Ginger Lemongrass Fizz ~ A Guest Post by Deanna of Teaspoon of Spice


For nearly a year now, I’ve been doing First on the First with Carrie. (Wow! That went fast!) At the beginning of the year, she and I decided why should we have all this fun all by ourselves? So we invited people to join us in trying something new each month and the response was wonderful! In the past few months we’ve built a great little group of people baking and blogging along with us and we keep growing! I always mention that “we” are making these things, but you all have no idea who “we” are.

In the coming months I’ll be hosting some of our First on the First bloggers here and introducing them to you. We’ve formed a talented group of people who are always up for a challenge and are so creative in their recipes each month, putting their own unique spin on them. So for the first guest here at Food Babbles, we have Deanna who is one half of the blog, Teaspoon of Spice. (You’ll also get to meet her co-blogger, Serena soon!) Thanks so much for posting here today, Deanna. I’m so glad to have you!

~K

Hi all – I’m Deanna– one half of the Teaspoon of Spice blog, which I write with my fellow dietitian and business partner, Serena. Our tag line is “two dietitians who love to eat as much as you do” as we are firm believers that all healthy food must and can taste delicious first and foremost. We believe in this so much that we co-started (with Regan of The Professional Palate) a membership based recipe challenge called The Recipe ReDux, which calls on members to develop a tasty & nutritious recipes each month based on a common theme.

Along with running my food/health communications business with Serena, Teaspoon Communications, I have spent the last few years diving into social media and loving every minute of it (heck, what did we do with our time before blogs, Twitter and Facebook??) In my spare time, I’m a mom to a 4½ year old daughter, a cranky 12-year-old cat and wife to a husband who is easily the pickiest eater in our house.

Back to why I love social media, here’s how I got connected with Kate. I first got to know Carrie of Poet in the Pantry during a monthly #spicechat (just an aside – this is a fantastic & fun Twitter chat that runs on the 1st Wednesday of every month at 4 pm EDT.) Then in December I learned about the “First On the First” monthly challenge she and Kate were launching. Serena & I were eager to sign up because it had nothing to do with nutrition but everything to do with building culinary skills. Plus, it’s been great fun to follow more creative foodie bloggers, including the talented and inspiring, Kate, whose photos and recipes frequently make me want to drop everything and make THAT NOW.

OK, so onto a recipe – this what I’ve been drinking almost daily for the last few weeks, Ginger Lemongrass Fizz. Now that spring is in the air and summer isn’t far behind, this simple refresher is a great way to increase your water intake while maybe replacing some of those not-so-good for you beverages (I’m still trying to kick my diet soda habit.) You can swap in different herbs when making the syrup (I’ve done basil) or add a few shots of fresh juice (like lime or even cantaloupe!) to make any flavor spritzer you like (next one I’m making? Kate’s Rosemary Infused Watermelon Lemonade.) I adapted the syrup from Food 52’s ginger syrup recipe.

Ginger Lemongrass Fizz

¼ cup peeled & sliced fresh ginger

2 stalks of chopped lemongrass (plus extra for garnish if you wish)

3 tablespoons sugar

3 tablespoons brown sugar

3/4 cup water

12 ounces of club soda or seltzer

Ice cubes

– In a small saucepan, add ginger, lemongrass, sugars and water. Stir with a whisk and bring to a boil. Lower heat and let simmer for 10 – 15 minutes. Remove from heat, cool completely then strain.

– In a tall glass, pour in 1 ½ – 2 tablespoons of syrup and 12 ounces of seltzer. Add ice and lemongrass sticks for garnish.

Note: you can store remaining syrup in a mason jar in your refrigerator for 4-6 weeks.

What’s your favorite summertime drink? Cheers!

About FoodBabbles

I'm just a girl with a passion for good food. Especially the sweet side of life. I love to eat it, make it, read about it... if it has to do with food, it's for me. I'd like to share my food, writing and photos with you. Sometimes they come out great. Other times, well... there are some mishaps but I'll share those with you too. I'm only human! Either way, I enjoy it and hope you will too! So here are sugary, sweet culinary delights from my talented yet dangerously klutzy hands so obviously not bred to work with sharp knives and hot ovens.
This entry was posted in Drinks, First on the First, Spring, Summer and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Talk To Me!

