Bite Size Bacon, Mushroom & Gruyere Quiche and A Giveaway!


There’s nothing better than a hearty, belly filling breakfast. More often than not, you’ll find eggs as the star of our breakfasts around here. Maddy loves them and is always requesting “eggys.” I don’t know why she calls them that since she can clearly say “egg,” but it’s cute. So when Land O Lakes Eggs approached me about making a bite-size brunch item for them, I was more than happy to oblige.

Last year, I partnered with Land O Lakes Eggs and made a pear Gruyère strata that was out of this world! This time around I am bringing you bite-size quiche that couldn’t be easier to make. With the help of refrigerated pie dough, this could be a quick weekend breakfast idea or make a wonderful addition to your brunch menu for any special occasion.

There’s nothing like all these savory breakfast favorites in one place. Theses quiche are the perfect little bite of egg, bacon, mushrooms and one of my personal favorite cheeses, Gruyère. I served these at our Easter brunch and they didn’t last very long at all. I’m thinking for our traditional Mother’s Day brunch, these would be a hit too! You can always change up the fillings too. How about ham and peppers for a Western flavor? Or add broccoli and cheddar perhaps? Any of your favorite fillings for omelets can be transformed into one perfect bite-size quiche.

I always buy Land O Lakes Eggs when I’m shopping because they’re inexpensive and they have a few different options for me to choose from. There are four varieties of all-natural eggs offered under the Land O Lakes brand: Farm-Fresh All-Natural Eggs, Cage-Free All-Natural Eggs, All-Natural Eggs with 160 mg ALA Omega 3 and Organic All-Natural Eggs. All their varieties are produced by hens fed a premium vegetarian, whole-grain diet. That makes them a great pick in my book!

If you want to give these Land O Lakes eggs a try for yourself you can use their “egg locator” to see where you can find them in your area OR Land O Lakes has agreed to give one lucky reader a premium gift package valued at over $100! This prize includes including an On-Ice Deviled Eggs ServerMini Muffin Tin, and a Two-Tier Server with Plates! That is quite the package, if I do say so myself.

Here’s the scoop…

To Enter: {Mandatory Entry} Simply leave me a comment telling me what’s your favorite brunch recipe that uses eggs? Simple, right? But if you’d like even more chances to win…

Optional Bonus Entries: Be sure to leave a separate comment for each of these that you complete since each individual item completed will be counted as an entry!

– Follow Land O Lakes on Twitter

– “Like” the Lank O Lakes Facebook page

– Subscribe to FoodBabbles emails

– Follow FoodBabbles on Twitter

– “Like” FoodBabbles on Facebook

Entries will be accepted until 9pm EST on April 20th. Winner will be selected via random.org. The winner will be contacted by the email address provided and will have 24 hours to respond. If the winner does not respond within that time frame, another winner will be selected via random.org. This giveaway is open to US residents only.

Good Luck!!

~K

This giveaway is closed.

Bite Size Bacon, Mushroom & Gruyère Quiche

1 (15 oz) box of refrigerated pie crusts (2 in a box)

6 slices of bacon

1 cup fresh mushrooms, coarsely chopped

1/3 cup shallots, finely chopped

1 1/2 cups Gruyère cheese, shredded

5 eggs

2/3 cup half-and-half

1 cup sour cream

– Preheat your oven to 375 degrees. Spray a mini-muffin pan with non-stick cooking spray.

– Roll out a dough disk to about 1/4-inch thickness and using a 2-inch round cutter, cut out 40 circles from the two disks.

– Put each circle into the prepared mini-muffin pans and press to fit.

– In a pan, cook the bacon until crispy. Drain on paper towels and then crumble into pieces and set aside.

– Pour off the bacon grease, reserving about 2 tablespoons. Saute the mushrooms and shallots in the reserved bacon grease until the mushrooms release their moisture, about 3-5 minutes. Set aside until cool.

– Once cooled, toss together the crumbled bacon, mushrooms, shallots and Gruyère.

– In a medium bowl whisk together the eggs, half-and-half, and sour cream.

– Fill each muffin cup 3/4 full with the bacon mushroom mixture.

– Spoon about a tablespoon of the egg mixture into each muffin cup.

– Bake at 375 degrees for about 20 minutes until eggs are set.

– Enjoy!

PS… These can be made ahead and reheated for 10 minutes in the oven at 375.

Disclosure: LAND O LAKES provided me with a full price coupon for LAND O LAKES Eggs, as well as a premium gift package from MoArk, including an On-Ice Deviled Eggs Server, Mini Muffin Tin, Two-Tier Server with Plates and a full-value coupon redeemable for any variety of LAND O LAKES®Eggs to be mailed to the giveaway winner. As always, all the opinions here are my very own.

About FoodBabbles

I'm just a girl with a passion for good food. Especially the sweet side of life. I love to eat it, make it, read about it... if it has to do with food, it's for me. I'd like to share my food, writing and photos with you. Sometimes they come out great. Other times, well... there are some mishaps but I'll share those with you too. I'm only human! Either way, I enjoy it and hope you will too! So here are sugary, sweet culinary delights from my talented yet dangerously klutzy hands so obviously not bred to work with sharp knives and hot ovens.
This entry was posted in Appetizer, Breakfast, Brunch, Giveaway and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

53 Responses to Bite Size Bacon, Mushroom & Gruyere Quiche and A Giveaway!

  1. Emily says:

    Im a fan of quiche Lorraine. 🙂

  2. Emily says:

    I also subscribe to FoodBabbles emails!

  3. Emily says:

    And I like Land O Lakes on Facebook!

  4. My favorite brunch item is a blueberry and cream cheese French toast that I’m now ravenous for now that you’ve made me think about it! But I would take some of these in a heartbeat!

    • FoodBabbles says:

      You’re making ME ravenous! That sounds utterly amazing! Is that on your site?? I’ll be heading on over to see 😉 Maddy would love that too so I NEED to make that!

  5. Renee Dobbs says:

    My favorite brunch recipe is a frittata loaded with potatoes, veggies, and fresh herbs.

  6. chefconnie says:

    I love to make mini quiche. The problem is they usually stick. How did you get them to come out so easy. Non stick spray does not usually work for me. Maybe its my pans….

    • FoodBabbles says:

      Oh no! I hate when that happens. I just used regular plain ol’ Pam and it worked nicely. I had to gently use a knife around the top edges where the cheese had melted but after that they came right out. Perhaps you could also try making little parchment circles to place in the bottom of your pans? Then spray with nonstick cooking spray as well?

  7. eastofedencook says:

    My favorite brunch item is French Toast with real maple syrup and a sprinkling of powdered sugar.

  8. eastofedencook says:

    I am a happy subscriber of Food Babbles!

  9. Pam Lewis says:

    I love eggs benedict…and french toast (it uses eggs, does that count?)

  10. chewtown says:

    My all time favourite brunch dish are corn fritters – actually, now that I’ve written that I feel like them!

  11. jwfong says:

    I love breakfast casseroles made with eggs, sausage, bacon, and broccoli 🙂

    jfong1130 at yahoo dot com

  12. jwfong says:

    I’m following Land O Lakes on twitter @jfong1130

    jfong1130 at yahoo dot com

  13. jwfong says:

    I like Land O’Lakes on facebook!

    jfong1130 at yahoo dot com

  14. jwfong says:

    following you on twitter @jfong1130

    jfong1130 at yahoo dot com

  15. jwfong says:

    I like FoodBabbles on facebook!

    jfong1130 at yahoo dot com

  16. dharmon79 says:

    I love me some eggs benedict! And…I added you on Twitter and FB! New sites to peruse on my lunch break! Yay! ❤

  17. I love bite sized treats and this bacon mushroom filling is making me so hungry.

  18. I love cheesey scrambled eggs!

  19. I Follow Land O Lakes on Twitter
    ilovemybeagle2
    landfjacobson @ charter.net

  20. I “Like” the Lank O Lakes Facebook page
    Laura Jacobson
    landfjacobson @ charter.net

  21. I Follow FoodBabbles on Twitter
    ilovemybeagle2
    landfjacobson @ charter.net

  22. I “Like” FoodBabbles on Facebook
    Laura Jacobson
    landfjacobson @ charter.net

  23. Aunt Mary says:

    Hey, I know these mini quiches … and, boy, where they TASTY. They did disappear quite quickly! Went back for more and they were gone … YUMMMMMM

  24. Aunt Mary says:

    My very favorite brunch item is Eggs Benedict.

  25. Melissa D says:

    I make an egg sandwich with an Italian twist. I fry an egg in balsamic vinegar, layer with fresh sweet basil and buffalo mozzarella, in between some slightly toasted country bread smeared with some pizza sauce. SOOOO good!!

    • FoodBabbles says:

      Oh. My. Goodness!!! That sounds absolutely INCREDIBLE!! I need to make that. Wow! I’ve never had anything like that but it sounds amazing. You just made my mouth water.

  26. Melissa D says:

    I have just liked FoodBabbles on FB!

    • AaNach says:

      I make an egg sandwich with an Italian twist. I fry an egg in bmalasic vinegar, layer with fresh sweet basil and buffalo mozzarella, in between some slightly toasted country bread smeared with some pizza sauce. SOOOO good!!

      • FoodBabbles says:

        That sounds REALLY good!! I love love love balsamic vinegar and I’ve never thought to use it with eggs. I may have to give your creation a try!

  27. Julie says:

    My husband’s scrambled eggs are delish thanks

  28. Julie says:

    like u on fb Julie A Scott Laws

  29. Julie says:

    like Land of Lakes fb Julie A Scott Laws

  30. Scott says:

    This sounds awesome. In the process of planning a Graduation brunch. Would these work to make ahead then freeze and reheat on that day?

    • FoodBabbles says:

      I’m not sure how they would freeze. I haven’t tried that. I can tell you that I made them the day before and then they reheated perfectly the next morning at our Easter brunch. If you decide to try freezing them, let me know how they hold up. I’d be curious to know. Thanks!

Talk To Me!

