Pina Colada Angel Food Cake Roll ~ #BakeTogether


Maddy has been talking about swimming and the beach nonstop lately. I guess she’s yearning for summer although spring has barely even kicked off yet. She’s the type of child who just loves the water and when those warm, lazy days of summer do finally come around she’ll be in a pool or some body of water daily for sure. All her talk of warm weather has me wishing for it as well. I would be happy if here in New Jersey, we could just at least consistently get days in the 60+ degree range but we’re still bouncing back and forth a little bit.

It makes me want to run off to a beach somewhere and bask in the warmth of the sun while listening to the waves come crashing in against some pink sandy shore. Surely, I would have a frosty pina colada in my hand to just complete this picture of relaxation. Unfortunately, I am not on a shady shore but sitting in my living room typing this while listening to my little girls fitful slumber since they both are sick yet again most likely from all this wacky “warm one day, cool the next” weather here.

But for Bake Together this month, I have a little tropical treat for you in preparation for the warm days which are just around the corner. Abby made a lovely tangerine angel food cake this month and beckoned all of us to join her in transforming that recipe into one of our own although, once you read hers you will surely want to make that as well. It sounds amazing. I know I’ll be making it sometime in the future!

For my spin on angel food cake, I decided to take it out of the tube pan and put it into a jelly roll pan. I then filled my angel food cake roll with a rum flavored, coconut laced whipped cream and topped it off with crushed pineapple. The first bite of airy angel food cake, pineapple and billows of fresh whipped cream with rum and coconut that dance on your tongue will transport you to that pink sandy beach. Summer is right around the corner but for now, this will do.

*What’s your favorite summer drink?

Enjoy!

~K

Pina Colada Angel Food Cake Roll Adapted from Abby Dodge


For Cake:

1 cup (4 ounces) cake flour

1 1/4 cup (5 ounces) confectioners’ sugar

1/4  teaspoon table salt

11 large (1 1/3 cups) egg whites, at room temperature

1 1/2 teaspoons cream of tartar

1 cup (7 ounces) superfine sugar

For filling:

1 1/2 teaspoons pure vanilla extract

2 cups heavy cream

8 tablespoons confectioners’ sugar

1/2 teaspoon vanilla extract

1 teaspoon rum extract (or more to taste)

1 cup sweetened flaked coconut

1 (20 oz) can crushed pineapple

To make the cake:


– Heat oven to 350. Line a 12×17 inch jelly roll pan with parchment paper.

– Sift together the flour, confectioners’ sugar and salt three times (As per Abby “no joke – THREE times”) onto a sheet of parchment, waxed paper or foil and set aside.

– In a large bowl, beat the egg whites with an electric mixer fitted with the whisk attachment on medium-low speed until foamy. Add the cream of tartar, increasing speed to medium, and beat until the whites are opaque and are forming soft peaks. Continue beating while slowly and continuously adding the superfine sugar. Beat on medium high until the whites are thick, shiny and form medium-firm, fluffy peaks. (The peaks should droop over gently.) Do not over beat. Add the vanilla extract. Beat just until blended, about 10 seconds.

– Sift 1/4 of the flour mixture over the beaten whites. Using a large rubber spatula, gently fold the dry ingredients into the whites. Repeat with remaining flour mixture, one quarter at a time.

– Using the spatula to gently coax the batter, pour evenly into the prepared pan. Do not overfill. (I had some batter left over. Make a few angel food cake muffins perhaps!)  Smooth the top.

– Bake until the cake is light golden brown and the cake is springy when touched, about 20 minutes.

– Dust a clean dishtowel with a light coat of confectioners’ sugar. Set aside.

– To remove the cake, gently use a butter knife to loosen the cake from the edges of the pan. Invert the pan over the dishtowel and remove the pan from the cake then peel off the parchment paper. Roll the cake up on the towel, jelly roll style and allow it to cool completely on a rack.

Make the Filling: 

– In a medium bowl, beat the cream on medium speed until it begins to get a little thick. Add the powdered sugar and extracts. Continue to beat until incorporated then increase the speed to medium-high and beat until soft peaks form. Fold in the coconut.

Assemble the Cake: 

– Unroll the cooled angel food cake. Spread the whipped cream mixture over the cake leaving about 1/2-inch border. (You will have whipped cream left over which I found to be great for dipping strawberries!)

– Gently roll the cake back up and place it seam side down on a serving plate. Dust with powdered sugar and top with some of the crushed pineapple. Serve more pineapple on the side, if desired.

– Enjoy!

I submitted this recipe to What’s Cookin’ Thursdays!

About FoodBabbles

I'm just a girl with a passion for good food. Especially the sweet side of life. I love to eat it, make it, read about it... if it has to do with food, it's for me. I'd like to share my food, writing and photos with you. Sometimes they come out great. Other times, well... there are some mishaps but I'll share those with you too. I'm only human! Either way, I enjoy it and hope you will too! So here are sugary, sweet culinary delights from my talented yet dangerously klutzy hands so obviously not bred to work with sharp knives and hot ovens.
This entry was posted in #BakeTogether, Cake and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to Pina Colada Angel Food Cake Roll ~ #BakeTogether

  1. Jayne says:

    Oh I love this adaptation! Sounds and looks delicious!

  2. OK, I was sobbing a bit before but now I see you made yours in a jelly roll pan and it came out great…no fair. But fabulous for sure. Just LOVE the combination of flavors. Better than Calgon in a heartbeat.

    • FoodBabbles says:

      Aww, poor Barb!! I hate that your altitude is screwing up your project 😦 Maybe a jelly roll is the way to go with your project? Then it wouldn’t matter as much if it rose or not since you will be rolling and squishing it anyway. Hope it works out for you! If not, there’s always next month. And thanks! I’m glad you liked my adaptation.

  3. Your adaptation is brill! Looks so gorgeous, wouldn’t have thought to try it in a jelly roll pan. I am going to try this with some of my preseves to sample at the Farmer’s Market!

  4. Lisa says:

    Is it possible to fall madly in love with an Angel Cake roll? Well..I think I just did. What a brilliant take on angel food cake!

  5. I didn’t know you could do angel food in jelly roll pan, so beautiful and I love the pina colada flavors. Just beautiful

  6. I love how rolled cakes look. I am sure this tastes even better.

  7. This is gorgeous and hits my sweet spot of all things that taste like the beach 🙂 I’m pinning this one!

  8. Using a jelly roll pan is a brilliant idea. Will have to try that next time. You now have me longing for summer too. Maddy sounds like a girl after my own heart.

  9. That’s so pretty! I really need to try a cake roll. 🙂

Talk To Me!

