cooled butter and vanilla extract.

– Add the dry ingredients to the wet ingredients and stir just until moistened. Fold in the strawberries.

– Fill the prepared muffins cups 2/3 full. Bake for 15-18 minutes. Move muffins to a rack to cool completely.

– Enjoy!

About FoodBabbles

I'm just a girl with a passion for good food. Especially the sweet side of life. I love to eat it, make it, read about it... if it has to do with food, it's for me. I'd like to share my food, writing and photos with you. Sometimes they come out great. Other times, well... there are some mishaps but I'll share those with you too. I'm only human! Either way, I enjoy it and hope you will too! So here are sugary, sweet culinary delights from my talented yet dangerously klutzy hands so obviously not bred to work with sharp knives and hot ovens.
This entry was posted in Muffin Monday, Muffins and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Strawberry Lemon Yogurt Muffins ~ #MuffinMonday

  1. Love the addition of lemon in here. I was thinking about adding lemon or orange zest but I think it slipped my mind. Oh well – it’ll give me an excuse to bake these again! 🙂

  2. Strawberry season makes me happy, beautiful muffins and a wonderful way to use those delicious berries.

  3. i bet the lemon really enhanced the strawberries flavor! and i also love how quick these were to make!

  4. Kate, these look so pretty and delicious. I love the combination of flavors you used.

  5. I never thought that lemons & strawberries would go well together. Then again there’s strawberry lemonade so I’m sure it was good!

  6. How cute are your muffins?! They look so lovely and fresh. The flavour combo of lemon and strawberry must have been fantastic. Great adaption!

  7. This is such a fabulous recipe! I truly love how easily adaptable it was. Your muffins look fantastic. I love the liners you used.

Talk To Me!

