Strawberry Lemon Macarons ~ #MacTweets Mac Attack #29


In life, there are successes. Oh such sweet successes. Then there are the utter and complete disasters. This is one of those times. My macarons this month are not pretty. They are sad, little hollow, feetless failures. On the heels of such incredibles macs last month, I was terribly disappointed to find that not one of my macarons could be called a success. I’ve told you before that macarons are notorious for being finicky little cookies that are difficult to master. Thus, the reason I joined MacTweets and I’m making them every month now. Practice makes perfect!

For Mac Attack #29, the challenge was all about creating a gorgeous rainbow of colors for everyone to feast their eyes on. We were to use a minimum of two different colors in our shells or a different color top and bottom. I put my thinking cap on and went with my latest flavor craze. Strawberries and lemons. I adore this pairing because I love the way the lemon brightens the flavor of the strawberries. So for my color choices I naturally chose red and yellow. These macs were to be bright red with a swirl of vibrant yellow.

Yikes! That swirl resulted in massive amounts of cracking. Clearly, in the future I need to learn just how to accomplish combining two colors in one shell since my first method was clearly disasterous. So after that I contemplated a Plan B. It would be stretching the challenge a bit. I’ve often seen these perfect macarons with just a sweeping of color on top. So that’s the route I went after failing my vibrant swirl.

The only redeeming quality about these macarons is their delicious filling. That, my dear was a phenomenal success! I made a fresh whipped cream and then stirred in a few tablespoons of lemon curd. Yum!! It was like eating a light, fluffy bite of lemon meringue pie. Then I dolloped a little strawberry preserves in the center as well. If I had achieved footed, chewy macarons these would have been the best macs to date for sure. But perhaps you’ll give it a go and have better macaron-making luck. Do let me know!

Afterward, I’ve thought about where I could have possibly went wrong. The only thing I’ve come up with is perhaps color was my undoing. I used a different food coloring then I have in the past. Also, in my attempt to achieve the perfect color, I used significantly more than normal. I came to find out that after baking, my color turned out even darker than the batter looked. This was opposite from my previous two attempts. With both of those batches, the color faded and was light than I wanted. Who knows, there are so many variables. But next month I’ll be back to face another challenge and continue down my path of trying to master the mac!

*Do you have a cooking project that always gives you a challenge?

Enjoy!

~K

Strawberry Lemon Macarons

For the shells, I used this recipe as always.

Filling:

2/3 cup heavy cream

4 Tablespoons lemon curd

1/4 cup strawberry preserves

– In a medium bowl, whip the heavy cream to stiff peaks.

– In a small bowl, stir the lemon curd until smooth then gently fold it into the heavy cream.

– Place a small dollop of the lemon whipped cream on one side of a macaron shell. Place a small bit of strawberry preserves in the center of the dollop and sandwich with a second macaron shell.

– Enjoy!

About FoodBabbles

I'm just a girl with a passion for good food. Especially the sweet side of life. I love to eat it, make it, read about it... if it has to do with food, it's for me. I'd like to share my food, writing and photos with you. Sometimes they come out great. Other times, well... there are some mishaps but I'll share those with you too. I'm only human! Either way, I enjoy it and hope you will too! So here are sugary, sweet culinary delights from my talented yet dangerously klutzy hands so obviously not bred to work with sharp knives and hot ovens.
This entry was posted in Flops & Fails, Macarons and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Strawberry Lemon Macarons ~ #MacTweets Mac Attack #29

  1. chefconnie says:

    Such darling little cookies.

  2. Lisa says:

    I think they look great – and the strawberry and lemon combo sounds fantastic. I once made a plain and chocolate macaron batter, and piped dots and stripes of each opposite batter on the shells. They turned out pretty cool. They’re on my blog somewhere under Daring Bakers. When it comes to food color painting on macs, I usually do it after the shells have cooled, like you did with that gorgeous ‘swipe’ of yellow gold over the cracks. Love them!

  3. Well they sound phenomenal, what kind of coloring did you use?

    • FoodBabbles says:

      Well thank you very much! I use Americolor Gel food coloring. This is the first time I’ve used it and I must admit I used a lot so I thought perhaps that was my undoing

  4. I love the deep red colour of these, and the flavour combo sounds great!! Yum 🙂

  5. This sounds so fun, andf I have wanted to try to make macarons. I may have to join. They may have cracked, but the bright red color is still gorgeous.

  6. themadhausfrau says:

    I LOVE the color. And that filling sounds dreamy indeed.

  7. This is exactly why I’m afraid to ever try macarons again after such success the first time…it had to be a fluke 🙂 I love the colours and flavours though!

    • FoodBabbles says:

      Ha! Clearly I had flukes as well then 😉 Cause these were a mess! I really think I screwed up the delicate balance of the macaron batter with all the food coloring. This was the first time I really tried to create a deeply colored mac. Guess I should stick to pastels!

Talk To Me!

